2 dead, 5 injured in fire at house near Kovan

Mustank

http://news.asiaone.com/print/news/singapore/2-dead-5-injured-fire-house-near-kovan

20150609_fire_wb_0.jpg
Tuesday, June 9, 2015 - 09:47
AsiaOne

SINGAPORE - An early morning fire razed a two-storey house along Parry Ave in Yio Chu Kang on Tuesday morning.

Two people perished in the blaze and five other people were injured.

RELATED STORIES
  • 2 dead, 3 injured in Geylang fire
  • 4 Malaysians killed in Geylang hostel fire
  • Maid arrested over fire at employer's flat

{C}

According to a report by Lianhe Wanbao, there were a total of 10 occupants in the house when the fire broke out. The two dead victims were the wife of the house owner, who is a businessman, and a middle-aged Caucasian man, who was a business partner with the latter.

Five others, including two men, two women and a child were sent to hospital for smoke inhalation.

The fire was believed to have been caused by a short circuit, which led to an electrical appliance in the house catching fire.

At the time of the fire, there were six people on the second storey of the house, including two children, aged 10 and 8.

The house owner, his son, daughter-in-law and an older grandson managed to escape the fire. His younger grandson, who was with a maid at the back of the house, was saved when she jumped through a window to escape.

The house owner's wife was found in a toilet on the second floor, while the male victim was found on the second floor.

Two other occupants, the house owner's 80-year-old father and another maid, were on the first floor at the time of the fire. They managed to get out with help from firemen.

In a statement, the Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) said they were alerted to the fire at about 3am at No 6A, Parry Avenue off Yio Chu Kang Road.

SCDF dispatched three fire engines, three ambulances, three Red Rhino and six support vehicles. Upon their arrival, they found the fire had engulfed the whole house and had penetrated through the roof.

SCDF officers used four water jets to penetrate the burning house, while two additional jets were also deployed to prevent the fire from spreading to adjacent unit.

The fire was brought under control within half an hour, and was fully extinguished at about 4.30am.

Photo Gallery:
Click on thumbnail to view photos. Source:
The Straits Times, SCDF
fire1.jpg?itok=gcZrE1VD
fire2.jpg?itok=Do4mErx6
fire3.jpg?itok=dqcEqiG_
fire5.jpg?itok=wddx0imW
fire4.jpg?itok=hxSzVsHV
fireyck_14.jpg?itok=ZHoPbdA3
fireyck_15.jpg?itok=wva0MVRc
fireyck_01.jpg?itok=sIU0Kg8N
fireyck_02.jpg?itok=GJxBBuHy
fireyck_03.jpg?itok=TL_AWXHh
fireyck_04.jpg?itok=xNyGZb5l
fireyck_05.jpg?itok=Pms1oas6
fireyck_06.jpg?itok=tASFbqeJ
fireyck_07.jpg?itok=B_16avCw
fireyck_08.jpg?itok=Z89K6OAT
fireyck_09.jpg?itok=_5w5c-Oj
fireyck_10.jpg?itok=uOIhgOA8
fireyck_11.jpg?itok=Mk-2BMgY
fireyck_12.jpg?itok=tqSloMLZ
fireyck_13.jpg?itok=bqy6UW2o
View more

Six occupants had evacuated themselves prior to the SCDF's arrival. The firefighters also aided two other occupants, which included an elderly man, out of the burning house.

Two bodies were found on the second floor of the house, said SCDF.

The five casualties were conveyed to Singapore General Hospital for treatment, while one of the firefighters was taken to Tan Tock Seng Hospital for heat exhaustion.

The heat must be very intense.

Last time my neighbour house caught fire which was about 50m from our house.

Can really feel the heat from that distance.

Read about this yesterday.

Fire started on 1st floor, so only the ahgong and one maid was on 1st floor.

Hence rest had to jump from 2nd floor to the porch.

Then the gate was not moveable cos it's electric and the fire started from an electrical source.

The wife of the owner and his business partner who was lodging with him died.

Landed house, so many windows.

Why can't escape?

Hide inside toilet with wet towel and use water to cool yrself.

Unlike, high rise building (HDB or Condo), jump out of the windows also difficult.

Unless these two elderly have difficulties in moving around.

Rip.......

Landed house, so many windows.

Why can't escape?

Hide inside toilet with wet towel and use water to cool yrself.

Unlike, high rise building (HDB or Condo), jump out of the windows also difficult.

Unless these two elderly have difficulties in moving around.

Rip.......

Smoke inhalation kills most fire victims. U may already be suffocating even before the fire reaches u.

U think water helps ar when u have no oxygen. [hur]

Hiding in toilet works in movies

Smoke inhalation kills most fire victims. U may already be suffocating even before the fire reaches u.

U think water helps ar when u have no oxygen. [hur]

Hiding in toilet works in movies

Hiding in toilet can be done.

I watched in a movie (Kingsman: The secret service) that you can get air if you stick a tube (try your shower hose) down the toilet bowl past the u-bend....

Not tested by me but folks are welcome to try it out if they are desperate enough [laugh]

The smoke from the fire is choking and inhaling lots of smoke + lower oxygen content due to the fire, is bound to make you woozy and disoriented.
Your ability to think will be severely impacted.

That's why fire in enclosed spaces is deadly.

When u hear about fires killing scores of people in nightclubs or what, most of them die from smoke inhalation. Most of them are dead or dying even before being actually burnt.

Hiding in toilet can be done.

I watched in a movie (Kingsman: The secret service) that you can get air if you stick a tube (try your shower hose) down the toilet bowl past the u-bend....

Not tested by me but folks are welcome to try it out if they are desperate enough [laugh]

😂😂😂 you can also deploy chute 300ft from the ground and still land safely and on target

there are some "paperbags" to put over your head that supposedly can tahan 30 mins of smokes. Not sure if those are really useful and effective.

The smoke from the fire is choking and inhaling lots of smoke + lower oxygen content due to the fire, is bound to make you woozy and disoriented.

When u hear about fires killing scores of people in nightclubs or what, most of them die from smoke inhalation. Most of them are dead or dying even before being actually burnt.

😂😂😂 you can also deploy chute 300ft from the ground and still land safely and on target

lol no spoiler :D

Yes most of those found dead in public premise, usually found near the exit and caused of death probably, will be smoke inhalation.

If by fire could be cause by backdraft, this would happen when oxygen level became low and starving the fire as well as victims.

When anyone managed to open the exit door, fresh supply of air will cause a huge combustion spontaneously.

lol no spoiler :D

At least I did not reveal that he f*cked the Danish princess at the end of the show 😂😂😂

I can understand there were quite some numbers of fires coming off short circuits in the former days where regulations were somewhat loose,....

but how come short-circuit fires still possible for this home ? don't look like very old leh...........

and won't the breakers in the house trip on a short-circuit ?.........even then there are also main breakers mostly at the gate pillar cabinet. :huh:

Read about this yesterday.

Fire started on 1st floor, so only the ahgong and one maid was on 1st floor.

Hence rest had to jump from 2nd floor to the porch.

Then the gate was not moveable cos it's electric and the fire started from an electrical source.

The wife of the owner and his business partner who was lodging with him died.

the auto gates I know of can still operate manually, mostly with a key which lifts the drop-pin.......then just push open, more effort with sliding gates.

if panic, take the car key and drive through the gates lor, ..just like what we always see in the movies, afterall its matter of life and death, ..........less easy to drive through sliding gates.