Fire safety manager (FSM)

Kurty

hi,

i'm thinking of register myself for the upcoming fire safety manager (FSM),

my objective is to have a skill and earn part time income if possible.

may i ask if anyone can share with me on the prospective of a FSM.

or i should just go for other better courses such as safety officer?

i roughly google and seems not much good on being a FSM.

thank you

hi,
thank you

i thought the role is usually volunteer and not paid?

@adrianli

right your alley

thank you, Mr Radx

i thought the role is usually volunteer and not paid?

nope, its like a part time job...

formally 1 FSM can monitor many buildings but now, 1 building per FSM.

my objective is to equip myself with a skill.. least when i grow old.. i still can make a living..

sorry if it offends anyone. Is it a glamourized security guard albielt at supervisory level? I have a lot of reservations on jobs in Singapore. Simi bus captain, taxi sifu, service champion, condo manager ...... Why can't they call a spade a spade?

hey..i make no qualms n gloat my title, i am a funeral DIRECTOR!!! :D:D:D:D

I reckon this is not a full time position. Normally, held by HSE manager, facilities manager, admin manager, training manager or other supporting role manager....

Edited by Kangadrool

This is still quite honest job title; at least the word 'funeral' is still intact and not replaced by some fanciful names.

Just a few examples...

Most executives working in offices are not really executives; they have no "hire and fire" power, no decision making power - not even a small matter, everything must refer to manager kind...... To me, they should be more appropriately called "co-ordinators".

Then, we have so many account managers doing sales....... with obviously no executive and managerial powers and on their name cards or sign off signatories, they have to put "account manager (sales)" as this obviously create confusion.

hey..i make no qualms n gloat my title, i am a funeral DIRECTOR!!! :D:D:D:D

I reckon this is not a full time position. Normally, held by HSE manager, facilities manager, admin manager, training manager or other supporting role manager....

consultancy firm got outsource FSM

this is where they get the more money from lor

those add on in this role one, just add pay to them usually

just check with friends.

apparently application super hot.

have to queue up at midnight, fastest fingers first. within few mins all the slots all taken up.

have to try yr luck.

Maybe get a WSHO (workplace safety health officer) cert follow by FSM cert.

More worth it :)

Some company prefer to engage one person that is able to multitask, i.e. WSHO cum FSM, though FSM can only be registered one per company/factory.

hi,
thank you

Try Advance Certificate in Workplace Safety & Health (WSH). Advance Cert can only be Safety Supervisor.

After conmpleting Advance Certificate, go for Diploma in WSH and become a Safety Oficer. HIgh demand in construction industries.

Both the courses offer by NTUC LearningHub and BCA Academy.

[flowerface][flowerface]

Edited by Picnic06

Try Advance Certificate in Workplace Safety & Health (WSH). Advance Cert can only be Safety Supervisor.

After conmpleting Advance Certificate, go for Diploma in WSH and become a Safety Oficer. HIgh demand in construction industries.

[flowerface][flowerface]

Commercialize Tua Pek Kong. [speechless]

[flowerface][flowerface]

... a lot of FT is also having this cert....esp the a neh..

my objective is to equip myself with a skill.. least when i grow old.. i still can make a living..

Thats a good idea.

I am training up to be a Transport Manager

and when I can no longer drive taxis

to be a Security Officer and sleep all

night in some factory or condo.

... a lot of FT is also having this cert....esp the a neh..

Ah neh cert really jialat one..... [grin] . My wife company has one and when I questioned him on some safety issue, he look blurr at me... :huh: . He attended Basic Certificate of WSH and act machiam like Safety officer.

The Advance Cert very tough and the part time courses took 8 months to complete and with no multiple choices questions. All had to be hand written and every module, had to submit project papers.... [sweatdrop]

I had completed my Advance Cert last year from NTUC LearningHub and regret going cos, now every dammed safety things, I have to look into especially preparing the RA.... [crazy] . Salary no increase but more safety responsibilities .. [knife]

just check with friends.

apparently application super hot.

have to queue up at midnight, fastest fingers first. within few mins all the slots all taken up.

have to try yr luck.

yup, noted with much thanks.

i will stay awake for the registration then