I'm a nurse. Ask me anything about nursing

Philipkee

Not just any powder hor ... use the zinc-based ones to suppress fungal infection.

But for goodness sake, stop self-medicating and go see a Podiatrist lah!

Hi there

Landed on this forum as i was googling on some info re nursing.. And i am considering the pcp rn Programme. Ive passed the interview and am considering the Institution which i will serve my bond of 2yrs training +3 yrs bond.

Would anyone be able to advice -

1) what is the main difference between working in the acute hospital compared to nursing homes / community hospitals / polyclinic setting?

2) which environment has lesser politics / internal fighting / bitchy gossips.

3) im a mother of 2 young children, what should i consider before jumping in this.

4) anyone can share what are some personal motivations / benefits of being a nurse, why you stay on this career and how u manage to stay put for such long time?

Appreciate your sharing.

Edited by vanezlee

What is the best excuse to keng MC

I heard say diarrhea cos cannot prove not true.

But I heard some Docs will poke their fingers up the as s and I don't want to lose that virginity.

What is the best excuse to keng MC

I heard say diarrhea cos cannot prove not true.

But I heard some Docs will poke their fingers up the as s and I don't want to lose that virginity.

Hi there

Landed on this forum as i was googling on some info re nursing.. And i am considering the pcp rn Programme. Ive passed the interview and am considering the Institution which i will serve my bond of 2yrs training +3 yrs bond.

Would anyone be able to advice -

1) what is the main difference between working in the acute hospital compared to nursing homes / community hospitals / polyclinic setting?

2) which environment has lesser politics / internal fighting / bitchy gossips.

3) im a mother of 2 young children, what should i consider before jumping in this.

4) anyone can share what are some personal motivations / benefits of being a nurse, why you stay on this career and how u manage to stay put for such long time?

Appreciate your sharing.

1)acute hospitals tend to have more variety on what you do. How much variety depends on which specialty. Good if you just passed out and want to learn.

2)nursing home and community hospitals tend to be more routine as you deal with basically long term patients.

3)polyclinic is just like gp. Not really good of you just passed out. Good if you are already experienced.

Note that I never mentioned stress levels. All have their stress levels so it is not fair for me to say which is more. Even polyclinic can be stressful cos a very ill patient might turn up there thinking no need to go ane. That is why it is best if you are experienced before you go there.

2) All have politics. My opinion is a woman in a woman's environment will face this just like a man in a man's environment. So no avoiding it. I managed to avoid a lot cos when I was in the ward I was a man in a woman's world a.k.a only male nurse there.

3) definitely the shift work and weekend duties. You need your husband to agree on this.

4) stable job. Define stay long in the job. I went from ward to operating theatre to ane and to teaching nursing and now to scdf. So I have been long in nursing but there has been variety.

Hope this helps

Hi, my mom just informed me today that she has lost her sense of smell for about a month. She did not realize it until while sleeping last night when she thought over a series of recent occurrences which she had not taken seriously, but collectively appeared to be connecting the dots: she did not realize that she overcooked a dish, she did not smell anything when her friends commented that my sister wore a nice fragrance when she walked past them in a gathering at home, she could not detect any smell when my sister asked my mother to try a new perfume, etc. My mom is 79 this year, and has not been ill lately (touch wood) though she has been on regular medication to control her blood pressure and blood sugar level for years, so I hope the symptoms are just signs of normal aging. However, it saddens me to think that my mom is losing a critical sense which is as important to enjoy life as it is for alerting one to dangers (smoke from fire, gas leak, rotten food, etc). I'm going to get her a referral to an ENT specialist for anosmia diagnosis. Which public hospital would you recommend for such examination? Is anosmia common among elderly? Any advice that you would share? Thanks!

@kykh, cannot help much since I don't really encounter this in my course of work.

Anyway, for referral, suggest you bring your mum to polyclinic and if needed get a referral to a specialist in a public hospital. This is to get subsidised rates. You can choose later to upgrade to private if you feel the wait is too long. My observation is that it is easier to upgrade from subsidised to private than vice versa.

Are her other conditions under control? I know you mentioned she has been taking the medications but has she been really compliant and regular in her checkups? Just need to rule out possible other co-morbidities as the cause. Cos sometimes elderly can be compliant to medications (but never go for follow ups cos of various reasons like no time or cost) and thus have been under or overdosing themselves not knowingly until something serious happens and they turn up at ane. Or they ownself dose ownself. Take medications regularly but decide on the dosage themselves.....

If you are worried about the danger, I can only suggest she stop cooking since this is where most of the danger lies (rotten food, gas leak). I guess from your post she does not live alone so safety should not be a major issue for now since she is still quite mobile and independent (I infer this from your post she overcooked a dish meaning she can stand and cook).

