Singapore No. 1 in Education

Spring

When you use the term "ECA", I would presume you have been out of touch of the system for a while. It is call CCA now.

There also seems to be a lot of angers and sweeping statements that can really incite emotions of those who did not do well in the system.

One of the main task of teachers is to complete the syllabus for examination. To differentiate the good and the bad, there is a need to use a bell curve. All is well and good if no one has tuitions, but some parents turn their child to private tutors in order for their child to raise up the bell curve.

In the long run, every parent who can afford private tuition got tuition for their child for the same purpose of raising their children higher up the bell curve.

Imagine as a teacher, every student score 100% for all papers for all tests and examinations, PSLE, 'O' Level, 'A' Level, Degree, etc. They have to simply adjust and raise the standards to make the bell curve work again.

So instead of targeting your anger at the system, you have to point back to the parents. If no one seeks private tuition, progress of learning will be slower and MOE will need to reduce or make the curriculum easier.

Testing, sieving, filtering, getting the best is a process that will never go away. Every elite organisation will want the best talents.

How do employers find out who is better suited for the job? They can't! Unless they set up their own internal test to test the prospective employees. I believe in prestigious colleges like Harvard and Oxford, they conduct their own entry examination because all the applicants come with straight As.

In most part, education system is not very effective in filtering the best minds but are extremely good at weeding out the incompetent ones.

this is the result of parents' S$1.2million poured into 3rd party or tuition classes on the students!!!

you think its MOE or this country's education system that draw this result......

it may be right in the early 90s, NOT anymore now!

the f$%k&^%g education systems applied in primary school nowadays is utter BS! whereby all topics are taught at 70%, and expect primary school kids to do research and analysis into that other 30% that will become test questions !!!

school management's focus is to excel their school's reputations thru' ECAs, popularities and politics within!

staffs spent most of the time in administrations, politics game and left with 30% in real teachings!

this is our education system nowadays!

and the ministers blaming its parents' mindset that spent on tuitions, in the hope that more failures from poor families to fill up the others non main streams colleges and schools! this facilitates more 'counsellors' jobs and similar $ spent by the MCYCs so as to build these portfolios for the ministers . . .

what a sham.

Edited by Pioneer

the gifted ones really do have quality of what you mentioned, i was brain drained talking to one of a close relatives (14 yrs old), beside trying to understand her, I admit i can't hold up to that kind of conversation for long, she said she is not the smartest in her class [sweatdrop]

maybe Amos was like that [sweatdrop]

XMM: Uncle, how come the govt allow fake degree people come in ah?

Lao nang: :sick::TT_TT::dizzy:

Like I had sugguested earlier, those who has problem with Singapore's education system are welcome to enrole their children to alternative "sham~less" school in Malaysia, and even local interational ones. [rolleyes]

what you're saying is macam like some ministar..

no money? go retire in m'sia!

It is not the government. She should be asking why the company is willing to employ someone with a degree from degree mill.

She must understand there is a slight difference between fake degree and unaccredited degree.

A fake degree is one that you buy and you are aware that it is fake.

An unaccredited degree is one when you still have to study for it, albeit the entry and passing requirements are questionably low.

XMM: Uncle, how come the govt allow fake degree people come in ah?

Lao nang: :sick::TT_TT::dizzy:

Agreed.

We need education to make us become entrepreneurs and not a "Yes" man ...

We need to ask more "Why" and "How" .... Then, we can have a nation of thinkers and entrepreneurs and this will create more businesses ...

funny thing everybody wants their children to have the best education,.....but when we have the best education system, everybody also got something to complain....funny no ? :D

interview people, reasonable start up salary with benefits (company car also hor), ....and opportunity to participate or even better carry on the business 'new generation way',.....all chow far far away.

need to ask more why and how,....ya, this one sure got one.......

they ask, why salary cannot higher and how come must work OT

for the likes these guys or girls for that matter, it's now that matters to them....must start big salary, 5 days work, great benefits and so on,.....how to get the young to see and go the distance ?

