Need medical advice for heart blockage

Little_prince

Hi guys.

Need some advice .

Father in law got blockage. May need bypass or balloning .

Private specialist v ex.

What are the options available ? Pioneer gen got cover?

1. Go polyclinic for referral then go govt hosp? How long would the process take?

2. Go a&e say heart pain. Got subsidy ?

Tks

Haizi

Ascertain the seriousness. See what the A/E says. Workup would include ECG if indicative and stress treadmill.

Normally, they will do a diagnostic and ascertain the extent of blockage, they go to do a PCI immediately.

IF go Polyclinic, can be referred to NHC or NUH heart ctr. Can take 1-2 mths or longer

the extent of the blockages can determine if a PCI or a bypass is needed. Clinician can advise better

Non invasive, a Cardiac CT can be done to give an initial assessment. Seems like done from what you mentioned

Hi guys.

Need some advice .

Private specialist v ex.

1. Go polyclinic for referral then go govt hosp? How long would the process take?

Tks

Haizi

how he knows he has blockage? if it was discovered by polyclinic or home doctor, they would have refer him to the hospital liao.

Ballooning cost in local hospital.

Go to government hospital is the way to go. Our minister Mr Khaw spent $8 for a bypass only...if they charge you any higher....pull out this article..

http://www.healthxchange.com.sg/News/Pages/Minister-bill-for-bypass-surgery-$8.aspx

Whahaha....

To TS, depending on how serious. If serious better dun wait for refferal. Straight away go National Heart Center or NUH Heart Center. Sometimes it's not the money that will matter. It's the timing that will matter the most. My FIL lost his life wait here wait there for referral coz he want to save some money. A lot of precious time that could have saved him went wasted waiting. If it's serious better dun wait anymore. See specialist only the first consultation is ex, subsequent not so ex but still ex anyway. Just go lah.

Thinks guys.

Let me go back discuss with wifey.

If go govt hosp a&e, got subsidy ? Or considered walk in?

think walk in private but you dun go to A/E unless u had an AMI...

Thinks guys.

Now no more called subsidy. It's called insurance. Anyone got buy insurance for him? Go check lah.

Thinks guys.

not for heart disease.. but what my fil did was to get a specialist in pte pract to assess if it serious.

And start the polyclinic process going.. if you can proof the seriousness of the matter, likely can jump queue upon referral at public hospital.

Edited by ShepherdPie

Hi guys.

Need some advice .

Private specialist v ex.

Tks

Haizi

This combination can help blockage, while waiting can try it.

http://www.naturesshopy.com/Health-Vinegars/Dr-Patkar-s-Apple-Cider-Vinegar-Garlic--Ginger--lemon-and-Honey---500-ML-X-2-Nos--2-Month-pack-id-439332.html

Because the CABG bypass require a Team care approach,

Better to Choose the surgical TEAM that is experienced

ie Besides the cardiac surgeon involved whose technical expertise is paramount,

the rest of his fellow junior assistants need to be on the ball to detect post-operation complications

so interview the assistants and ask what is the years of experience and when will they inform higher up of problems and what happens if extreme danger happens?

not for heart disease.. but what my fil did was to get a specialist in pte pract to assess if it serious.

And start the polyclinic process going.. if you can proof the seriousness of the matter, likely can jump queue upon referral at public hospital.

ya. that's what we did. went to Bernard ee @ gleneagles.

haiz.

really must take care of health

ya. that's what we did. went to Bernard ee @ gleneagles.

haiz.

really must take care of health

if u really goo private, let me know. I know who are the better ones

Go Polyclinic and complain chest pain, they'll refer you to Hospital A&E immediately but you'll have to pay for the A&E and Ambulance.

A&E will need to wait for few hours then they'll access and if you're in danger, the referral to specialist will be fast but still depends on hospital. If no danger, the waiting period will be 2 months to 6 months depending on the hospital.

I think go polyclinic route better. For my illnesses, I went the polyclinic route. and got subsidised rates.

My mother was sent in A&E TTSH. During check-in, admin said if want subsidy got to do means testing. For my mum, she will never pass means testing cos staying in private apartment and both my bro n I HDB 5 room flats.

If not serious yet, I advise go polyclinic route. If u confident can pass means testing, go A&E. But A&E will be a long long wait to see doctor.