I think i spotted a BMW i8 today

Yeobt

(And, for the record, to those guys saying that no Panamera, Cayenne or Macan can be a true Porsche - I cannot agree more with you. For me, personally ,it's 911 or no Porker. :D)

I like that attitude. That is even more hardcore than mine! Incidentally, have you test driven the 991? Some are available at a similar price to the 997 turbo. But my guess is that you either will not like the electric steering or the car is a touch too slow for you (0-100kph in 4.0s for the PDK 991S versus 0-100kph in 3.4s for the PDK 997.2 turbo)

Wow, you beat RadX, 135 to 5 to Porky. Congrats. I need to quote you guys to get quick approval from my FM!

Interesting thread...

The i8 and a 911 turbo are two cars that have been on my mind for a while.

While I love the M5, I'm getting a little antsy driving the same thing, so...you know. :D

The i8 first. I took a prolonged test drive recently, in fact the salesguy offered to let me have the car for a week to really assess liveability, but I declined as I don't like the responsibility.

Getting into the car was tough. Getting out was tougher. But not as tough as when I tried an Elise years ago, a foolhardy thing I will not attempt again with a BMI north of 30. :D

The drive itself was...nice. Felt quick enough, but no quicker (in fact a fair bit slower) than my chipped M5. Stock for stock, these cars will be close - while the i8 will take the M5 off the line because of AWD and instant electric torque, the M5 will quickly overtake and really wallop the i8 at higher speeds.

Honestly, it didn't feel like I was in anything special. I had no impression at all in the default Comfort setting, and I had to put it into sport to get any hint of involvement from it, and that was still far less than I get in my M5 on full couch potato mode (Efficient/Comfort/Comfort with super-gentle D1 DCT shifts). Steering feel was predictably numb given that it's electrical and not hydraulic like the F10 M5 steering (the M5 is the only 5 series that eschews the electric power assist steering that has been inflicted upon the rest of the line). The interior also didn't "wow" me - sure, it had a lot of new agey, space-odyssey type touches, but it just looked tacky to me.

So I think I'll pass on the i8, thanks very much.

(I also tested the i3 for completeness, but I don't think it's relevant here).

So that leaves the Porsche. I'm not going for an N/A Porsche, since I've already done that before. If I go Porker, I want a turbo this time. So I'm looking at a well kept 997 turbo, and I already have a good car in mind. When I test drove it, it felt good. Again, it didn't feel any faster than my M5 (I didn't expect it to), but it felt far, far more involving than the i8 for certain.

I've arranged to get it inspected by a specialist soon, let's see how things go. [:)]

(And, for the record, to those guys saying that no Panamera, Cayenne or Macan can be a true Porsche - I cannot agree more with you. For me, personally ,it's 911 or no Porker. :D)

On the radar thing, I don't think porky is a major concern? It is so common these days. 

You will be surprised. I drive a 991 that is in a not-so-conspicuous colour and i regularly get attention from kids who tend to gawk and point at the car, young women who will cast glances at the driver i.e. yours truly, and the occasional tourist who will stop to snap a picture. All that extra attention does not really bother me but it might bother other people. 

Wow, you beat RadX, 135 to 5 to Porky. Congrats. I need to quote you guys to get quick approval from my FM!

Haha, I already had a 911 before. So just revisiting old territory. And pundek RadX also had a Porker before lah... I think Gay Man, perfect for him. :D

Anyway, I'm seriously having second thoughts... I think I wanna enjoy my car for longer...lol. Can't beat the M5 for practicality, and it's just as fast as the 911 turbo.

For now it looks like I'm still in the ///M fraternity.

Bro, life is not about trying to buy the car that other people aspire to drive. It is about buying a car that suits you. If practicality, comfort, luxury, and safety are more important then one is better off and will get more value shopping at PML or C&C. If on the other hand you appreciate subtle things like the engine burble of the flat six, the experience of driving a rear wheel drive car with the engine over the rear wheels (stability under braking and superior traction on corner exit and throttle application), razor sharp handling, the racing heritage, then by all means get a porsche. Please don't tell me about the macan, cayenne or panamera. Those cars are good for the financial well-being of the company, but do not in my opinion deliver the true porsche experience. 

Porsche-911-GT3-RS-1.jpg

Best 911 shape to date. Better than the air cooled 993

Interesting thread...

The i8 and a 911 turbo are two cars that have been on my mind for a while.

While I love the M5, I'm getting a little antsy driving the same thing, so...you know. :D

The i8 first. I took a prolonged test drive recently, in fact the salesguy offered to let me have the car for a week to really assess liveability, but I declined as I don't like the responsibility.

Getting into the car was tough. Getting out was tougher. But not as tough as when I tried an Elise years ago, a foolhardy thing I will not attempt again with a BMI north of 30. :D

The drive itself was...nice. Felt quick enough, but no quicker (in fact a fair bit slower) than my chipped M5. Stock for stock, these cars will be close - while the i8 will take the M5 off the line because of AWD and instant electric torque, the M5 will quickly overtake and really wallop the i8 at higher speeds.

Honestly, it didn't feel like I was in anything special. I had no impression at all in the default Comfort setting, and I had to put it into sport to get any hint of involvement from it, and that was still far less than I get in my M5 on full couch potato mode (Efficient/Comfort/Comfort with super-gentle D1 DCT shifts). Steering feel was predictably numb given that it's electrical and not hydraulic like the F10 M5 steering (the M5 is the only 5 series that eschews the electric power assist steering that has been inflicted upon the rest of the line). The interior also didn't "wow" me - sure, it had a lot of new agey, space-odyssey type touches, but it just looked tacky to me.

So I think I'll pass on the i8, thanks very much.

(I also tested the i3 for completeness, but I don't think it's relevant here).

So that leaves the Porsche. I'm not going for an N/A Porsche, since I've already done that before. If I go Porker, I want a turbo this time. So I'm looking at a well kept 997 turbo, and I already have a good car in mind. When I test drove it, it felt good. Again, it didn't feel any faster than my M5 (I didn't expect it to), but it felt far, far more involving than the i8 for certain.

I've arranged to get it inspected by a specialist soon, let's see how things go. [:)]

Nice to hear! Happy for you too!

Looks like Throttle2 will have a competitor with a Turbo soon.

The newer 911s seem to be on EPS, so yours will probably will be the 'last stand' model, just like the aircooled.

Nice to hear! Happy for you too!

Looks like Throttle2 will have a competitor with a Turbo soon.

The newer 911s seem to be on EPS, so yours will probably will be the 'last stand' model, just like the aircooled.

Well, I'm still undecided bro. I've become a little reluctant to part with the M5 that really lacks nothing compared to the Porsche for street performance, and is a ton more practical.

Will see how things go.

If whole life employee, any chance to own M5? Or everybody here is big towkay? [bigcry]

Highly paid employees, like investment bankers, can!

The missus must first try getting in and out of the car without exposing the undies .... 

PS Just happened to see one this morning.

Edited by Volvobrick

LSTT bro... just BUY!!!!! mai tu liao

will be interesting to see how long it takes him to get out of the car after parking. :wub:

will be interesting to see how long it takes him to get out of the car after parking. :wub:

Piaking?

Orrgh @dach give u scolding