Beware of ACE travel Insurance

Angchug

I bought an annual travel insurance with ACE Insurance. During one of my trip. Beijing Airport was affected by Heavy Storm.

I was at 6pm waiting for my 8pm flt. Board the plane at 9pm and sat in the plane for 3 hrs.

At 12am we were told Airport is closed and all Flt cancelled. Please go and collect your luggage and a cancellation letter.

No other arrangement. Airport staff just tell you to get out of the airport. Bye Bye

I tried to make a claim for subway ticket and Hotel stay but was rejected.

It was just a small claim

ACE asked for all kind of proof and documentation.

How and Where to get a letter from the weather man?

How and Where to get a letter from the Chinese to state their reason for closing the airport.

Be careful if you guys planning to buy any travel insurance with ACE.

Just go the Airlines counter to get a letter to certify that the flight delayed til xxx time and xxx date.

Simple as that.

I done it before for SQ.

TS its a norm, be it ACE, liberty or QBE. I'm filling a claim today as well for a lost HP and QBE asked for

1. Submission of claims form

2. flight Booking itinerary

3. Insured person IC/ passport

4. overseas Police report

5. Hp purchase receipt.

and maybe still need more stuff and details.

When the unexpected happened we need to gather all those relevant info to file for claims. I'm sure they will honor the contract if we provide them with the necessary documents.

I bought an annual travel insurance with ACE Insurance. During one of my trip. Beijing Airport was affected by Heavy Storm.

I was at 6pm waiting for my 8pm flt. Board the plane at 9pm and sat in the plane for 3 hrs.

At 12am we were told Airport is closed and all Flt cancelled. Please go and collect your luggage and a cancellation letter.

No other arrangement. Airport staff just tell you to get out of the airport. Bye Bye

How and Where to get a letter from the Chinese to state their reason for closing the airport.

The cancellation letter they don't accept?

I was given a Flt Cancellation letter but Ace want

1) A letter to state why the Airport is closed

2) A letter to proof the weather

3) Why they don't arrange another flt

This is China Beijing Airport. Unlike Changi airport.

What can I do when the Chinese tell you to leave the airport after giving you the cancellation letter.

It's more like a war zone!

What can I do when the Chinese tell you to leave the airport after giving you the cancellation letter.

The 3rd letter harder to get i think, maybe u can email the flight company to ask them to provide u the necessary document mentioned above.

to me the flt canclx ltr suffice unless it's a multi-milion dollar claim.

The 3rd letter harder to get i think, maybe u can email the flight company to ask them to provide u the necessary document mentioned above.

email also can. just email the airline stating you require all of these. i think they can help. have claimed before as well. all insurers will require documentation bro.

Farking Insurance company again.... ask them if you want those document, they email to Chinese side to ask for it... if they can get.... you pay them instead.... knn... <_<

Documentation to claim insurance is a must, but i think asking for the "why the airport is closed" and "proof of bad weather" is abit too much..

sian i also bought ACE insurance for budget flight

documentation i know sure need but the request for the reasons sibei funny leh

1) A letter to state why the Airport is closed - bad weather

2) A letter to proof the weather - take picture meh? knn

3) Why they don't arrange another flt - bad weather

Letter of cancellation not enough meh?

I think ACE trying to be difficult.... unless TS misunderstood

Obviously too much! Even for those who are working inside the industry who have the connections, it won't be easy also.

Try asking around for quotations and you will know what I mean. Seems like many people not interested in doing business/sales. What more this is pure admin work with no revenue.

A bonafide flight cancellation letter is more than enough.

Documentation to claim insurance is a must, but i think asking for the "why the airport is closed" and "proof of bad weather" is abit too much..

Edited by Kangadrool

Ask them to read the farking China papers lor...

Airline will fly unless lan lan cos they too incur additional charges when they are delayed.

Stick with the bigger boys when it comes to travel ins.

But is your flight cancelled or delayed? If it's delayed, shd meet criteria then can claim. (eg: min 6hr or something like that)

As for lodging, it shd be airline covering you. But if fly lousy airlines, they may not provide. (FYI, some budget airlines like JetStar do provide)

Travel insurance only pay you for wasting your time.

Ask them to read the farking China papers lor...

Airline will fly unless lan lan cos they too incur additional charges when they are delayed.

Stick with the bigger boys when it comes to travel ins.

But is your flight cancelled or delayed? If it's delayed, shd meet criteria then can claim. (eg: min 6hr or something like that)

As for lodging, it shd be airline covering you. But if fly lousy airlines, they may not provide. (FYI, some budget airlines like JetStar do provide)

Travel insurance only pay you for wasting your time.

That being said, see whether you can find any online articles from Beijing newspaper regarding flight cancellations and weather on that day.

that's why...... so long there are document proof that the fight is cancel due to bad weather is good enough.... simi

1. proof of airport closed

ask them go ask the airport lar

2. letter to prove bad weather

ask them email to Rain God (say in Hokkien)

3. why never change flight

Nbccb, already say airport closed due to bad weather how to change flight.....

Hello TS, I have purchased travel insurance from ACE before and successfully made claims. Similar to your case, my flight (Korean Air) from JFK to SIN was delayed by 14 hours due to snowstorm. I was unable to obtain any form of official documentation or proof from anybody at JFK airport or the airline. Even after numerous emails to Korean Air, I was unable to get any form of useful documentations. Hence I went down to Korean Air's office to seek help from their staff. From there they were able to assist me and sent me the official documentations that I needed to make my insurance claims. Hence I would suggest you to go down to the local office of the airline that you took and seek help from them. From there hopefully they will be able to assist you. :D

Companies that sell insurance but make it very difficult

to claim better to buy their shares than their policies.

Anyone know if can buy Ace's shares? If can they will

be top of my list. The very top of the list.