Robot before Speed Camera on Upper Thomson Road

Jjchsg

LTA has just newly installed a Robot on Upper Thomson Road just before the new speed camera. The robot is actually waving a stick to catch your attention so that you will slow down before the speed camera!

robot2_zps9mjmqbv3.jpg

Edited by Jjchsg

It's a dummy man used in road works to warn motorists instead of using expensive Blanglahs. Cheaper, faster and betterer as what our ministars preached. But, it can give you a nasty fright at night. [bigcry]

Whoa hahaha.,,

LTA where got so ho si....

usually they will grow more trees there to conceal the camera and the speed signage .......

dun think they will pay to this, unless some kind citizens pay out of their own pocket..hahahaha

LTA has just newly installed a Robot on Upper Thomson Road just before the new speed camera. The robot is actually waving a stick to catch your attention so that you will slow down before the speed camera!

A lot of times, speed camera's aren't just for the financial gain. Maybe on that stretch of the road, there has been higher levels of speeding... fatalities even. So a camera's purpose there is not just to catch speeding drivers... it's also to slow drivers down... have them more alert.

Long time ago, worked in a small port near Bordeaux, France for a year... In the highways there, they have a couple of ways of reminding drivers of fatal accidents.

1) life sized cutouts of people... the numbers standing by a spot on the road denotes the number of deaths there due to an accident.

2) sometimes... a severely crushed vehicle is left on a pedestal to remind you.

You can't help but drop your speed when you see that macabre black cutout.

Whoa hahaha.,,

LTA where got so ho si....

I really believe it is from LTA. First, LTA put up a big sign telling people there is a new speed camera. Next, they put bright orange strip on the two camera. Now, the robot. There are two, one for each direction, both are about 150m before the camera. Behind the robot, there is a big lead acid battery powering the robot's arm. Maybe a trial to see if this slow down the drivers. In the upper Thomson road stretch, before the camera, many car go at 90-100km/h. I don't know if there was any serious accident before.

I take this road now and then, also saw this "model" and there is also another one on the opposite direction. But I did not see any construction work going on, very strange indeed.

Anyway, most motorists knows about this camera and always slow down before it and usually to well below 70.

For me, I would usually set my speed limiter to 73 and pickup speed instead. So far no problem .... shiok !!!

Edited by Lotr

I use that road daily. Actually, I find that it helps because it got my attention and I always know that I will be approaching a camera and thus will slow down a bit... But indeed, I got a fright about 2 times liao, while driving at night....

I just wonder how @Jjchsg came to know that "Behind the robot, there is a big lead acid battery powering the robot's arm" ............

I really believe it is from LTA. First, LTA put up a big sign telling people there is a new speed camera. Next, they put bright orange strip on the two camera. Now, the robot. There are two, one for each direction, both are about 150m before the camera. Behind the robot, there is a big lead acid battery powering the robot's arm. Maybe a trial to see if this slow down the drivers. In the upper Thomson road stretch, before the camera, many car go at 90-100km/h. I don't know if there was any serious accident before.

Must be GE coming ... LOL ...

btw the bright orange strip is the new standard look for the new cameras...

I use that road daily. Actually, I find that it helps because it got my attention and I always know that I will be approaching a camera and thus will slow down a bit... But indeed, I got a fright about 2 times liao, while driving at night....

I just wonder how @Jjchsg came to know that "Behind the robot, there is a big lead acid battery powering the robot's arm" ............

there are 2 robots.

once u pass the one facing u, notice the other robot facing the other direction. look at the foot of the "man" and u will see some big car battery behind the man's foot

also, the arm will only wave when u approach. so it has "sensors"

I don't see any dummy waving his arm leh.

Hahaha,,,

This one you must go parliament and see.