PSLE Results coming out soon!

Sazali

No lar ... I just hear about it but I'm not sure how it works ...

Does it mean that if a child is good at a certain sport .... Then even if the grades are not enough to qualify for a perticular school ... The CCA will help? ...

Is it like that?

That's what I heard.

just below band 1 means band 2?...............if your child CL2 is high band 2..........I suggest you spend that extra time work on all four subjects.........and getting his CL2 to band 1 first....................my children have band 1s for CL2.........school gave us option but we choose to stay at 4S............HCL is just extra work and takes away more time .......

Thanks.

Yes, band 2.

Paper 2 is 90+ but compo just passed. CA2 also 90+

So, we think his Chinese is fine, just need to fix his compo skill.

Yesterday's meeting with a tutor was very fruitful. He pointed the root caused is lack of vocab.

The tutor also shared the difference between HC and NC with us and we think if he could handle HC, NC should be easy.

Of course... he also want my business lar...

Anyway, the school has the final say at P6. If the HC result is not up to par, the school will advice to drop it.

I respect your choice and decision. But, I'm afraid I have to disagree with the approach. We should encourage the child (if capable) to take the Higher Mother Tongue as it will improve his/her knowledge. Studying the subject is not purely for the exam.

Yes, this is what I told the principal when appealing.

The tutor also shared the difference between HC and NC with us and we think if he could handle HC, NC should be easy.

Do not be misled to thinking that for kids doing HC, the NC will natuarally benefit. I had the same thinking before. There seems to be cases that when too much focus was put into HC, the result of HC ends up better than NC, thus affecting overall PSLE score. This is because what is expected of HC is quite different from NC. End of day, if the kid is already struggling in NC, HC may wear them down further. I understand there'll be at least 6 tests/exams per term. All the results will contribute to the final year result.

I have one niece and one nephew waiting for result... Hope they get their sec choice.. and also know someone's son from gep aim for only RI, no other choice even he could get into hwa chong directly if he put it as 1st choice... But he decided on only RI, if fail, just use the psle result to join the rest in sec selection ....

I respect your choice and decision. But, I'm afraid I have to disagree with the approach. We should encourage the child (if capable) to take the Higher Mother Tongue as it will improve his/her knowledge. Studying the subject is not purely for the exam.

Seriously ... take HMT .... how to improve knowledge ?

Thanks.

Yes, band 2.

Paper 2 is 90+ but compo just passed. CA2 also 90+

So, we think his Chinese is fine, just need to fix his compo skill.

Yesterday's meeting with a tutor was very fruitful. He pointed the root caused is lack of vocab.

Of course... he also want my business lar...

Anyway, the school has the final say at P6. If the HC result is not up to par, the school will advice to drop it.

We were recommended by a relative(a Chinese teacher in a primary school) to let my daughter to go for extra lesson in Chinese composition in a certain tuition centre. Took up the recommendation and enrolled her for Higher Chinese compo only since P4 although in school she only take Normal Chinese, which was a mistake, shd let her opt for HC in school as well.

The rationale for extra Chinese compo is the paper itself take up a big chunk of the total score. Out of 40 marks, if the child can get 30 marks, her result will be in good shape.

Of course my daughter didn't do well in this tuition centre initially but be persistent and you will see result.

Why did I regret not letting her opt for HC? During one of the secondary school open house in which she helped out with, she came back telling me she wanted to go to that school..which after checking is a SAP school and the 2 bonus points might help. Although I am not confident that her result can make it to any SAP school I told her I will be happy if she can really make it to that school.

We were recommended by a relative(a Chinese teacher in a primary school) to let my daughter to go for extra lesson in Chinese composition in a certain tuition centre. Took up the recommendation and enrolled her for Higher Chinese compo only since P4 although in school she only take Normal Chinese, which was a mistake, shd let her opt for HC in school as well.

The rationale for extra Chinese compo is the paper itself take up a big chunk of the total score. Out of 40 marks, if the child can get 30 marks, her result will be in good shape.

