New bus stop along TPE benefits commuters but bottlenecks

Vega

What is your user experience of this new "upgrade" on TPE at Punggol exit?

For me, at first I thot the expansion is for all vehicles but to my surprise, only open to public buses.

after spending so much money and time which causes so much inconvenience during the construction, the traffic situation still didn't improve.

To me, its a complete waste of money. hopefully LTA can look into this!

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/new-bus-stop-along-tpe/1482104.html

The bus stop has a new design feature, where there are two full-day bus lanes instead of one. Commuters said bottlenecks still occur, while some cars have also gone into the bus lanes when they are not supposed to.

The bus stop has a new design feature, where there are two full-day bus lanes instead of one. The Land Transport Authority (LTA) said two dedicated lanes "provide sufficient distance for buses to turn left, continue straight or turn right" after leaving the bus stop.

However, commuters Channel NewsAsia spoke to said bottlenecks still occur. Some cars have also gone into the bus lanes when they are not supposed to.

While the new bus stop has brought some woes to motorists, it has enhanced bus connectivity for commuters. They can now make same-stop transfers to and from buses that travel along the TPE.

standard mah, just like that time people complain MRT jam-packed, instead of increasing frequency, they take the seats out so more people can squeeze in.

scholarly logic lah, we peasants cannot understand one.

Give people a while to get used to it,

I don't think the bus stop is causing the congestion - there are still two lanes to exit the TPE towards Punggol, I think it is more to do with the lights and with people being unwilling to use both lanes to exit TPE (perhaps better signage is needed?)

Note: I use that exit daily - best and fastest is 2nd lane from left....

Be careful when u comprain abt jam hor. They further reduce COE quota to "solve the problem" den u noe. Always they win one. <_<

I see wardens with snaps snaps at the end of the bus stop during peak hours yesterday. To me this idea is totally crap. In what way can this ease traffic especially the one going into Punggol Road. It will make sense if those lanes are separating those headed for Sengkang instead of Punggol.

Infront of the bus-stop (heading towards Airport), it's two lanes to merge into TPE.

This "Two Lanes" looks kinda small when placed those Black/Yellow posts on the left side.

Many vehicles tends to drift into the centre divider.

Thus, slow down the traffic.

I always have to standby and horn idiot drifting into my lane.

If you want to drive, better get used to public transport getting priority. If public transport is too inconvenient, there will be more demand for cars, more congestion.

100 people are taking the bus, 2 people are in the car. I support bus taking priority.

Infront of the bus-stop (heading towards Airport), it's two lanes to merge into TPE.

This "Two Lanes" looks kinda small when placed those Black/Yellow posts on the left side.

Many vehicles tends to drift into the centre divider.

Thus, slow down the traffic.

I always have to standby and horn idiot drifting into my lane.

In other words - people can't drive.

But yes agree - the two lanes merging from the on-ramp seems to have improved traffic flow

If you want to drive, better get used to public transport getting priority. If public transport is too inconvenient, there will be more demand for cars, more congestion.

100 people are taking the bus, 2 people are in the car. I support bus taking priority.

Yeah I second this thought

honestly even amk has amk ave1 ave 3 ave 5 exits...punggol alone in future alone will be more dense than amk...they only have two exits serving both seng kang and punggol

Can't compare like that lah.... those exits to CTE also serve drivers who stays in areas of Yio Chu Kang, Bishan, Upper Thomson... not just AMK. So more exits are needed.

Whereas the exit at Punggol to TPE serves only Punggol drivers.

the construction I thought was to widen the exit.. secali come out like that..

beneficial to those take bus to punggol from tampines so they don't have to spend 5 mins to cross the road to switch bus..

they should open another EXIT lah... EXIT only hor.. I always advocate an expressway should have more exit than entrances...

They did announce they will built another exit from Punggol Central to TPE, thru Lor Halus. But I can't recall when will it be ready....

Your type of logic can be always argue with, pedestrain shouldn't cross the road during peak hours.

Because of a single pedestrain, cars/buses/vehicles will have to stop for him/her.

Hundreds affected by a single pedestrain.

Bus having some priorities is correct but somehow many abuse the priorities.

Example, Orchard Road - 5 lane road with full day buslane.

With full day bus lane, bus still go to lane 2?

A single bus filtering from bus stop at lane 5 to lane 2 and back to lane 5 300meters away causes more congestion compared with him/her staying in lane 4.

What is your user experience of this new "upgrade" on TPE at Punggol exit?

For me, at first I thot the expansion is for all vehicles but to my surprise, only open to public buses.

after spending so much money and time which causes so much inconvenience during the construction, the traffic situation still didn't improve.

To me, its a complete waste of money. hopefully LTA can look into this!

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/new-bus-stop-along-tpe/1482104.html

Same thought as you, initially I thought was for cars, eventually the jam has become worst because of the giveway bus filter right at the end of the bus stop. Sometimes there would be as many as 4 to 5 buses coming out and the vehicles can't move at all.

They did announce they will built another exit from Punggol Central to TPE, thru Lor Halus. But I can't recall when will it be ready....

our neck not long enough. must wait some more.