Van owner passed away, how to continue using it?

Hachi

Hi All,

I got a problem, the owner of the van I am driving now had passed away which was my late father.

I have checked with LTA, I can still drive as long policy still under the estate of (vehicle' owner) while preparing the documents for transfer.

How do I get the letter or any identification of being an estate of the deceased owner for my next insurance renewal?

From LTA or a lawyer firm and how much will it cost me?

The van left 2 years with no loan and the COE cost my dad $86 for a 10 years renewal in 2017. So even I scrape it, I will get not more than $20 or so.

Please advise thanks.

First,you must have the letter of probate to indicate that you are the person that had been granted to take over the estate. A lawyer will be able to apply on your behalf as they will write to all organisation eg: banks, CPF, HDB and etc to gather all the asset of the deceased. WIth the letter of Probate, head to LTA to make the transfer and the van will be under your name. So key is the letter of probate. Please take note, if the deceased did not make any normination, the default person is the spouse. In this case, your mother.

Edited by LoverofCar

Hi All,

I got a problem, the vehicle I am driving now had passed away which was my late father.

I have checked with LTA, I can still drive as long policy still under the estate of (vehicle' owner) while preparing the documents for transfer.

How do I get the letter or any identification of being an estate of the deceased owner for my next insurance renewal?

From LTA or a lawyer firm and how much will it cost me?

The van left 2 years with no loan and the COE cost my dad $86 for a 10 years renewal in 2017. So even I scrape it, I will get not more than $20 or so.

Please advise thanks.

Sorry for your loss.

You got your father's death cert? Go to any police post to make a report. Use the copy and bring it to LTA to do the transfer.

Van should be registered under your dad's company. So you must get a copy of the company bizfile(company business profile)

https://www.psi.gov.sg/NASApp/tmf/TMFServlet?app=MYBIZFILE-SHOP-CART&version&D&AT=OUT&isNew=true&Reload=true&AN=PP01

Pay around $5 for the copy. You will need your father's singpass.

Your dad left a will? It will be easier if he did so. Otherwise you will have to find a lawyer and run errands.

Sorry for your loss.

You got your father's death cert? Go to any police post to make a report. Use the copy and bring it to LTA to do the transfer.

Van should be registered under your dad's company. So you must get a copy of the company bizfile(company business profile)

https://www.psi.gov.sg/NASApp/tmf/TMFServlet?app=MYBIZFILE-SHOP-CART&version&D&AT=OUT&isNew=true&Reload=true&AN=PP01

The problem is the van was brought in 2000 era where it can be used a private vehicle. I checked with LTA, I would need company profile to do transfer. As the van left 1. year 9 months left, I am thinking it till the end.

Edited by Hachi

Sorry for your loss.

I don't think just a death cert will allow a transfer of ownership as a car is still considered as an asset of the deceased. So all come under the estate distribution..

First,you must have the letter of probate to indicate that you are the person that had been granted to take over the estate. A lawyer will be able to apply on your behalf as they will write to all organisation eg: banks, CPF, HDB and etc to gather all the asset of the deceased. WIth the letter of Probate, head to LTA to make the transfer and the van will be under your name. So key is the letter of probate. Please take note, if the deceased did not make any normination, the default person is the spouse. In this case, your mother.

Is it possible to use it without the letter of probate. i dont really care about the transfer as long as I can use it. And value of vehicle is less than $20, I believe the letter will cost thousand.

LTA replied I can still use the vehicle as long as there is an insurance coverage. How do I get over this renewal? As long I have the policy renewal, I can go for inspection and pay the rd tax and continue to use.

I ask 2 insurance agents each give me different answer. I am thinking even I dotn want to drive and scrape it, I foresee a problem as well.

The problem is the van was brought in 2000 era where it can be used a private vehicle. I checked with LTA, I would need company profile to do transfer. As the van left 1. year 9 months left, I am thinking it till the end.

