Gifted Education Programme

Solar

Speaking from experience my son when thru. Is an opportunity not to miss. My son missed his classmate in Ai Tong ( no GEP program in Ai Tong), but we have to decide for him. At that age he would'nt be able to make the right decision. GEP is very good program but demanding, lot's of project work, community servuce, oversea trip, advance school work, etc. don't worry about cost, school or MOE will fund it . Most of them will end up in RI or HCI. Do have GEP kids fail O or A level as well. As parent, is best you join the parent support group and you will appreciate more about the program.

Most GEP kids ended up disconnected socially.

In today's society, that might not be a bad thing. :D

And when they succeed, social connections will automatically occur.

Speaking from experience my son when thru. Is an opportunity not to miss. My son missed his classmate in Ai Tong ( no GEP program in Ai Tong), but we have to decide for him. At that age he would'nt be able to make the right decision. GEP is very good program but demanding, lot's of project work, community servuce, oversea trip, advance school work, etc. don't worry about cost, school or MOE will fund it . Most of them will end up in RI or HCI. Do have GEP kids fail O or A level as well. As parent, is best you join the parent support group and you will appreciate more about the program.

Thanks for sharing. One of the other concern is spending too much on the holistic education to a point the focus is diverted from the all-important psle.

If a GEP and MS kid both compete to enter the same secondary school, the MS kid with the better grade will get it right?

No advantage with GEP right?

Yo bro.. is this a statistical fact or from some personal, or even biased observation?

I'm open to disadvantages of this programme but do share the facts pls.

Thanks for sharing. One of the other concern is spending too much on the holistic education to a point the focus is diverted from the all-important psle.

If a GEP and MS kid both compete to enter the same secondary school, the MS kid with the better grade will get it right?

Yo bro.. is this a statistical fact or from some personal, or even biased observation?

I believe GEP students get to be interviewed by various sec sch and accepted by them before the PSLE, like one bro mentioned even if they scold 230s, they will still get in.

One observation I had with dealing and talking to GEP kids, I must always on 100% intellectual mode, cannot crack stupid joke, very tiring [laugh] [laugh]

Like I said in a post, there will be GEPer like porn star Annabelle Chong who did things that are unthinkable. You will not know what a genius is thinking.

All kids are different...

For Annabelle, I remember I read before she mentioned her family was very, if not too strict. It's probably a psychological issue leow.

In general, imo we need to teach and guide our kids with the right moral and values.

Going strict regimental with harsh punishments won't work, even for 'normal' kids, and may push them towards the undesirable. That one may need a child psychologist to determine why she gone porn... probably unrelated to her being a GEPer

Hello folks..

Don't know if its good news or something more siong ahead... my kid actually got selected into GEP..

We never prepared him for this at all... we didn't even know he gone for Round 1 until he told us he needed to take Round 2 in another school.

Any feedback/recommendations if this is actually beneficial for a kid?

If it does, which are the recommended schools in NE area?

Now round 2 over liao n result should b out last Friday to this Monday.

GEP kids can apply for direct admission. irregardless of grades.

they are not even on the same playing field.

All kids are different...

For Annabelle, I remember I read before she mentioned her family was very, if not too strict. It's probably a psychological issue leow.

In general, imo we need to teach and guide our kids with the right moral and values.

Going strict regimental with harsh punishments won't work, even for 'normal' kids, and may push them towards the undesirable. That one may need a child psychologist to determine why she gone porn... probably unrelated to her being a GEPer

she was raped while on scholarship, then after that went crazy and go into porn.

more psychological trauma from the rape than parental issue lah.

Now round 2 over liao n result should b out last Friday to this Monday.

Yes bro.. ah boy brought the big yellow envelope home on Friday. .

GEP kid no need to compete with MS kids for secondary school. They get in via DSA to HC, RI,ACS, NUS high, etc. MS kid can applt DSA too but different ( can't tell too much). GEP involved with community program alot more than MS, they are more connected socially than MS kid.

One important thing about GEP is allow your child to mix with the best and make friend for life that can help him to be successful.

It's not true that GEP get 'free pass' thru DSA to good sec schools.

It may exempt them from the school's entry exam, but that depends on school's judgement of the psle results.

DSA entry still depends quite a lot on whether the kid brings any high level competition-relevant skills to the school, e.g. music, sports.

Mugging skills, good sec schools probably already have plenty with that.

Rosyth.....welcome to Alujunied GRC / Serangoon Ward. :)

Anyway, I just enrolled my elder kid for the nov/dec 2014 holdiday sttudent care + mon-fri student care from nexy year primary 2 onwards. The centre is Pro Teach. Heard they have a branch within the school itself.

go lah..

my gep maths teacher look like alyssa milano.

my gep chinese teacher has c cup :)

how can u deprive your child??

Sometimes hothousing them may not be too bad.

Frankly a lot of them are serious geeks and eccentric. Not even the normal type of mugger geeks.

May save them getting bullied.

At least in GEP class, they only get bullied intellectually lol.

Yes bro.. ah boy brought the big yellow envelope home on Friday. .

alamak, my bad, i thot u meant clear round 1, so now round 2 also settled liao.

gd for him n u. now can tell him what to expect n see if he willing to take the challenge.