I'm a nurse. Ask me anything about nursing

Philipkee

This is the one... 5 USD with a further 20% off now. Sadly with free shipping gone, not sure if it is still worth it for you to get one.

MABIS Spectrum Series Lightweight Nurse Stethoscope for Examining Kids and Adults, Orange, 30 Inch https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001CCIN90/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fkeDAbCNP3DNY

Can one get 6k without a degree? Do people with and without degrees get treated differently?

Think I shared that my MIL was a nurse before. Her pre-retirement salary should be less than 3k working as a supervisor in a home (non shift work).

Depends on context.

6k without a degree as a nurse? Yes. But that will probably be close to retirement salary cos even without a degree, the yearly increment should be there. But promotion prospects beyond senior staff nurse is slim. So you depend largely on yearly increment to hit 6k.

Do they get treated differently? No though people with degree will have the advantage of being more likely to be promoted.

Your MIL earning less than 3k as a nurse? Cannot comment as pay really vary. Same rank in different areas can be different. Like private vs govt. Nursing home vs tertiary hospitals...

What you mean TCM is BS.

If you believe in EBM here is the proof.

Qigong make you strong.

I would like to see a western doctor do this.

Its actually western medicine that is BS.

Western medicine cannot even cure the common cold.

Western medicine is all about chop this off and chop that off.

Western doctors are savages.

Sure next time u need help for a medical condition. Ask this guy penis to help you. Maybe insert into your mouth will make you strong and healthy.

This is the one... 5 USD with a further 20% off now. Sadly with free shipping gone, not sure if it is still worth it for you to get one.

MABIS Spectrum Series Lightweight Nurse Stethoscope for Examining Kids and Adults, Orange, 30 Inch https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001CCIN90/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fkeDAbCNP3DNY

Can one get 6k without a degree? Do people with and without degrees get treated differently?

Think I shared that my MIL was a nurse before. Her pre-retirement salary should be less than 3k working as a supervisor in a home (non shift work).

This type is quite similar to what we call the spirit locally. Can hear korokoff sounds already very good liao.

Sure next time u need help for a medical condition. Ask this guy penis to help you. Maybe insert into your mouth will make you strong and healthy.

This type is quite similar to what we call the spirit locally. Can hear korokoff sounds already very good liao.

Oh. No wonder I don't hear much - I thought I was just untrained.

Nevermind, next time I visit the GP I will take his when he ain't looking

Hahaha is that your professional medical prognosis?

@phillipkee May I just ask what is the correct procedure for inserting IV. I've seen quite a few nurses which I think do not have enough training for it.

Is it correct for them to wiggle the needle while it is still inserted to try and find the veins? This will cause extreme discomfort/pain and usually will have a very bad bruise.

Usually i'll just give and take that they should know more than me. But sometimes see my missus kena till like that pity her.

nope it's my solemn word as a fellow qigong practitioner  [thumbsup]

I am very happy to hear you practice qigong.

So not all Chinese medicine is BS?

@phillipkee May I just ask what is the correct procedure for inserting IV. I've seen quite a few nurses which I think do not have enough training for it.

Is it correct for them to wiggle the needle while it is still inserted to try and find the veins? This will cause extreme discomfort/pain and usually will have a very bad bruise.

Usually i'll just give and take that they should know more than me. But sometimes see my missus kena till like that pity her.

ideally of course is yi zhen jian xue. But veins can move about and very often, u entered beside it so u have to try to get back in lor.

If your wife's veins are small, then sometimes its also guessing time.

Not everyone can be as good as an anaesthetist or dialysis nurses whereby they have done these IV insertions thousands upon thousands of times.

It's a skill that seems like very easy but actually it can be extremely difficult in certain scenarios.

I don't think even anaesthetists can say i can insert an IV with one attempt 100/100 times. But well they got other options to find veins.

I am very happy to hear you practice qigong.

So not all Chinese medicine is BS?

I dunno enough about qigong to say it's not BS.

But I know one part of my body can get hard. Though it's not the neck/abdomen that can bend the spear.

That qualifies me as a qigong practitioner  [thumbsup]

Hi. A few points.

1) Please don't misunderstand. From what I know, SCDF does not hire nurses. I am there but I am seconded from MOH. It's different. And I am specialised in a specific area so it's not like you can apply there as a freshee nurse.

2) Hours are different in different areas. I suggest you start off with shift duty cos office hours work tend to be places you cannot learn much like clinics. OPERATING THEATRE is also office hours but you can learn a lot but it's very specialised so maybe not a good choice for a new passed out nurse (but some joined so it's not like definitely bad).

3) Not sure about good eyesight requirement for paramedics but yeah, with patient care you cannot afford to be blind in one eye. But wearing specs have never stopped anyone from joining. But I am guessing that very poor eyesight will mean lower pes status (like army) which affects your deployment as paramedics cos what I know is they must pass ippt also.

4) Foreigner and local tensions? Depends on where you work. Sometimes it's OK. Sometimes they gang up. Just make friends with all and don't form cliques and prejudices and you should be OK.

5) Career progression and pay is how you make it. Pay is slightly less than 6k after all allowances and after 17 years in the profession. A lot? Little? Up to you to think. And yes I have a degree. Rank wise not so important cos at the end of the day, nursing is about working on the ground.

Thank you so much for your prompt response! Your insights are really helpful. It's really amazing how you are so willing and dedicated in helping newbies like us, even 2 years after your first post in 2015. btw I think I sound quite confusing, but actually I am deciding between being a paramedic with SCDF or nursing in the hospital setting. So yea, if anyone else have any other insights I would really appreciate it as well. Thank you so much!

