Public Alcohol consumption bill-Cannot have a beer at a BBQ!

Darryn

Doesn't bother me.

I don't drink :D

Hahhhahahah

Ok...I'll Godwinise the thread...

First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak out—

Because I was not a Socialist.

Then they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not speak out—

Because I was not a Trade Unionist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—

Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me.

If the law passes you won't be able to have a beer at a BBQ...

Faint lor...

attachicon.giftable1-19115.jpg

can lah, just need to apply permit.

anyway, after 10.30pm people should be home resting, or drinking in a pub or coffeeshop, not in public places.

If I read that statement correctly... a permit is required for the BBQ pit if I intend to consume beyond 2230

Yep...

that's how I read it as well.

anyway, after 10.30pm people should be home resting,

Wah...like this?

post-52759-0-91683400-1421658928_thumb.jpg

Yep...

that's how I read it as well.

so whats the issue :D

Sometimes I wish this was in the bylaws in my old place.... smallish condo... only 52 units and mine was on 2nd floor just above the BBQ pit.

Suffice to say that some tenants/patrons became a noisy boorish lot that left me bleary eyed and grumpy the next morning... almost like a hangover... and I don't even effing drink.

If I read that statement correctly... a permit is required for the BBQ pit if I intend to consume beyond 2230

yup, I read it that way also. You can drink till you drop by 10.29pm, no permit required. If you have a few cans left after 10.30pm, please throw away..LOL

Bill to regulate public drinking unpopular with young clubbers
PUBLISHED ON JAN 19, 2015
AL-drinking-1901e.jpg
Proposed laws to ban public drinking from 10.30pm to 7am could prove unpopular with young clubbers, but have been welcomed by residents living near entertainment districts. -- ST PHOTO: CHEW SENG KIM
BY AMIR HUSSAIN AND LIM YI HAN
SINGAPORE - Proposed laws to ban public drinking from 10.30pm to 7am could prove unpopular with young clubbers, but have been welcomed by residents living near entertainment districts.
The late-night happenings around Clarke Quay and Robertson Quay have caused many living there to complain about the noise and littering that takes place on weekends and on Wednesday's Ladies Nights.
When The Straits Times visited the area on Friday night, as many as 500 people - mostly young adults in their early 20s - were drinking in public after buying alcohol from retail shops such as nearby 7-Elevens. In the vicinity of nightclub Zouk, groups of friends sat in circles on the floor drinking. On Read Bridge at Clarke Quay, young people, including exchange students, lined the sides, many with drinks in hand.
They said they preferred to get a buzz first from cheaper alcohol bought from convenience stores, before heading to clubs where drinks are more expensive. Even at midnight, there were long queues for drinks at these stores, which currently cannot sell alcohol from between 3am and 6am. The proposed Bill will not allow retail shops to sell alcohol after 10.30pm as well.
"It would make sense to impose a ban on certain areas (such as residential ones), but imposing it islandwide would be harsh," said full-time national serviceman Evan Choi, 21. "People who live nearby (in the vicinity of entertainment zones) should be prepared for it to be noisy."
Student Khoo Wei Hao, 19, said: "There shouldn't be a ban here as it is a commercial entertainment spot. It will be less 'happening' if there is a ban. Businesses will be affected too."
But residents there said that they welcome the new Liquor Control Bill. A resident of Watermark condominium at Robertson Quay who wanted to be known as Mr Tan, 42, said: "There are broken glasses and a lot of littering on Wednesdays and weekends. The restrictions will help address the problem."

About time anti-public-drinking laws come in force. My neighbourhood playground often full of litter from these public drinkers.

I am all for it. As for BBQ in East Coast Park, apply for drinking permit when applying for the pit. And the applicant/organiser makes sure his guests won't be a nuisance.

Sometimes I wish this was in the bylaws in my old place.... smallish condo... only 52 units and mine was on 2nd floor just above the BBQ pit.

Suffice to say that some tenants/patrons became a noisy boorish lot that left me bleary eyed and grumpy the next morning... almost like a hangover... and I don't even effing drink.

I think it is by law in most condos. There is a very popular bbq pit (just beside a small pool) right before my block facing my master bedroom, whenever I hear sound after 11pm, the phone at the guardhouse will ring..LOL

Our standard practise was to go join the party if they were being noisy...

And always invite your neighbours to your party!!

I read this and want to faint lor...

If want to have beer at my BBQ at East Coast have to apply for license? [hur][smallcry][shakehead]

Cannot sit at the downstairs basketball court and enjoy a couple of quiet beers with friends?

Really really insane to me...

you trying to mislead people?

What are you doing at East coast park after 1030pm???

See ship? Rock car? [laugh]

Want to drink beer, drink before 10:30pm lah...

after 10.30pm people should be home resting

personally I don't drink beer..but saying that 'after 10.30pm people should be home resting' is draconian..not everyone have a 9-5 job like most of us

you trying to mislead people?

What are you doing at East coast park after 1030pm???

See ship? Rock car? [laugh]

Want to drink beer, drink before 10:30pm lah...

Nope -

1. The proposal is to ban alcohol (unless you have applied for a license) from all public parks between 10:30 pm and 7 am. This includes East Coast park BBQ areas. There is also a BBQ downstairs my FIL house - there cannot have a beer after 10:30.

2. There are a number of seats and tables beside the BB court downstairs from my flat, would not be allowed to sit there with my neighbour after 10:30 for a quiet beer and chat.