Of course my daughter didn't do well in this tuition centre initially but be persistent and you will see result.

Why did I regret not letting her opt for HC? During one of the secondary school open house in which she helped out with, she came back telling me she wanted to go to that school..which after checking is a SAP school and the 2 bonus points might help. Although I am not confident that her result can make it to any SAP school I told her I will be happy if she can really make it to that school.

2 bonus points for PSLE is really nothing ....

But 2 bonus points for O level for HMT is very different. Can minus 2 points for aggreagate score as well as not having to take Chinese at "A level."

If going poly, then no difference.

Travel distance is something really have to consider...........these days there are so many activities in schools..........and staying too far away means the child has to wake up very early for school.........and getting home very late.........

Seriously sec school what's this about travelling distance? Unless u are living in Tuas and going to a school in Changi.

I lived in Clementi and went to Bishan everyday for school.

Meet the gang from Jurong east, Bt Batok, Bt Panjang, Upper Bt Timah Hill everyday along Dunearn road or at MacRitchie.

In fact most of my other friends came in from Tampines region. That's at least 1 hr + by MRT everyday.

If the activities are fulfilling for your kid, it doesn't really make a difference.

Primary school i agree about choosing based on distance.

Sec school should never be about distance.

Seriously sec school what's this about travelling distance? Unless u are living in Tuas and going to a school in Changi.

I lived in Clementi and went to Bishan everyday for school.

Meet the gang from Jurong east, Bt Batok, Bt Panjang, Upper Bt Timah Hill everyday along Dunearn road or at MacRitchie.

In fact most of my other friends came in from Tampines region. That's at least 1 hr + by MRT everyday.

If the activities are fulfilling for your kid, it doesn't really make a difference.

Primary school i agree about choosing based on distance.

Sec school should never be about distance.

2 + hours travelling every day?

Then to start school at 7:30 be out of the house by 6+ (allowing for missed transfer or whatever)....

Would rather look first towards the closest to home that can cycle or walk to...

then move out from there if the further school offers something special or whatever...

My view is that most schools are similar UNLESS they offer a specific programme or CCA that can't get any closer...

Mind you - for me, have some pretty decent schools within what I consider my "radius of convenience" (which is a 30 minute cycle or a direct 30 min bus)

Then to start school at 7:30 be out of the house by 6+ (allowing for missed transfer or whatever)....

Would rather look first towards the closest to home that can cycle or walk to...

then move out from there if the further school offers something special or whatever...

My view is that most schools are similar UNLESS they offer a specific programme or CCA that can't get any closer...

Mind you - for me, have some pretty decent schools within what I consider my "radius of convenience" (which is a 30 minute cycle or a direct 30 min bus)

there are student from JB leave home at 5am and reach home about 9pm.

Wow. waking up early is dam tough nowadays?

I mean come on. We used to wake up max max at 6am. If u wake up at 6+, that's it. It's a rush to school...

I've never heard any of my friends complaining about traveling time to school. It's just part of your day.

My best friends in life are the people i travelled with home during that time.

The best secondary schools in Singapore are that few lah. Call it elitism or what, there are only that few so called good schools. If your child can qualify for them, by all means send them there. Unless the transit time exceeds 2.5-3hrs a day, i really don't feel it's a hinderance at all.

Unless it's some school like SCGS or ACS (I) where the HDB heartlanders might feel bit ostracised.

IMO, in sec school, it's the chinese saying that matters the most. Peer influence is paramount in sec school, it's nothing about parental guidance.

i know which tuition centre that specialised in chinese compo that you are referring to (if it is what i think), but i dun agree with the way they teach compo writing, only do it for exam sake which all the student may end up writing the same compo in the exam.

If my kid needed to go to a good secondary school and the travel time is too long, i would just move house to a nearer location if budget permits.

Travel time is never a consideration for secondary school. To me personally, it's the best and most formative years of your academic life.