Wriggle probably for running vein.

As army medic we have to do 10 successful iv before we can pass out medic course. After that done more than 30/40 successful before ORD from reservist.

ideally of course is yi zhen jian xue. But veins can move about and very often, u entered beside it so u have to try to get back in lor.

If your wife's veins are small, then sometimes its also guessing time.

Not everyone can be as good as an anaesthetist or dialysis nurses whereby they have done these IV insertions thousands upon thousands of times.

It's a skill that seems like very easy but actually it can be extremely difficult in certain scenarios.

I don't think even anaesthetists can say i can insert an IV with one attempt 100/100 times. But well they got other options to find veins.

I dunno enough about qigong to say it's not BS.

But I know one part of my body can get hard. Though it's not the neck/abdomen that can bend the spear.

That qualifies me as a qigong practitioner [thumbsup]

Doc do you agree iv on front of foot much more easier than arm. Done only one on foot due to vein collapse on arm. Case heat exhaustion. All other times on arm...

Thank you so much for your prompt response! Your insights are really helpful. It's really amazing how you are so willing and dedicated in helping newbies like us, even 2 years after your first post in 2015. btw I think I sound quite confusing, but actually I am deciding between being a paramedic with SCDF or nursing in the hospital setting. So yea, if anyone else have any other insights I would really appreciate it as well. Thank you so much!

If you want to be a nurse, then go nursing school.

If you wanna be a paramedic, I would say go and sign on in scdf. They will train you then.

There are schools that teach you to be a paramedic (ITE ) but I personally don't suggest that cos, maybe it's me or my friends are biased, but ite trained paramedics are not "true paramedics".

You can find these people working in private ambulance (the emergency ones that go together with scdf for calls). Some ex scdf prm are also working there so standards are the same, though it also depends on who you talk to.

To be a nurse then sign on as paramedic is a waste of time cos you go through three years of training then an additional year or two to be paramedic and the pay about the same so it's not a career progression. Having said that, there are some of my friends who are nurses who actually left my ex dept to start anew as paramedic and so far they are doing well there...

I would say it's not correct but sometimes its unavoidable. Cos in THEORY it should be one shot one kill. In PRACTICE, sometimes it's not so easy.

Off topic a bit, sometimes we should keep fit, lift weights and all that. I don't though. Why? If you look at people who are fit (or who look fit, not necessarily the same thing), you realise their veins pop out. Easy to set iv.

After learning how to insert iv, I am not sure if only nurses do this and not doctors, everytime I go out, I see this girl or guy, old man or woman, if they walk by, I will notice their arms and hands and notice their veins. Then I will mentally classify "this vein easy to set, that one i will sure miss."

I am not fit but my veins pop out so I know I am safe (then got one nurse miss my vein I was like WTF but she chiobu so I keep quiet hahah).

Edited by Philipkee

Wriggle probably for running vein.

As army medic we have to do 10 successful iv before we can pass out medic course. After that done more than 30/40 successful before ORD from reservist.

Doc do you agree iv on front of foot much more easier than arm. Done only one on foot due to vein collapse on arm. Case heat exhaustion. All other times on arm...

Foot veins very easy to have phlebitis. They don't last. Max one day got to change liao. We don't usually bother with them for inpatients.

If you want to be a nurse, then go nursing school.

If you wanna be a paramedic, I would say go and sign on in scdf. They will train you then.

There are schools that teach you to be a paramedic (ITE ) but I personally don't suggest that cos, maybe it's me or my friends are biased, but ite trained paramedics are not "true paramedics".

You can find these people working in private ambulance (the emergency ones that go together with scdf for calls). Some ex scdf prm are also working there so standards are the same, though it also depends on who you talk to.

To be a nurse then sign on as paramedic is a waste of time cos you go through three years of training then an additional year or two to be paramedic and the pay about the same so it's not a career progression. Having said that, there are some of my friends who are nurses who actually left my ex dept to start anew as paramedic and so far they are doing well there...

Or go down the route like my army medical mate. Signed on as scdf after rod.

I would say it's not correct but sometimes its unavoidable. Cos in THEORY it should be one shot one kill. In PRACTICE, sometimes it's not so easy.

Off topic a bit, sometimes we should keep fit, lift weights and all that. I don't though. Why? If you look at people who are fit (or who look fit, not necessarily the same thing), you realise their veins pop out. Easy to set iv.

After learning how to insert iv, I am not sure if only nurses do this and not doctors, everytime I go out, I see this girl or guy, old man or woman, if they walk by, I will notice their arms and hands and notice their veins. Then I will mentally classify "this vein easy to set, that one i will sure miss."

I am not fit but my veins pop out so I know I am safe (then got one nurse miss my vein I was like WTF but she chiobu so I keep quiet hahah).

Those that carry weight also run a risk. Their arm muscle when tense up also very hard.

Talking about iv...I reckon those aunty at singapore blood bank..the best shooter in Singapore. One shot one kill. I love them. They can chat with you from childcare to gst...hahaha.

Latel singapore blood bank seeing less and less local aunty srn. Mostly foreign nurses. There was one an incident this foreign nurse need to topo after inserting on me. I know not right..from experiences. Just bear with it.

Foot veins very easy to have phlebitis. They don't last. Max one day got to change liao. We don't usually bother with them for inpatients.

I have only done one during active days multiple heat exhaustion cases. All other times on arm. Edited by Kopites

Does it affect my promotion and salary if i take too much sick leave as a staff nurse?

school holiday project?