Career Advice Needed

Chuapcd

Hi all:

Need some advise here.

I am in the 40s and looking for a backup plan in case of retrenchment or potentially a part-time income if my job is smooth sailing

I am really looking at Workplace Safety Officer or Property Officer and trying to decide which course I should be going for to prepare this.
(1) Advanced Certificate in WSH - S'pore Poly
(2) DIPLOMA (CONVERSION) IN FACILITY MANAGEMENT - Ngee Ann Poly

For WSH, I believe I need to work for 2 years before I could go for Specialist Diploma in order to get MOM licence and not sure if it is easy to accumulate the 2 years experience to fulfill the requirement for the next level.

Any experience WSH Officer or Property Officer could provide advise would be really appreciated. Thanks in advance.

What is your current job and why can't you find a similar position if you get retrenched?

At your age, it will be harder for you to find a company willing to let you gain those 2 years of experience for MOM license than it is for you to find a similar position.

Hi, I am neither FM nor WSHO, but I've worked with them before, so hopefully my opinion can be neutral and useful.

Between the two, FM definitely offers more career opportunities. I mean, in a typical building or organization, how many FMs and how many WSHOs do you see? Also FM is more versatile, and you can easily make further switch (Service Engineering etc.) once you get familiar enough. If you are looking at this as a backup plan in case you get retrenched from your current employment, these are points worth considering.

But if you are looking at it as a 2nd job on top of your full time job, then a WSHO would definitely enjoy more time and freedom as you can always go freelance, but that's provided first you've gained enough experience to go freelance (do audits or implement Risk Management plans) and for potential clients to have sufficient confidence to engage you.

From the perspective of entry point, do you really need a specialized diploma just to do FM? If you have got any engineering background you probably already qualify for most of the entry positions already; and if you are looking for a high level position, the diploma probably would not do you much good if you do not have the necessary experience to begin with. WSHO on the other hand is highly specific and specialized, you really need the qualifications just to be one, and even after you do, you will still need to consistently go for upgrading and refresher courses to keep yourself relevant.

Nature of job wise, personally I feel FM is "easier". Basically you need to make sure everything is in working order through routine preemptive and preventive maintenance, and usually you do not need to get involved directly, just need to plan and schedule for the various vendors or sub-cons to come in to do it. Likewise when things breakdown, you just need to arrange for the right people to come and fix it, followed by an incident report (if required). Just be mentally prepared to routinely receive "urgent service calls" in the middle of the night or when you are off work; FM responsibilities are usually round-the-clock. Some FMs are also responsible for minor alterations or developments of the facilities they are looking after (renovate toilets, add small rooms etc.), again, in such incidents you will have all your cons and sub-cons to help you, your responsibility is mainly in keeping the facility occupants happy (this in fact may turn out to be the hardest part of your job).

WSHO on the other hand, is "harder" in the sense that you have more formalities to adhere to, more procedures to follow, and most importantly, more responsibilities to shoulder. Say you did an audit, or worse, implemented a risk management plan, then you will be directly responsible if your users followed your recommendations and yet something happened. And even if the incident, or worse; ACCIDENT (any incidents involving injuries or deaths), is due to user's negligence and to no fault of yours, you will also have to help with the investigation and report filing to MOM, Talking about report, there are definitely a lot more reports to write or at least go through if you are a WSHO, this can be a real hassle at times, and would become the make-or-break for certain people.

One good thing about WSHO though, after you've gained enough experience (and hopefully reputation), you can go and teach part-time in those WSH or Construction Safety courses. Money's not too bad I heard.

Above are my $0.02, hope they help.

Edited by efssc

Yup... HSSE line is flooded with cheapo FT worker/supervisor turn WSHC and WSHO. That is why the standard is getting lower and lower as days goes by.

FM should have more prospect as we can see countless tall buildings around and still building. But again, every trade is soon to be flooded with cheapo trash. I seriously dun mind if we are outclassed by talent but by trash, that is simply $$ concern by the employer.