but admit sure got entrepreneur wannabes out there somewhere la,....but maybe must wait long long, maybe too long lor [:(]

moral of this all,....good education must come with good mind-set mah, otherwise come out like those who walk and eat banana type [sly]

funny thing everybody wants their children to have the best education,.....but when we have the best education system, everybody also got something to complain....funny no ? :D

interview people, reasonable start up salary with benefits (company car also hor), ....and opportunity to participate or even better carry on the business 'new generation way',.....all chow far far away.

need to ask more why and how,....ya, this one sure got one.......

they ask, why salary cannot higher and how come must work OT

for the likes these guys or girls for that matter, it's now that matters to them....must start big salary, 5 days work, great benefits and so on,.....how to get the young to see and go the distance ?

but admit sure got entrepreneur wannabes out there somewhere la,....but maybe must wait long long, maybe too long lor [:(]

moral of this all,....good education must come with good mind-set mah, otherwise come out like those who walk and eat banana type [sly]

You tokking about me? [bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry]

lol [laugh][laugh] ..., damn farking funny....still in the office must control my laugh, so no like no like

I think Vid is Amos Yee haha :grin:

• Praise 11

I think Vid is Amos Yee haha :grin:

I already said my banana is better than his :yeah-im-not-drunk: :yeah-im-not-drunk: :grin:

Don't choke on banana... very dangerous [laugh] [laugh]

Having a good education system is not good enough

To survive and compete with talents in the regions, it takes more than that

Eq is important so is being street smart, all these are not taught in school

Exposure is another important education piece

To have a board view on issues, Singaporeans should all be like Vid, grab the chance to work overseas

These people are highly sought after in the region, having regional management experience

Edited by Pinobii

Been in education for 20 years. Always remember, rankings is always subjective. What are the yardsticks used?

For eg, Finland has always been #1 for education. But this rankings talk about proficiency in Science and Math... of course we ace lar. :P If u talk about Innovation and thinking outta the box. Our kids will lose out.

Wait a minute. Where the hell is Malaysia? Who pride itself to be better than Oxford?

Singapore voted no. 1 in Education worldwide which helps propel us to be first world country.
Whilst I won't deny this is true, I'm just wondering what price we pay for achieving this.
Pressure on our children at a young age, streaming ie segregating the children by their results, book smart children etc. Interested to know what do you guys feel, worth it? Perhaps.......

Edited by Achtung

Fallacy that students cannot think out of the box. I have actual experience working with teenagers of various level. I think most cannot think out of the box but there are those who can.

Thinking out of the box is a relative comparison. Only a small no. of people can do so.

FT is needed because the are job sectors that no Singaporeans want to enter. If you are talking abt PMETs, them it is simply the fact that we have a strong currency. At a higher level management, it is abt networking, experience and unfortunately, skin colour. Certain skin colour are deem more reliable or smart.

There are a wide variety of education system in sg. We have the standard O, A Levels, diplomas, IB, specialised diplomas and schools offer unique niche programmes. Students coming from acsi are different from those who came out from hci, sports school or ri.

I said it before. Education in Singapore is like factory or macdonalds churning out workers. There is good and bad. Good because you get a continuous stream of workers who has the ability to work. Bad is because you get hordes of workers with similar skill set all vying for limited number of jobs. That's why FT still have a place in Singapore because we can't think out of the box.

Another fallacy. Why do u think that students are not taught EQ in school?

Schools are increasingly take over the role of parents. They are taught moral values, life skills, etc.

Do you know what is the biggest challenge with equiping students with those skills?

Parents.

Very often, students with warped values got them from their parentd.

Having a good education system is not good enough

To survive and compete with talents in the regions, it takes more than that

Eq is important so is being street smart, all these are not taught in school

Exposure is another important education piece

To have a board view on issues, Singaporeans should all be like Vid, grab the chance to work overseas

These people are highly sought after in the region, having regional management experience

The underlying principle of EQ is empathy.

To develop empathy and be sensitive to others, students have to experience and work with people from different cultural and financial background. Of course, after these interactions, there must be reflection of their feelings and thoughts about what they have seen and heard.

This is why they are sent overseas, working with elderly, people from poorer families, special needs students, etc.

