I'm a nurse. Ask me anything about nursing

Philipkee

It happen too fast! No time to react.

After I'm done checkup I to go out to admin area but no sign of her....

So cannot complain without prove...

to be fair u should have asked to see hers.......U saw mine.....now must see yours.......wakakakaka.

U should gave shouted.....fei li....fei li...fei li har!

Edited by Eviilusion

You guys kns man...I'm serious ok! Lol

Are staff in purple uniform nurse trained or admin staff?

I know green one confirm nurse, and white ones with some variation are poly/ite interns.

Edited by Pocus

I respect nurses very much. This is a thankless job that doesn’t pay as well. I have seen on many occassions nurses being treated like high class maids rather than trained professionals. This job is shunned by locals and the foreigners who fill it have a hard time coping with the demands of local patients, especially the racist ones. Frequently exhausted and sometimes dishevelled after long hours on the job yet wins little rightful respect from those with a ghastly sense of self entitlement, nurses deserve more than they get now. But even with climbing medical costs, I don’t see prospectively much going to the nurses.

You guys kns man...I'm serious ok! Lol

Are staff in purple uniform nurse trained or admin staff?

I know green one confirm nurse, and white ones with some variation are poly/ite interns.

What does it matter? Nurse or admin staff, your modesty was outraged right?

Write in write in... I think you single guys should look at the possibilities of getting a nurse gf. Many of these girls are quite kind at heart and their threshold of endurance is very high; which means a lot of patience. And if your relationship develops, consider marrying her :P We need more people to feed the population shortfall.

I have seen a number of Chinese nurses, coming to Singapore, got a local bf and decided that she's not going back anymore. You know... a girl usually doesn't compliment another girl's appearance but I have to admit that some of them a quite pretty.

Write in write in... I think you single guys should look at the possibilities of getting a nurse gf. Many of these girls are quite kind at heart and their threshold of endurance is very high; which means a lot of patience. And if your relationship develops, consider marrying her :P We need more people to feed the population shortfall.

I have seen a number of Chinese nurses, coming to Singapore, got a local bf and decided that she's not going back anymore. You know... a girl usually doesn't compliment another girl's appearance but I have to admit that some of them a quite pretty.

I don't mind.....

But how will I explain to my wife?

Maybe this is trivial:-

Is there a national colour code for nurses' uniform? or different hospitals have their own code?

When i was warded last year, i saw different colours. [:)]

Some female nurses wear pants, some skirts also. Male nurses always wear pants.

u wan them to wear skirts, right...... [laugh]

For difference!

If it's nurse it's within her professional capacity to see me naked and cannot be complained.

For admin staff, it's considered harassment and it's breach of privacy.

But ok I'm a guy so forget it no big deal, it's a sexist world anyway.

But nurse are known to be very busy with shift work. Not a good start for a relationship since you have to match her off work timings to meet her.

That's why a lot of nurses end up with people in the same industry like doctors and fellow nurses.

But nurse are known to be very busy with shift work. Not a good start for a relationship since you have to match her off work timings to meet her.

That's why a lot of nurses end up with people in the same industry like doctors and fellow nurses.

It can be a advantage actually. U have off day when she is doing afternoon or night shift.

Yah I also want to know. SGH Wear purple uniform is nurse or admin?

Once I was in a checkup, nurse pull curtain ask me to strip. I stripping halfway with pants down and man exposed, a syt with purple uniform pull the curtain to look for nurse and saw me there front facing her.

She smile and say sorry and pull back curtain.

I feel like kena tikoed.

Lucky you neber flag raising ceremony...

That's where love comes in. If you love her, you will accept her for who she is. She's not going around having fun, she's working. So I cannot find any reason why it cannot be accepted.

Can u explain the various ambulance siren? Sometimes, lights on no sound. What does that mean?

I posted before but I will post here again.