Maybe other doctors here can advice further.

All the best.

Edited by Philipkee

Hi, my mom just informed me today that she has lost her sense of smell for about a month. She did not realize it until while sleeping last night when she thought over a series of recent occurrences which she had not taken seriously, but collectively appeared to be connecting the dots: she did not realize that she overcooked a dish, she did not smell anything when her friends commented that my sister wore a nice fragrance when she walked past them in a gathering at home, she could not detect any smell when my sister asked my mother to try a new perfume, etc. My mom is 79 this year, and has not been ill lately (touch wood) though she has been on regular medication to control her blood pressure and blood sugar level for years, so I hope the symptoms are just signs of normal aging. However, it saddens me to think that my mom is losing a critical sense which is as important to enjoy life as it is for alerting one to dangers (smoke from fire, gas leak, rotten food, etc). I'm going to get her a referral to an ENT specialist for anosmia diagnosis. Which public hospital would you recommend for such examination? Is anosmia common among elderly? Any advice that you would share? Thanks!

SGH and NUH

Hi, my mom just informed me today that she has lost her sense of smell for about a month. She did not realize it until while sleeping last night when she thought over a series of recent occurrences which she had not taken seriously, but collectively appeared to be connecting the dots: she did not realize that she overcooked a dish, she did not smell anything when her friends commented that my sister wore a nice fragrance when she walked past them in a gathering at home, she could not detect any smell when my sister asked my mother to try a new perfume, etc. My mom is 79 this year, and has not been ill lately (touch wood) though she has been on regular medication to control her blood pressure and blood sugar level for years, so I hope the symptoms are just signs of normal aging. However, it saddens me to think that my mom is losing a critical sense which is as important to enjoy life as it is for alerting one to dangers (smoke from fire, gas leak, rotten food, etc). I'm going to get her a referral to an ENT specialist for anosmia diagnosis. Which public hospital would you recommend for such examination? Is anosmia common among elderly? Any advice that you would share? Thanks!

Cannot smell but can she taste? My mum keep complaining she can't taste much compare to the past, I know old people have hearing problem, but not sure if taste and smell also deteriorating when they age.

@kykh, cannot help much since I don't really encounter this in my course of work.

Anyway, for referral, suggest you bring your mum to polyclinic and if needed get a referral to a specialist in a public hospital. This is to get subsidised rates. You can choose later to upgrade to private if you feel the wait is too long. My observation is that it is easier to upgrade from subsidised to private than vice versa.

Are her other conditions under control? I know you mentioned she has been taking the medications but has she been really compliant and regular in her checkups? Just need to rule out possible other co-morbidities as the cause. Cos sometimes elderly can be compliant to medications (but never go for follow ups cos of various reasons like no time or cost) and thus have been under or overdosing themselves not knowingly until something serious happens and they turn up at ane. Or they ownself dose ownself. Take medications regularly but decide on the dosage themselves.....

If you are worried about the danger, I can only suggest she stop cooking since this is where most of the danger lies (rotten food, gas leak). I guess from your post she does not live alone so safety should not be a major issue for now since she is still quite mobile and independent (I infer this from your post she overcooked a dish meaning she can stand and cook).

Maybe other doctors here can advice further.

All the best.

@Philipkee, thanks for your advice and kind words!

I've been accompanying my mom to her quarterly medical reviews at polyclinic, annual vision and hearing checks at NUH and SGH, and I ensure that she takes the medication as prescribed to control her blood pressure and blood sugar conditions. I also regularly measure her blood pressure at home with a blood pressure monitor. Her conditions are generally under control, except for the loss of smell as described. Recently, I encouraged her to join a group of elderly for weekday morning exercises in the park and making new friends, and to play mahjong weekly to keep her mind active.

My mom always keep health matters to herself, so as not to worry her children. Years ago, I realized that she kept losing her balance and falling down. While her hearing has been deteriorating with age, I feared that she might have lost her hearing in one ear, as she tended to turn to her other ear when listening. It was only when my sister and I brought her to a specialist that my suspicion was confirmed; she had become totally deaf in her left ear and it was beyond recovery. The specialist could not identify the root cause for the abrupt total loss of hearing in one ear and had suspected viral infection. Nevertheless, I blamed myself for not noticing it earlier, else the condition might still have been treatable. Only recently after much persuasion did I manage to convince her to wear hearing aid in her right ear, but it would not help to prevent her hearing in that ear to continue to deteriorate.

Yes, we'll visit the polyclinic tomorrow for an examination and referral to a specialist to diagnose her loss of smell. I hope it is only temporary!

