Takata airbag recall

mcf

It's a logistical nightmare that nobody wants to address. Airbag part itself is part of the cost. Labour cost varies from car to car. Labour cost is often associated with time taken to do the job and who does the job. My suggestion is to go JB replace if you have the lobang.

if this PI is big, maybe the fella who took your call is one of the SEs who may not be familiar with such cases. did you manage to check with the higher-ups in the PI?

btw, which PI ah?

Hmmm...

Can ADs do the repair, given if you are willingly to pay more for the safety?

Now for part 2, which changes my impression of another dealer, in the other direction.

I bought a G9 Corolla in 01. Not a pleasant experience. So impression of BM was not good.

Then when my PI told me they don't bother about COE cars, even though I'm the only owner, I googled Toyota (it's a Wish) and found a website on this recall. Wrote in, and got a reply in 1-2 days.

Toyota Japan (I assume it's Japan) has forwarded my enquiry to BM, and BM actually sent me an email to ask for my contact no. to get in touch with me. The lady told me that even though my car was not bought from them, but they have arrangement with Toyota Japan to deal with it. She asked for my chasis no. and year bought, etc. and promised to get back to me soon, as they had to follow up with Japan to check and confirm whether my car was affected.

Now that was a pleasant surprised and unexpected one. I would have thought they would take the chance to say: see lah, buy from PI so you go jiak kar ki  [smash]

The only problem was the wait from then on, took about 3-4 weeks - which was very long given that BM contacted me almost immediately initially. I was anxious and sent a reminder, before she got back on it.

She confirmed that after checking with Japan, my car was not involved in the recall, so that was the end of it.

So it was a roller-coaster ride:

my experience over the years - BM started bad, but turned good. PI (the one i bought from) started good but turned bad.  [laugh]

Don't need to be disheartened. Borneo motor send me a recall letter for my vios due to scratch in 4/5 months. Alerting me and the when stock available will notify me for repair. Brought the car in may 06. Receivedo the letter Jan 16.

You said lah..

My neighbour subarea impresa due to scratch next year April. Last week he received a recall letter for MI.

You said leh!

If any of the abve AD reading and claiming fault news...I am waiting for you with your recall letter. If subaru I will get the letter from my neighbour. Borneo I am still holding on to the letter for memory sake. Knn

I think ADs need to give face to their principals/brands so is duty-bound to do something with the cars on the road, as should anything happen to any car, that brand will be affected, so the brands themselves also want to avoid negative news. And some of the brands (like Toyota as i mentioned above) will even ask the ADs to help deal with PI cars for the same reason. Cost-wise, I'm not sure whether Toyota will foot the bill, or will PI car owners have to pay.

For the PIs, as they do not get their cars directly from the brands, but get them through dealers in Japan, there is no such connection, meaning:

1) The brands cannot force (in a certain sense, blackmail) the PIs to see through recall/rectification or else stop supplying cars to them.

2) The brands also cannot foot the bill for the rectification by the PIs, which I believe should be the case for the ADs.

It is not big in terms of showroom space. But one that has been around probably the longer/longest time, and I would say have (or had) a pretty good reputation. We bought it from them at that time, as the SE was, in my wife's words, the 'most honest' car salesman we had come across till that time. He's probably still unmatched till now, in terms of honesty. It's a pity that he - in his words having worked there 6 yr when we bought the car from him, he was the most junior SE there - didn't survive the period that LTA cut COEs drastically and all car dealers (esp. PIs) had to shed staff to cut costs... The company survived though.

Nope, didn't pursue further with them beyond that.

Let's just say it can be seen along the main road outside Auto Megamart. If it's really that one black sheep not knowing the facts, then i don't want to spoil their reputation here. But if really interested, PM me  [laugh]

haha no worries... i think can guess from your description  [sly]

I need some help here.

In Feb this year, Kah Motors send me a letter to replace the inflator on my Accord. My wife went to get it done and it was a 20 mins job. When she returned I was surprised and asked why not the entire SRS control unit, because that's what I read is being replaced in the US. 

Just last week, my airbag sensor lit up and I send the car for a diagnostic. The failure was "SRS control unit fail".

I rang up Kah Motor and they got a specialist to speak to me, who insist the inflator and SRS control unit are "separate issues". I beg to differ.

So my question is did any agents skimp on the recall and merely replace the inflator unit, when the entire SRS control unit could be compromised, bearing in mind in the US, the Honda website issues recall for the entire SRS control unit.

In Singapore, we consumers have weak lobbyist for us. This means I probably have to pay out of my own pocket if I want safety in this car that I am driving.

My car is a 2007 Honda Accord from Kah and I have it renewed COE.

I need some help here.

In Feb this year, Kah Motors send me a letter to replace the inflator on my Accord. My wife went to get it done and it was a 20 mins job. When she returned I was surprised and asked why not the entire SRS control unit, because that's what I read is being replaced in the US. 

Just last week, my airbag sensor lit up and I send the car for a diagnostic. The failure was "SRS control unit fail".

I rang up Kah Motor and they got a specialist to speak to me, who insist the inflator and SRS control unit are "separate issues". I beg to differ.

So my question is did any agents skimp on the recall and merely replace the inflator unit, when the entire SRS control unit could be compromised, bearing in mind in the US, the Honda website issues recall for the entire SRS control unit.

In Singapore, we consumers have weak lobbyist for us. This means I probably have to pay out of my own pocket if I want safety in this car that I am driving.

My car is a 2007 Honda Accord from Kah and I have it renewed COE.

Cannot compare to USA lah, we are in Singapore leh ..... 

I guess Kah did the minimum required. 

my experience with Japanese cars scattered like rotten tomatoes on the rubbish chute after recalls and defects which AD said its part of spec...

to hell with all the Jap cars... im done with u....

went korean

my experience with Japanese cars scattered like rotten tomatoes on the rubbish chute after recalls and defects which AD said its part of spec...

to hell with all the Jap cars... im done with u....

went korean

Bro

What makes you think that Komoco will serve you better than Kah?

Their margins are even lower... 

Bro

What makes you think that Komoco will serve you better than Kah?

Their margins are even lower...

margin lower doesn't mean fk up service..

speaking from experience...

owned almost all brands of jap car except Suzuki n Daihatsu (infiniti n lexus diff league yea) haha

anyway i think Japanese manufacturers r slowly losing it..... too complacent

Another Takata airbag fatality, wonder why this owner didn’t get it fixed or probably he wasn’t aware of the recall? RIP

Many Honda cars get sold many times over and the contacts become untraceable. PI cars may never get a recall too.