The lights are called blinkers

The sound is the siren

If the lights are on, it means that the ambulance is either responding to a case or transporting a patient to the hospital buit not critically ill.

If the lights are on and the sirens are on, it means that the ambulance is transporting a critically ill patient (cardiac arrest)

Note: The sirens let the nurse in the emergency department that a standby case is coming. The sirens will be off though once the ambulance reaches near the hospital because of feedback that everyone knows it is a standby case already, no point disturbing everyone. It is very noisy, especially near a hospital where the sound can bounce off the HDB or even the ambulance porch.

If the ambulance with lights and sirens are on and suddenly pull to a stop at the road side, it means they are defibrillating a patient and what paramedics tell me is that when defibrillating, the ambulance cannot be moving.

That's where love comes in. If you love her, you will accept her for who she is. She's not going around having fun, she's working. So I cannot find any reason why it cannot be accepted.

Of course if you love a person, you will have to accept it.

But before loves comes into the picture, this could already be a no go for some people so they close off the possibility even before anything begins.

What is the best paying type of specialist?

When they insert the needle for drip or jab, there is sometimes a bubble, will it be harmful for the bubble to get in?

Best paying type I think u must ask the doctor.

Bubble wise, if it is small, should not nbe a problem. BUT WHAT IS SMALL? It gets tricky here so that is why it is important that all bubbles be expelled before fluids are given IV. You may read of maximum allowable limits but for me, no bubbles. that is safest.

Edited by Philipkee

Yah I also want to know. SGH Wear purple uniform is nurse or admin?

Once I was in a checkup, nurse pull curtain ask me to strip. I stripping halfway with pants down and man exposed, a syt with purple uniform pull the curtain to look for nurse and saw me there front facing her.

She smile and say sorry and pull back curtain.

I feel like kena tikoed.

SGH nurses wear beige colour uniform. Purple should be admin staff but I assume it is uniform and not scrubs.

BTW, this happens and that was why during NS days, I DIE DIE dun want to pee into a urinal even though I was giddy because I know it will happen. I was a student nurse pre NS ma so I know what can happen.

Accidents do happen. Dun take it too seriously. We are all doing our jobs. I have had my fair share as well but this is not the place to talk about them [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Philipkee

SGH nurses wear beige colour uniform. Purple should be admin staff but I assume it is uniform and not scrubs.

BTW, this happens and that was why during NS days, I DIE DIE dun want to pee into a urinal even though I was giddy because I know it will happen. I was a student nurse pre NS ma so I know what can happen.

Accidents do happen. Dun take it too seriously. We are all doing our jobs. I have had my fair share as well but this is not the place to talk about them [lipsrsealed]

What happens? Don't get you.

Firstly I want to also say that I have full respect for nurses / care givers (and social workers), it takes a lot to do it day-in-day-out with dedication, more than outsiders like me can ever fully know.

I think what the surgeon said is right, leadership sometimes is under-rated or its importance is sometimes buried under the cries of salaries being too high (I agree some salaries being paid to CEOs are ridiculous), but it really is very important for someone to pull the strings together, otherwise everyone is running around doing their own thing like headless chickens, with good intentions yes but ultimately not co-ordinated. So a good leader is important.

I have a question about hygiene. Again, no disrespect intended at all but I see that some nurses wear their uniforms when taking public transport. I think in the course of the work day, it may possibly be dirtied (say a patient coughed near the uniform) and given how many patients the nurses come into contact with, I think many a times it may not be clean. Do nurses go through some routine to 'clean' the uniform or themselves before leaving the hospital? Or else I dread to imagine how this practice may facilitate an outbreak (talking from the perspective of a layperson, thinking about how an outbreak may happen).

I think you have to ask all other health care workers including Dr. Did they change after work? The answer is mostly no. The problem is you don't know he or she is spreading germs when they are taking public transport.

At least nurses you can identified them but other health care workers you cant (not in uniform). That is even worse, right?