Cannot smell but can she taste? My mum keep complaining she can't taste much compare to the past, I know old people have hearing problem, but not sure if taste and smell also deteriorating when they age.

She has not complained of any issue with taste, though she tends to choke while eating - a symptom that was associated with some micro stroke in the brain according to a specialist who examined my mom, but no treatment was necessary. Hence, we always remind her to eat slowly and not to speak while chewing.

After I graduate from poly with a nursing diploma, should I go straight for NUS Degree/Advanced Diploma (Perioperative) from NYP/Work as a nurse before upgrading to a degree? Also, what do you guys think about the part-time nursing degree from SIT-University of Sydney? I'm very interested to work in the public health sector, because I think it'll give me a lot of satisfaction to have an occupation that lets you help people.

One of my major concern is my mother, her health isn't that great (part of the reason why I want to be a nurse) and I want her to quit her job after I graduate from poly. What do you think I should do? If I go for a degree at NUS, will I get allowance/salary etc. ? I'm planning to work part-time too, to support my mother (since I want her to quit)

+ if I get into NUS Nursing, do I have to be concerned about school fees? Or is it sponsored by the government? I totally don't mind being bonded. I'd be thankful for that, since being bonded ensures me a job HAHA!

Thanks for having the patience to answer my questions in advance! (Please answer

Edited by Angel_

After I graduate from poly with a nursing diploma, should I go straight for NUS Degree/Advanced Diploma (Perioperative) from NYP/Work as a nurse before upgrading to a degree? Also, what do you guys think about the part-time nursing degree from SIT-University of Sydney? I'm very interested to work in the public health sector, because I think it'll give me a lot of satisfaction to have an occupation that lets you help people.

One of my major concern is my mother, her health isn't that great (part of the reason why I want to be a nurse) and I want her to quit her job after I graduate from poly. What do you think I should do? If I go for a degree at NUS, will I get allowance/salary etc. ? I'm planning to work part-time too, to support my mother (since I want her to quit)

+ if I get into NUS Nursing, do I have to be concerned about school fees? Or is it sponsored by the government? I totally don't mind being bonded. I'd be thankful for that, since being bonded ensures me a job HAHA!

Thanks for having the patience to answer my questions in advance! (Please answerð­ð­ð­)

these questions are better off if you ask the NUS directly, they have people more than willing to help you in various aspects than asking in a car forum.

Thread title is "I'm a nurse. Ask me anything about nursing" leh.

I think it's not wrong to ask NUS directly but don't just rely on what they say - they have different agenda from you as well.

for once, you have a good point and it's not cynical haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

nut yeah i agree.  I can give my views as I know the system well...hey, i'm in the field.....but let the head honcho nurse reply first

@angel_ u can pm me if you want for differing views

Edited by RadX

I was referring to the sponsorship part.

Thanks for having the patience to answer my questions in advance! (Please answerð­ð­ð­)

Hi angel_

Might not be able to answer all your questions but I will try.

1) Degree - higher qualification

Advanced diploma - specialist qualification.

Meaning that after graduation, if you wanna get a degree, go ahead. If you wanna get advanced diploma, assuming hospital will sponsor you, think carefully. Cos once you get the advanced diploma you are considered a specialist or expert already. It's not a title you want to have when you have no experience.

Example. You choose peri operative nursing. After graduation from advanced diploma you are expected to know how to assist in let's say brain surgery. You cannot say you don't know cos you are now a specialist and you can imagine the stress if you have never worked one day in OT but somehow you got the qualification. Advanced dip, when they train you, it is assumed you have experience. That is why when I did emergency nursing advanced diploma, nurses from private hospitals were super stressed cos they were expected to assist in resuscitation from day one of attachment but they have little experience since resuscitation is a rare occurance in private hospital but everyday thing in govt hospital.

2) NUS vs the rest for degree. Might be outdated but IIRC NUS only accept 'A' levels to their nursing program unless you are a scholar (I know of few scholars who went from poly to NUS). So usually to do a degree you do a part time degree in uni like Curtin. I need to stress this part cos you seem eager to go to NUS for your degree.

3) If you are doing a degree, you can get sponsorship. How it works I don't know cos I paid my way through degree. But to be sponsored you should be working in a hospital already cos there are a lot of applicants and if you have just joined, unlikely you can get it so fast unless again, you are a scholar or something. But i will say to get some experience first cos it's very tiring to go for lessons before or after shift duty and the last thing you want is to juggle studies with learning the work routine.

4) A bit wasted if you want to be bonded cos the best time to be bonded is when you were in poly.

Hope it helps.