Whether you want to deregister, sell or scrap you will still need the company profile documents to do it. If the company is still running just leave it alone. Vehicle insurance is using company name and any driver coverage. I suggest you update the company business profile to your name or any of your family member. It will be easier for you if you want to make any changes.

go acra website register a company lor. very cheap only

Is it possible to use it without the letter of probate. i dont really care about the transfer as long as I can use it. And value of vehicle is less than $20, I believe the letter will cost thousand.

LTA replied I can still use the vehicle as long as there is an insurance coverage. How do I get over this renewal? As long I have the policy renewal, I can go for inspection and pay the rd tax and continue to use.

I ask 2 insurance agents each give me different answer. I am thinking even I dotn want to drive and scrape it, I foresee a problem as well.

if the van is under company registration and the company is still running. I guess you won't face much issue. If it is a personal registration, I will still recommend you do the transfer as in future, any insurance claim, summon or fine. The authorities still need a party to direct such documents or need the owner for settlement. Without the letter of probate, how to prove to LTA that you are supposed to become the rightful owner of the van? If so, any of your family can also go and claim the van......upon a person deceased, all his asset will come under estate management. So a letter of probate is needed to claim ownership as it act as a authorization,.

Edited by LoverofCar

I suggest you sell it to used van dealer if you do not have a company to register to. The old law of private registration has been void. LTA wouldn't let the van be transfer to your name. Look for Abwin pte ltd.

Maybe the used van dealer also don't want. Best is ask LTA whether can deregister. Use the police report to show them that the private owner of the van has passed on. See what they say.

Sorry for your loss.

Your dad left a will? It will be easier if he did so. Otherwise you will have to find a lawyer and run errands.

SG very efficient one. Once the person passed, singpass access will be voilded. Unless there is a different from a van to a car, LTA need the grant of probate. Of it is urgent, can produce the letter from the law firm and letter of indemnity plus one other doc I can't quite remember, think is dead cert.

Police report no use de

Edited by Earthboy

I don't think just a death cert will allow a transfer of ownership as a car is still considered as an asset of the deceased. So all come under the estate distribution..

in this case vehicle becomes asset.. all along vehicle to me is a liability...haha

Aside , sorry to hear the lost of a love one. please be strong. take care.

in this case vehicle becomes asset.. all along vehicle to me is a liability...haha

Thanks. But in this case the Van was fully paid 10 years ago. So I just need to maintain the insurance,rd tax and cp not including the consumables. I have check with one insurance agent it can be done, I guess 19 months later I got problem to deregistered the vehicle.

This path, everyone must go through for the lost of a love one.

Hopefully by then, the deluge of COE will bring down the price of car to a reasonable level.

Edited by Hachi

hello....condolences to TS lah...not me...my father sell salted egg moons ago liao.... [laugh]

SG very efficient one. Once the person passed, singpass access will be voilded. Unless there is a different from a van to a car, LTA need the grant of probate. Of it is urgent, can produce the letter from the law firm and letter of indemnity plus one other doc I can't quite remember, think is dead cert.

Police report no use de

correct...letter of probate will make all transaction quickly. If TS mother is the person granted to admin the probate. transfer the van name to her first then again to TS....

hello....condolences to TS lah...not me...my father sell salted egg moons ago liao.... [laugh]

correct...letter of probate will make all transaction quickly. If TS mother is the person granted to admin the probate. transfer the van name to her first then again to TS....

ops paisei.. my wrong...

Police report no use de

You are quite cute. If you dun make a police report with the death cert how is the police going to inform all government organisations and void the dead person singpass?

I have done it for my FIL before. It's one of the must do things after one's passing. You are the only one I came across who said no use de. LoL...

You are quite cute. If you dun make a police report with the death cert how is the police going to inform all government organisations and void the dead person singpass?

I have done it for my FIL before. It's one of the must do things after one's passing. You are the only one I came across who said no use de. LoL...

If the death occurs in the hospital. The police will already been informed when IC was being surrendered and death cert to be issued.