The disclaimer is that all these can be undone by parents as well as the immaturity of the students.

How is EQ taught ?

Like I had sugguested earlier, those who has problem with Singapore's education system are welcome to enrole their children to alternative "sham~less" school in Malaysia, and even local interational ones. [rolleyes]

what you're saying is macam like some ministar..

no money? go retire in m'sia!

hahaha! exactly, he sounds like one......

that transport guy once said "for those who find the erp carhge is a burden, then maybe the possibilty is for them to shop on sundays instead . . . "

sigh . . .

this is the result of parents' S$1.2million poured into 3rd party or tuition classes on the students!!!

you think its MOE or this country's education system that draw this result......

it may be right in the early 90s, NOT anymore now!

the f$%k&^%g education systems applied in primary school nowadays is utter BS! whereby all topics are taught at 70%, and expect primary school kids to do research and analysis into that other 30% that will become test questions !!!

school management's focus is to excel their school's reputations thru' ECAs, popularities and politics within!

staffs spent most of the time in administrations, politics game and left with 30% in real teachings!

this is our education system nowadays!

and the ministers blaming its parents' mindset that spent on tuitions, in the hope that more failures from poor families to fill up the others non main streams colleges and schools! this facilitates more 'counsellors' jobs and similar $ spent by the MCYCs so as to build these portfolios for the ministers . . .

what a sham.

Your so call tution also is part of Singapore what, complaint si mi?

A true education is not just about teaching students to give the right answers.

A true education is about teaching them to ask the right questions.

Sadly, in Singapore, asking any kind of deeply probing or meaningful question is frowned upon.

you had to use that word with inference to @porker....tsk tsk

When you use the term "ECA", I would presume you have been out of touch of the system for a while. It is call CCA now.

There also seems to be a lot of angers and sweeping statements that can really incite emotions of those who did not do well in the system.

One of the main task of teachers is to complete the syllabus for examination. To differentiate the good and the bad, there is a need to use a bell curve. All is well and good if no one has tuitions, but some parents turn their child to private tutors in order for their child to raise up the bell curve.

In the long run, every parent who can afford private tuition got tuition for their child for the same purpose of raising their children higher up the bell curve.

Imagine as a teacher, every student score 100% for all papers for all tests and examinations, PSLE, 'O' Level, 'A' Level, Degree, etc. They have to simply adjust and raise the standards to make the bell curve work again.

So instead of targeting your anger at the system, you have to point back to the parents. If no one seeks private tuition, progress of learning will be slower and MOE will need to reduce or make the curriculum easier.

Testing, sieving, filtering, getting the best is a process that will never go away. Every elite organisation will want the best talents.

How do employers find out who is better suited for the job? They can't! Unless they set up their own internal test to test the prospective employees. I believe in prestigious colleges like Harvard and Oxford, they conduct their own entry examination because all the applicants come with straight As.

In most part, education system is not very effective in filtering the best minds but are extremely good at weeding out the incompetent ones.

for God's sake, you expect a primary school kids to go & do research on the rest of that 30% that was not covered by his/her teacher to sit for the test !??? categorising a kid incompetent by testing him on that 30% which is not taught!

and then covering it up with a hypothesis bell-curve rule for justifications?

there seems to be ignorance to those w/o the experience of parenthood that incites this 'smart' syndrome of applying hypothesis and quoting academias just to support a theory irrelevantly.

I guess if your son (if you have any) tell you one day:

" teacher taught me a, b, c but tested me on x, y, z..... I dinno coz I'm not taught, so I failed "

and your reply is . . .

" son, this is how it works . . . no need to cover the rest coz its a bell curve. its just too bad you are at the common curves which below the rest lohhhh! dun blame anyone! and I'm not supposed to provide you tuition to cover those that are not taught but tested..... just let the teachers continue to teach in this manner..... 70% covered is good enuff!

and your next reply to him . . .

" next time, when you start working..... dun bother to pick up that 30% not told or taught to you even when you are appraised on that! remember that bell curve? just take it that you are at the bottom half..... "

[thumbsup] . . .