What ingredients am I missing for Lala Beehoon?

Y0shimi

Had been bored over the weekend, so tried to cook lala bee hoon. Did not really count the exact amount of ingredients so based on agar-ation. But I am missing a taste which i cannot put a finger at..

Things I dumped in,

chopped garlic

shredded ginger

spring onion

chicken stock

throw in lala to brew

add pepper, hua tiao jiu, sesame oil

after it boiled I throw in bee hoon. but there is something missing in there.

The beehoon doesnt seems to be silky or rather oily and there is a missing taste.. I cant sleep sia !!!

PS any one got recipe for white beehoon?

Had been bored over the weekend, so tried to cook lala bee hoon. Did not really count the exact amount of ingredients so based on agar-ation. But I am missing a taste which i cannot put a finger at..

Things I dumped in,

chopped garlic

shredded ginger

spring onion

chicken stock

throw in lala to brew

add pepper, hua tiao jiu, sesame oil

after it boiled I throw in bee hoon. but there is something missing in there.

The beehoon doesnt seems to be silky or rather oily and there is a missing taste.. I cant sleep sia !!!

PS any one got recipe for white beehoon?

i thought must put bee hoon in water and let it soak for a while to get that smooth and soft feeling.

We alway cook our own la la.

So cheap just S$3/kg in wet market.

Some type of La la S$6 /kg but this type much sweeter.

We cook same way as TO and they are exceptional, don't know if we add anything else. Chopped flat leaf parsley and white wine instead of chicken stock gives it a similar taste to moules marinier we like so much when we go to France.

But I also want to cook la la as buy in food center, i.e. with sambal.

I've looked around NTUC and Sheng Shiong for a suitable ready made sambal to add when cooking but can't find anything.

Anyone can suggest what to use???

I suppose it might be similar to that used when cooking Ikan Bakar?????

Edited by Neutrino

i thought must put bee hoon in water and let it soak for a while to get that smooth and soft feeling.

I soaked it in hot water to soften it.

Should I let the stock stew overnight? I was thinking along the line of trying to cook it with prawn shell & fishbone... HAHAHA

We alway cook our own la la.

So cheap just S$3/kg in wet market.

Some type of La la S$6 /kg but this type much sweeter.

We cook same way as TO and they are exceptional, don't know if we add anything else. Chopped flat leaf parsley and white wine instead of chicken stock gives it a similar taste to moules marinier we like so much when we go to France.

But I also want to cook la la as buy in food center, i.e. with sambal.

I've looked around NTUC and Sheng Shiong for a suitable ready made sambal to add when cooking but can't find anything.

Anyone can suggest what to use???

I suppose it might be similar to that used when cooking Ikan Bakar?????

I believe they mix the sambal with water and cornflour to give it the sticky texture. but portion wise I cant advice.

This malay style looks nice

http://youtu.be/ZgSVfpGLrEU

Should I let the stock stew overnight? I was thinking along the line of trying to cook it with prawn shell & fishbone... HAHAHA

msg is always a great taste maker.....hahaha! Dont use too much of it hor......thats why outside food taste good!

The Stock & Mee Hoon is Cooked Separately ... This is to keep the Stock Clean ...

Personally ... I would go with Mee Sua ...

But I just say say only ...

agree, old people cannot eat tough food [thumbsup]

msg is always a great taste maker.....hahaha! Dont use too much of it hor......thats why outside food taste good!

I nv use any salt or msg cos the seafood itself is very tasty... but cant deny MSG is some miracle taste maker... haha....

agree, old people cannot eat tough food [thumbsup]

[thumbsup] I was gonna say that too....

I believe they mix the sambal with water and cornflour to give it the sticky texture. but portion wise I cant advice.

This malay style looks nice

Interesting video. Nice to see how others cook.

Those are the S$6/kg lala if I'm not mistaken.

A few things on the cooking style.

I wouldn't use so much oil myself or so much salt or so many eggs.

Because she cooks so much la la they take a lot longer to cook.

Not that there's anything wrong with that.

Made me hungry so I'm off to lunch.

I can't take MSG.

Although many say it doesn't effect people it always gives me a sore head and nausea.

My missus says that it's the 4 bottles of Tiger I drink but I think it's the MSG.

I can't take MSG.

Although many say it doesn't effect people it always gives me a sore head and nausea.

My missus says that it's the 4 bottles of Tiger I drink but I think it's the MSG.

try doing one without the other.....you will know the cause! Too much msg also no good.......but outside food uses a lot of msg for the taste thats why i prefer my wife's cooking......

I can't take MSG.

So hard to get lala especially when early morning I rushing to work. by the time i go supermarket nothing left for me liao.

I also think is the FOUR bottles of Tiger.... hahahaha

So hard to get lala especially when early morning I rushing to work. by the time i go supermarket nothing left for me liao.

I also think is the FOUR bottles of Tiger.... hahahaha

Buy online from Rakuten.com.sg - store Kaiho

http://www.rakuten.com.sg/shop/toyoseafood/product/AQ-010/?l-id=sg_search_product_thumbnail_12

post-272-0-45785600-1418100603_thumb.jpg

Edited by Yeobh