LTA calls tender to develop next generation Satellite ERP

Dafansu

News Releases
1 Oct 2014

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) has called a tender today to develop Singapore’s next generation electronic road pricing system. The new system will be based on Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) technology.

New Road Pricing System will be Satellite-based

2. Following an 18-month System Evaluation Test (SET) that concluded in December 2012, LTA has assessed that it is technologically feasible to develop a GNSS-based road pricing system in Singapore. This new system will overcome the constraints of physical gantries, which are costly and take up land space. In addition, it is not practical to continue with the current gantry system, which is almost two decades old and will become increasingly expensive and difficult to maintain.

3. Another key advantage of a GNSS-based system is the ability to implement distance-based pricing along the congested roads where road pricing is to be implemented. Distance-based pricing as opposed to the current gantry-based system, is more equitable as motorists will be charged proportionate to the distance travelled on these congested roads.

Value-added services for motorists’ convenience

4. With the GNSS-based system, motorists can also look forward to an interactive and intelligent on-board unit (OBU) in their vehicle that can support a range of value-added services. These include real-time traffic information tailored to their location, as well as electronic payment for parking fees without today’s paper coupons. Off-peak car users can look forward to new policies which we are considering, which may allow them to pay only for using their vehicles for short periods rather than the whole day, or for using them only on uncongested roads.

Three consortia shortlisted for upcoming tender

5. LTA has shortlisted three consortia to participate in the upcoming tender to develop the next generation road pricing system. They are NCS Pte Ltd & MHI Engine System Asia Pte Ltd, ST Electronics (Info-Comm Systems) Pte Ltd, and Watchdata Technologies Pte Ltd & Beijing Watchdata System Co Ltd.

6. The contract to design and develop the system is expected to be awarded in the second half of 2015. LTA aims to implement the system from around 202

LTA Press Release

http://app.lta.gov.sg/apps/news/page.aspx?c=2&id=40e3e181-37ff-4d65-a8c8-3ed2f6ac99b0

With the GNSS-based system, motorists can also look forward to an interactive and intelligent on-board unit (OBU) in their vehicle that can support a range of value-added services, said the LTA. For instance, real-time traffic information tailored to their location, as well as electronic payment for parking fees without today’s paper coupons.

Off-peak car users can look forward to new policies which we are considering, which may allow them to pay only for using their vehicles for short periods rather than the whole day, or for using them only on uncongested roads

these 2 points are very promising..hopefully the satellite-ERP can help more motorists planned their journey better [thumbsup]

pros n cons...

not too comfortable knowing my car has an electronic dog tag that transmits info continuously to the authority.

sounds so good. how much do we have to pay for the OBU? the dumb IU already inflated @ $150...

so OBU must pay $500? $1K?

goodness....

should be 500-1k considering the amount of things they are stuffing in there.

I will sappork if this means no more road tax... but of course, that will never happen.

But isn't that the plan to "Pay As You Use" and road tax is replaced with this scheme? Or am I dreaming?

sounds so good. how much do we have to pay for the OBU? the dumb IU already inflated @ $150...

goodness....

initial launch always free one... next time really is goodness... maybe they should allow the transfer of the OBU from old car to new so old timer dont have to keep paying for that piece of thing.

But isn't that the plan to "Pay As You Use" and road tax is replaced with this scheme? Or am I dreaming?

you are dreaming. knowing gahmen, they will probably implement "pay as you use" + "pay road tax" together.

Edited by Mockngbrd

News Releases
1 Oct 2014

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) has called a tender today to develop Singapore’s next generation electronic road pricing system. The new system will be based on Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) technology.

New Road Pricing System will be Satellite-based

2. Following an 18-month System Evaluation Test (SET) that concluded in December 2012, LTA has assessed that it is technologically feasible to develop a GNSS-based road pricing system in Singapore. This new system will overcome the constraints of physical gantries, which are costly and take up land space. In addition, it is not practical to continue with the current gantry system, which is almost two decades old and will become increasingly expensive and difficult to maintain.

3. Another key advantage of a GNSS-based system is the ability to implement distance-based pricing along the congested roads where road pricing is to be implemented. Distance-based pricing as opposed to the current gantry-based system, is more equitable as motorists will be charged proportionate to the distance travelled on these congested roads.

Value-added services for motorists’ convenience

4. With the GNSS-based system, motorists can also look forward to an interactive and intelligent on-board unit (OBU) in their vehicle that can support a range of value-added services. These include real-time traffic information tailored to their location, as well as electronic payment for parking fees without today’s paper coupons. Off-peak car users can look forward to new policies which we are considering, which may allow them to pay only for using their vehicles for short periods rather than the whole day, or for using them only on uncongested roads.

Three consortia shortlisted for upcoming tender

5. LTA has shortlisted three consortia to participate in the upcoming tender to develop the next generation road pricing system. They are NCS Pte Ltd & MHI Engine System Asia Pte Ltd, ST Electronics (Info-Comm Systems) Pte Ltd, and Watchdata Technologies Pte Ltd & Beijing Watchdata System Co Ltd.

6. The contract to design and develop the system is expected to be awarded in the second half of 2015. LTA aims to implement the system from around 202??

LTA Press Release

http://app.lta.gov.sg/apps/news/page.aspx?c=2&id=40e3e181-37ff-4d65-a8c8-3ed2f6ac99b0

the system is good?? think again!!!!

the new system will be good if they do away with the road tax system, you think that will happen?

so the new system will likely be pay your current road tax and add on for charges on distance travelled.

so instead of charging you where there is a gantry, they will be charging you on all roads!!!!

and if they know your distance travelled they will know how fast you are going. so TP can sit in their office and still issue summons.

this GPS road pricing was coined in UK, but the public oppose by petition and UK did not go ahead with it, the only benefit for the govt to add to their coffers, what benefits does the driving public get out of it? but to pay more and more.

goodness....

Does it really matter?

When a B n B car is already $100k, if congestion control device is $500-$1k is small price to pay

I say before that I would rather some of the taxes goes into better traffic control, this is just one way of doing it

the system is good?? think again!!!!

the new system will be good if they do away with the road tax system, you think that will happen?

so the new system will likely be pay your current road tax and add on for charges on distance travelled.

so instead of charging you where there is a gantry, they will be charging you on all roads!!!!

and if they know your distance travelled they will know how fast you are going. so TP can sit in their office and still issue summons.

this GPS road pricing was coined in UK, but the public oppose by petition and UK did not go ahead with it, the only benefit for the govt to add to their coffers, what benefits does the driving public get out of it? but to pay more and more.

People that drive for fun - jialat faint and die

People that drive to get from A to B and that's all will do the happy dance.

It's a more efficient way of doing things, but is another way of sucking the fun out of life

This means they have to install land-based satellites to cover blind spots like tunnels or whatever that can potentially block the satellite signal. They still have to build some kind of infrastructure to support the system.

Tunnels easy...

Go in spot known, come out spot known - is a set distance between the two....

Is not like train where can go from Clementi to Boon lay via City Hall and Kranji without the system knowing

you are dreaming. knowing gahmen, they will probably implement "pay as you use" + "pay road tax" together.

Yup most likely both.I already can see their reasoning liao.

"Pay as you use" - is for the usage of your car. Reduce congestion.

"Road Tax" - is for the maintenance of the road.

2 separate things/issue so have to pay both.

Edited by Waterh2o