I am a WSHC in Oil/gas sector... this trade is dying fast due to over flooded of cheapo low standard workforce and falling oil price.

go for the FM course.

i from FM, usually real working time is 2hr out of 9hr a day..its more like a standby role..

Once free,very free..once got problem..can take up whole day to do (depend nature of the problem)

Another thing is you wont be afraid that u out of job even economic downturn infact u go online job portal u will see flood with this position for hiring..currently my 7th companies in 10years lol

Theres 2 different FM.1 is outsource Managing Agent and another is work under direct owner.

under direct owner i feel can learn more things..from FM to construction depends what the company is doing..

I feel ,one need passion in this job.

For me i like to solve things and apply my job knowledge in daily life.

And also 90% is liaising with people...u can see funny people wif funny request one lol

Thanks....do you think the below course is a good starting point?

(2) DIPLOMA (CONVERSION) IN FACILITY MANAGEMENT - Ngee Ann Poly

quote name="Freestylers09" post="5394754" timestamp="1421849229"]

i from FM, usually real working time is 2hr out of 9hr a day..its more like a standby role..

Once free,very free..once got problem..can take up whole day to do (depend nature of the problem)

Another thing is you wont be afraid that u out of job even economic downturn infact u go online job portal u will see flood with this position for hiring..currently my 7th companies in 10years lol

Theres 2 different FM.1 is outsource Managing Agent and another is work under direct owner.

under direct owner i feel can learn more things..from FM to construction depends what the company is doing..

I feel ,one need passion in this job.

For me i like to solve things and apply my job knowledge in daily life.

And also 90% is liaising with people...u can see funny people wif funny request one lol

alot of stuff which was taught in classroom is totally not practicable at the work place. Since you are a mid career person, i guess you should know.... FM was my first targeted job but wasnt given a chance by anyone although i had the FSM cert. I guess FM is more like doing more M&E stuff and coordination with "clients" with arising issues.... that is interesting and challenging.

Thanks for all the sharing and advise !!!

One more question. how can one become a property managing agent or condo managing agent as another option after retrenchment is to start a business? Tried to google but dont seem to find much information about it.

good courses here

http://www.trentglobal.com/

if you keen to find out more or sign up, can PM me

when u in this trade..its more than managing agent business

what u learn can do business in cleaning,renovation,etc etc

some i knew went into cleaning trade n doing v well..why??sg lack of cleaners ma...but hard find workers also lol

Hi I'm in a dilemma now. I have 2 job offers from company A and B. I'm more keen on company A but company B pays more. The offer from company A is the same as my expected pay in my application. Should I ask company A if it is possible to negotiate for an extra $1-200 more? Will they be put off and totally withdraw their offer? Should I inform them that I have another offer from company B also?

It will be seen as you are fickle minded and not sure what you want, but then if they are desperate, they might willing to increase. Or ask them to commit a confirmation increments of $200 which you will show them how good you are upon confirmation appraisal.

On the other hand, if they are not desperate or hate people who not committed, and you tell them company B offer higher, they will say "go take lor".

It will be seen as you are fickle minded and not sure what you want, but then if they are desperate, they might willing to increase. Or ask them to commit a confirmation increments of $200 which you will show them how good you are upon confirmation appraisal.

On the other hand, if they are not desperate or hate people who not committed, and you tell them company B offer higher, they will say "go take lor".

Sian dont know what to do now. I only worry company A withdraw the offer totally. If the pay they offered is what I put in my application does it mean that they could actually afford to pay more?

Edited by Ldlian987

Just tell Coy A the truth that you find Coy A work more interesting and like to work there but another company offered slightly higher pay.

Accept the offer, at the same time ask nicely if they would consider increasing the pay after probation. For 100-200, Coy A probably would agree, as long as you don't show nasty attitude/behaviour....

Edited by Volvobrick