SIA flight to Shanghai had temporary loss of power in both e

Enye

much closer to home this time. [sweatdrop]

SINGAPORE - Passengers on a Singapore Airlines (SIA) flight bound for Shanghai on Saturday had a bit of a scare when both engines experienced a temporary loss of power amid bad weather.
The incident occurred at 39,000 ft about 3.5 hours after Flight SQ836, operated by an Airbus A330-300, left Changi Airport.
"Both engines experienced a temporary loss of power and the pilots followed operational procedures to restore normal operation of the engines" said the airline's spokesman.
The flight with 182 passengers and 12 crew on board continued to Shanghai and touched down safely at 10.56pm local time, he added.
The engines were thoroughly inspected and tested upon arrival in Shanghai with no anomalies detected.
SIA is reviewing the incident with engine maker, Rolls-Royce and Airbus.

much closer to home this time. [sweatdrop]

SINGAPORE - Passengers on a Singapore Airlines (SIA) flight bound for Shanghai on Saturday had a bit of a scare when both engines experienced a temporary loss of power amid bad weather.
The incident occurred at 39,000 ft about 3.5 hours after Flight SQ836, operated by an Airbus A330-300, left Changi Airport.
"Both engines experienced a temporary loss of power and the pilots followed operational procedures to restore normal operation of the engines" said the airline's spokesman.
The flight with 182 passengers and 12 crew on board continued to Shanghai and touched down safely at 10.56pm local time, he added.
The engines were thoroughly inspected and tested upon arrival in Shanghai with no anomalies detected.
SIA is reviewing the incident with engine maker, Rolls-Royce and Airbus.

Read this news this morning and it send chills down my spine. They found no problems with the engine which makes me wonder if SIA will use the plane for the return flight? :o[:/] [:/]

Bad weather really can caused lots of problems while plane is flying up there!

Edited by 13177

Read this news this morning and it send chills down my spine. They found no problems with the engine which makes me wonder if SIA will use the plane for the return flight? :o[:/] [:/]

Another report said they did

😨

Airbus oso use DSG ah?........

JAmes Page come scold you then you know

when you have 3 major conglomerates from 3 different nationalities - German, French and Brits with 3 totally different kinds of traits, working to piece up one airplane, you know what you are getting...

oppps....... [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed] .

Edited by Soya

Don't need James Page, when got some VW loser fan dislike your post as anonymous and give comments as "........"

Can't even type out the reason properly, must be the DSG in his head got problem.

Toothiewabbit, on 27 May 2015 - 11:42 AM, said:

I hate travelling on Airbus...but sometimes bobian..... [sweatdrop]

What's wrong with airbus?

when you have 3 major conglomerates from 3 different nationalities - German, French and Brits with 3 totally different kinds of traits, working to piece up one airplane, you know what you are getting...

dun comprain abt airbus lah.

would u rather fly this next time?........ [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

You may fly on a Made-in-China aircraft sooner than you think

http://www.cnbc.com/id/101409883

Scary especially for some who takes this flight!

I don't like Airbus, Boeing is better

The new batch of Airbus purchased around 2 years back already like quite old and noisy, not as good as Boeing ones

For 2 engines to die simultaneously, it is usually nothing related to the engine itself.

The possible outcome are:

Lose of fuel feed to the engines

Weather conditions (not enough oxygen in the engines to ignite the fuel)

It seems that upon initial checks in Shanghai the aircraft exhibit no mechanical issues plus the engines managed to be reignited at lower altitude. This points to me with weather as the likely cause but then we have to wait for investigation report.

Previous simultaneous loss of both engines are due to aircraft running out of fuel or the aircraft flying into volcanic ash clouds which results in engine dying due to lack of oxygen to ignite the fuel mix.

• Praise 11

Wonder if they made an announcement to the passengers or just restart and keep quiet.

If both main engines shut down suddenly, does the APU kick in immediately? Can the on board batteries power all the electrics? Wondering if in such a case, do the lights dim, TV screens go off etc.