Road Hog on PIE

Lotr

Damn pissed today. entered PIE via Clementi Ave 6 towards airport and managed to move to Lane 1, then noticed the cars ahead of me, about 5 of them, was moving at 75~80kmh.

As we continue along the expressway, I managed to see the road hogger but unfortunately as it was evening peak time, Lane 2 was also quite jam, so no choice had to follow him all the way until Toa Payoh then managed to undertake the hogger. Bloody fool is damn inconsiderate!!!

Damn pissed today. entered PIE via Clementi Ave 6 towards airport and managed to move to Lane 1, then noticed the cars ahead of me, about 5 of them, was moving at 75~80kmh.

As we continue along the expressway, I managed to see the road hogger but unfortunately as it was evening peak time, Lane 2 was also quite jam, so no choice had to follow him all the way until Toa Payoh then managed to undertake the hogger. Bloody fool is damn inconsiderate!!!

u already say peak hour, how fast you wanna go?

what was the car distance between the hogger and front car?

u already say peak hour, how fast you wanna go?

what was the car distance between the hogger and front car?

The joker is keeping about 3 car lengths between him and the car in front. People from lane 2 are moving in front of him several times.

Frankly, when I on the road, I would like to be as fast possible within safety limits of course. Really can't stand these jokers who thinks they can drive at any speed they want

There are so many hogger threads already.

And he's pissed. Mods see liao also pissed. LoL....

Calling ppl inconsiderate, how ironic.

2-3 cars length = road hog

1 car length = tailgate (chain collision)

very tough to drive in spore leh ... lol

The joker is keeping about 3 car lengths between him and the car in front. People from lane 2 are moving in front of him several times.

Frankly, when I on the road, I would like to be as fast possible within safety limits of course. Really can't stand these jokers who thinks they can drive at any speed they want

Based on your 75 to 80 kmh speeds, the 'joker' should be keeping about 4.5 to 5 car lengths and not 3 car lengths (check your highway code). However, if it's peak hour, I'm not sure where you expect him to go seeing as all lanes would be pretty full.

Just cut TS some slack. Peak Hour Frustration. I feel the same when driving in heavy traffic and seeing how cars on my left are passing me or staying alongside me, then when I look ahead to see someone driving with a 3-4 cars length spacing.

It gets worse when you see that spacing gets used by cars on the left, cutting in and then moving forward, overtaking, but the 'hogger' is still driving 'slowly'.

If in front of him 2-3 cars distance is not called road hog la dei

If in front of him 50m above no car then that is called road hog

I ever experienced that in AYE. First car travelling 85kmh. In front of him no car.

Eventually i am in the 10th plus car behind him also kena hogged. There were also few cars behind me.

Because of one guy, 10 plus cars cannot go faster. Moreover lane 2 quite crowded so abit hard to overtake as cars behind hogger following closely

i guess we cannot take spore expressway as "highway"

because the expressway is merely main roads connect different estate and surburb to city

unlike in big countries like germany, australia, japan which i have had good driving experience recently ...

1st lane or fast lane is 100% for overtaking ... period.

even you travel at 160-180-200kmph and if you are not overtaking ... you use the inner lane

outer lane is purely for overtaking and immediately signal in after overtaking [thumbsup]

i guess we cannot take spore expressway as "highway" because the expressway is merely main roads connected to different estate

unlike in germany, australia, japan which i have had good driving experience recently ...

1st lane or fast lane is 100% for overtaking ...

even you travel at 160-180kmph and if you are not overtaking ... you use the inner lane

outer lane is purely for overtaking and immediately signal in after overtaking [thumbsup]

Our expressway too many curves and exits too near with each other. Where got exits located close to each other like less than 2-3km.

In other countries, expressway exit located quite a distance from one another

Imagine travelling 160-180kmh in sg road, i am sure many would miss the exit or worse last minute exit

actually my point is

regardless you travel how fast or the exit is within 2-3 km

but this is not "practical" for spore

the common bad habit in spore is while approaching the exit (less than 500m) ...

the car is still in lane 1 and start slowing down .... slowly changing to lane 2 ... lane 3 .... then exit

slow down all the lanes ... super classic AYE clementi ave 6 exit .... :pissed-off:

after clementi ave 6 exit ... can see all lanes sibei smooth ...

Can travel 75 to 80 km/h during peak hour , in a densely populated city of 6 million , is macam in paradise liao .

Bangkok , KL , Jakarta , Manila or even Penang , you will be happy if you can average 20 km/h .

2-3 cars length = road hog

1 car length = tailgate (chain collision)

very tough to drive in spore leh ... lol

and in between other cars will change lane and squeeze in!

actually my point is

regardless you travel how fast or the exit is within 2-3 km

but this is not "practical" for spore

the common bad habit in spore is while approaching the exit (less than 500m) ...

the car is still in lane 1 and start slowing down .... slowly changing to lane 2 ... lane 3 .... then exit

slow down all the lanes ... super classic AYE clementi ave 6 exit .... :pissed-off:

after clementi ave 6 exit ... can see all lanes sibei smooth ...

Stupid LTA simply not thinking to widen the turning lanes into Ave 6 - all the vehicles got to slow down (almost one vehicle at a time instead of 2) because there is a artificial constriction with narrower than normal lanes just at the sharp turning point into Ave 6. Vehicels going straing to Hong Leong also got to pass through here when there is plenty of room down the road to create a separate exit.

Stupid LTA are you reading this? :yuush:

Bro I use the PIE from Serangoon to Jalan Bahar every morning and back. I can understand your situation... if I tio stuck from Bahar, its hong kan liao. will get stuck till toa payoh.....damn road hoggers. I had one going only at 65 kmh. Oh yes, a woman.

Yawn.

So your 10km trip, say, which you presumably expect to drive at a constant 90kph, takes a whopping 80 seconds longer at 75kph. You probably spend longer parking at your destination, queuing at traffic lights or waiting for a lift. And that's not even taking in to account the increased probability of not arriving if you get frustrated and try to move through traffic faster than the prevailing flow rate.

Singapore ppl very hard to please.

Take MRT, say MRT very squeeze.

Drive, a lot of road hoggers on the road.