IF get fired for taking childcare leave, is it fair?

Rastaman01

My uncle had first time taken childcare leave as son was not well... the boss was unhappy.... in case the boss fire him is there any recourse....

boss will fire him because he take childcare leave?

more than meets the eye..... need full story leh

and y will your uncle feels this way... unless he knows there is something very wrong with his performance or his boss don't like him

Edited by Galantspeedz

please give thread title a thought before posting, one word title is too generic.

Childcare leave is an entitlement according to MOM, employer cannot penalize a staff from taking.

An employee is entitled to 6 days of childcare leave per year if he/she is covered under the Child Development Co-Savings Act. The Child Development Co-Savings Act covers all parents of Singapore citizens, including managerial, executive or confidential staff if all three of the following conditions are met:

1. Child is below 7 years old;
  2. Child is a Singapore Citizen;
  3. Parent must have served his or her employer for a continuous duration of at least 3 calendar months;
    or
    For a parent who is self-employed, he or she must have been engaged in a particular business, trade, profession for a continuous duration of at least 3 calendar months; and have lost income as a result of not engaging in the trade, business, profession or vocation during the child care leave period.

The first 3 days of childcare leave will be employer-paid and the last three days Government-paid (capped at $500 per day, including CPF). Regardless of the number of children, the total childcare leave entitlement for each parent is capped at six days per year until the year the child turns seven years old.

The number of days of childcare leave that a working parent can benefit from will add up to a total of 42 days over a seven-year period.

If an employee has worked less than a year

The leave year for childcare leave will be any 12-month period as agreed by both employer and employee. If there is no agreement, the leave year will be the calendar year by default.

For employees who are entitled to 6 days of Childcare leave per year, employers may pro-rate the leave based on the duration of employment, subject to a minimum of 2 days. The tables below indicate the number of childcare leave days an employee is eligible for if he/she serves for less than 1 year of service:

- See more at: http://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/leave-and-holidays/Pages/childcare-leave.aspx#eeea

take it to wanbao man...

If boss purely buay song for taking an entitlement, then get him to talk to LHL.

lol

But seriously if boss decides to make life hell in other ways (not firing directly) poh simi mata also no use.

In most terms of employment the Employer need not give any reasons for firing a staff ; and even if they have to , there are thousand and one reasons to give other than " because you took childcare leave " .

Employer not so silly to get into trouble with MOM .

Ok guys thanks... i will post more later...now talking to him n family... he is the kind or worker reach always 1 hour earlier n leave 1 hour later n weekend bring home work...

Yep...

You cannot be (officially) fired for taking childcare leave

If you are (unofficially) fired for taking childcare leave - and you are covered under the relevant act, take it up with MOM

But frankly - no boss will fire anyone for taking childcare leave.

If you are performing in your job, doing what you are supposed to and adding value to the company, nobody (that is sane) will go through a replacement exercise because you took a day of leave that you are statutorily entitled to.

What you will be fired for is continually being on leave when there are deadlines to be met, for being away from the office more than you are in it, for using "leave" as an excuse not to get your jobs done or deadlines met.

So GalantSpeedz's question is probably very relevant in this case.

Ok guys thanks... i will post more later...now talking to him n family... he is the kind or worker reach always 1 hour earlier n leave 1 hour later n weekend bring home work...

why would the boss be so mean to him if he is so hardworking, or the boss in general is mean to everyone.

In most terms of employment the Employer need not give any reasons for firing a staff ; and even if they have to , there are thousand and one reasons to give other than " because you took childcare leave " .

Employer not so silly to get into trouble with MOM .

Don't you believe it - petty employers will do stupid petty things without thinking properly ---

And the sort of person that fires over childcare leave is not going to be very clever in other areas

i am sorry, but is like the parents of a speeding driver saying their son drives safely and don't speed....

think need more details then can actually know fair anot

which employer will sack someone just for taking one day of leave?

it'll probably cost more to replace an existing worker than the one day of work he missed.

the story doesn't add up

Don't you believe it - petty employers will do stupid petty things without thinking properly ---

And the sort of person that fires over childcare leave is not going to be very clever in other areas

But they still can be boss / employer leh though stupid on EQ... pay the fine and replace with FT no need to take childcare leave since child not in Singapore -_-