Between Mazda 6 and Ford Mondeo...

Hi all bro,

Need your expert view.Which is better between the two mention rides?

Thinking of getting one.

Cheers :D:D:D

I thought this Fifth Gear review was rather neutral and gives a good summary of whether the Mondeo or the M6 is a better vehicle.

Quite clear which vehicle the show thought was worthwhile.

Edited by Charmet

Yes...facelift coming in a few months time.

Oh. I always thought this was the latest model. Look pretty fresh to me. Kudos to Mazda's designers.

I checked SGcarmart and this is a 2013 model, so fast gonna facelift liao.

No brainer choice for me - Mazda 6, for wallet friendly maintenance & reliability and the fact that it is 100% assembled in Japan, a rare find these days.

I thought this Fifth Gear review was rather neutral and gives a good summary of whether the Mondeo or the M6 is a better vehicle.

Quite clear which vehicle the show thought was worthwhile.

Mondeo in the youtube video is the old model though

Old model as in pre FL (but with same Eco boost engine). Same to Mazda. New FL Mazda should have 6 lines in the grill instead of current 5 lines.

I am also looking for a new ride before my old Mz6's COE expires mid this year.

I have shortlisted only these 2 cars (Mz6 and the Mondeo). Many of the others

(in their basic car) have far older engine technology and are being outperformed

by these 2 in terms of power and/or fuel consumption.

Leaving aside things like looks etc........ here are some things for comparison:

(Mz6 2.5 v. Mondeo)

Price: Mondeo is pricier. The top end 2.5 Luxury Mz6 is very slightly cheaper.

OMV: From my conversation with the sales people over the phone Mondeo

is quite a lot more; BUT, this definitely needs to be confirmed.

Road Tax: Mz6 (2.5L) is $500 per year more without the 2015 Budget rebate.

Power: Mz6 - 185 bhp; Mondeo - 237 bhp

Top Speed: Mz6 - 221 kph; Mondeo - 240 kph

0-100 kph: Mondeo is better.

Official FC: Mz6 - 16 km/l; Mondeo - 13 km/l (probably hard to achieve with

aircon on and heavy driving style)

Cabin space: Mondeo is better

Boot space: Mondeo is much better

Both have an electric sunroof which the popular brands don't have (except the

2.5 Teana)

Kerb weight: Mz6 is lighter.

From reading the reviews from the US and UK it also seems that the Mz6 has

slightly better handling. Strangely the comment is that the new 2015 Mondeo is

slightly worse than the previous model.

Reliability figures from the US and UK stats rate Mz6 above average and Mondeo

around average.

So, it is a tough choice. I will probably wait till nearer June before making up my

mind. Meanwhile I have 2 more months to collect data and comments.

Edited by Tbt001

Totally agreed. My mazda also start to give way after 7 or 8 years. Never repair a single part before. Every few month replace part due to wear and tear. Latest change is fuel pump that cost me ~$800. Read from Mondeo forum that it cost them $1.9k or with lobang can solve at 1.5k

Haha, think u will end up with a MZ6 2.5L or Q70 or maybe the new camry 2.0 if it does arrived in SG without being downgraded.

Who would care about handling when he is consistently left behind at the traffic light with no one to see how the car handles? :D

Power corrupts.... for a good reason!

Absolutely.

Power poison! Hmm poison power man!

Who would care about handling when he is consistently left behind at the traffic light with no one to see how the car handles? :D

Power too good,driver lousy also no use,more accidents. [furious][bigcry] Mazda 6's power[esp the 2.5] is more than enough.

Mazda 6 is ard $30K cheaper than Mondeo, so if cost is a factor than Mazda 6 as its still a very driveable car [thumbsup]

For me Mondeo, [thumbsup]

Turbo is shiok [thumbsup]

Design is swee [thumbsup]

Money NO SWEE only [:(]:D lol

I am also looking for a new ride before my old Mz6's COE expires mid this year.

I have shortlisted only these 2 cars (Mz6 and the Mondeo). Many of the others

(in their basic car) have far older engine technology and are being outperformed

by these 2 in terms of power and/or fuel consumption.

Leaving aside things like looks etc........ here are some things for comparison:

(Mz6 2.5 v. Mondeo)

Price: Mondeo is pricier. The top end 2.5 Luxury Mz6 is very slightly cheaper.

OMV: From my conversation with the sales people over the phone Mondeo

is quite a lot more; BUT, this definitely needs to be confirmed.

Road Tax: Mz6 (2.5L) is $500 per year more without the 2015 Budget rebate.

Power: Mz6 - 185 bhp; Mondeo - 237 bhp

Top Speed: Mz6 - 221 kph; Mondeo - 240 kph

0-100 kph: Mondeo is better.

Official FC: Mz6 - 16 km/l; Mondeo - 13 km/l (probably hard to achieve with

aircon on and heavy driving style)

Cabin space: Mondeo is better

Boot space: Mondeo is much better

Both have an electric sunroof which the popular brands don't have (except the

2.5 Teana)

Kerb weight: Mz6 is lighter.

Reliability figures from the US and UK stats rate Mz6 above average and Mondeo

around average.

So, it is a tough choice. I will probably wait till nearer June before making up my

mind. Meanwhile I have 2 more months to collect data and comments.

That's a good comparison list - the Mondeo 5 door (hatchback) boot space is hard to beat and the Mazda 6 looks small even in comparison to the 4 door Mondeo. I also thought the rear passenger space in the Mondeo was better, although I think Matt at Carbuyer disagrees, and he should know (he noticed a lack of headroom in the Mondeo).

In the cabin I felt the 6 looked a bit dated - the air vents in particular, the basic, plasticky glove box and I don't like the way the IT display pokes up on the dash. (I'm not usually picky about small details, but for a facelift I'd expect more.) You have to go to the top end 2.5 L model to get the Bose sound, paddle shift etc. But the 2.5L comes with a mandatory sunroof - which I would not opt to have in Singapore. In contrast the Mondeo moon roof option in the 5 door was popular with my kids. I think the Mondeo wins on interior overall (including rear passenger experience), but I might be in a minority there (esp. on this thread)!

On handling, I've driven both recently, both 2.0 L models. The steering on the 6 is better (in my opinion) as it is a bit heavier and has less play than the ridiculously light steering Mondeo. Neither is quite as good as the XF steering though, or the 520, from the class above. But after a day or so I'm sure you'd get used to whatever you'd chosen. Mazda ride is lower and a bit firm/bumpy at times (could be due in part to larger 19" rims) and had good pick up in sports mode, but was unexciting otherwise. As I recall I got a much bigger kick out of the Mondeo, although with some lag. This surprised me as the 6 is meant to be more about the fun and handling. I bet the 2.5 L is more in line with the Mondeo performance.

(This is all based on daily limited time with the cars, YMMV.)