Medical appointment

Blacksnow

Hi, need some advice here.

My father in law saw a doctor at TTSH recently and doctor suspected he has a tumour.

Doc arranged for a biopsy in Sep.

My wife didn't accompany him to the doc so she doesn't know what exactly the doctor said. She called the hospital but they said they can't reveal patient's info.

So now my wife wants to know how serious this is and isn't comfortable waiting for another 2 months for a biopsy.

What options does she have?

How can she get more information from the TTSH doc?

If go to private, will it be very fast to do a biopsy?

What private clinics can she go? Mount E or Raffles medical all seem very expensive.

oncologist all not cheap.

tbh. if really very serious, they won't let him wait 2 mths.

i would suggest you just hang tight and don't over think matters. may not be as serious as feared.

My father in law saw a doctor at TTSH recently and doctor suspected he has a tumour.

My wife didn't accompany him to the doc so she doesn't know what exactly the doctor said. She called the hospital but they said they can't reveal patient's info.

So now my wife wants to know how serious this is and isn't comfortable waiting for another 2 months for a biopsy.

What private clinics can she go? Mount E or Raffles medical all seem very expensive.

i would suggest you just hang tight and don't over think matters. may not be as serious as feared.

thanks.

How do you think my wife can get more info from the doctor?

Make another appointment? but that itself will take a month at least.

If it is urgent, they will ask you to proceed immediately, and for appointment in Sep, i guess they only suspect. Even if you ask them, they can't confidently tell you what it is.

I guess your wife can still revisit TTSH together with her dad to clarify.

Even if authorised by the patient? Strange to me considering the amount of elderly patients they handle on day to day. Not all can command good english or understanding of medical terms. Thought they will be flexible in revealing information to immediate family members...

thanks.

How do you think my wife can get more info from the doctor?

Make another appointment? but that itself will take a month at least.

hmm.

doc himself don't know hence ask to go for test.

she talk to him, he also cannot tell you anything.

besides, you're wife is also not medically trained. tell her details she also wouldnt understand.

doubt the doctor will tell anything without any confirmation

Any MRI or other scans done?

There should be a report. If you can't understand the report then maybe you can consult another doctor to help you...

In February, my neighbourhood doctor ask me to do blood test on GGT. The number came out was 200 (Normal lever is around 50).

In March, i went to polyclinic to see doctor further testing. The appointment for ultrasound & blood test is in April.

In April, after all test is done, polyclinic doctor told me there is cyst on my liver according to ultrasound. At that point of blood test, my GGT drop to 100. Polyclinic refer me to SGH. The appointment was 2 months later in June.

Come June, SGH liver specialist said it is normal. But being kiasu Singaporean, he will sent me for CT Scan and blood. He will see me 1 month later.

Yesterday, Liver specialist told me nothing to be alarm.

Moral of the story, if it is serious, it will not wait 2 months.

going to private may set u back by at least thousands with all tests they will suggest the patient to do

If the issue needs long term follow up, it's better to stick to govt/restructed hospital as it is more affordable

You can try calling th hospital to request for an earlier appointment or try another govt/restructured hospital instead of going private

^ QFT.

I went for a feedback session at a hospital after my surgery. One of the other patients was complaining that her appointments took very long. Another got his appointments / checks immediately.

The one who got it immediately, said that it's better to wait.

Afterwards, some board members of the hospital group did a short explanation, long story short: waiting is usually good. The one that's rushed through all the procedures... That's the guy you got to pity.

Go to private hospital for the test. Just the test. It might cost a thousand.

then go back to TTSH with the report.

You can get appointment immediately. Maybe next day.

Or, you can try going back to TTSH and tell the doctor you want to go B1 and A class.

They will arrange the test for you within 2 days.

All the best.

Will like that one meh, go down with her father together and make a little noise lor. Should be able to get details...where got like that one, can't even know the medical info of parents???

.......As the hospital's utmost priority is to respect patient's confidentiality, we regret to inform you that we are unable to reveal information regarding patient's condition via email or telephone......

unquote

.......As the hospital's utmost priority is to respect patient's confidentiality, we regret to inform you that we are unable to reveal information regarding patient's condition via email or telephone......

unquote

i believe this is true and they cannot be sure who are they dealing with on the phone not to mentioned email.

also quite difficult to explain over the phone when the doctor cannot recall without retrieving the record, it is always better to discuss face to face.

As it should be. Anyone can pretend to be the daughter/son for someone.

Unless they see u in the consult room with no protest on the patient's part, then that is implicit consent that u can be privy to the information.

Anyway no procedure/biopsy done, what can the doctor tell you?

A simple biopsy (as in the pathologist reading the specimen in the lab) alone costs $>200-300

Not to mention the procedure fees incurred by the person doing the biopsy.

In govt hospital should be significantly subsidised.

Tell your wife to go with him to the next appointment. Best solution.

If really worried, go Pte and get it done within the week.

^ QFT.

I went for a feedback session at a hospital after my surgery. One of the other patients was complaining that her appointments took very long. Another got his appointments / checks immediately.

The one who got it immediately, said that it's better to wait.

Afterwards, some board members of the hospital group did a short explanation, long story short: waiting is usually good. The one that's rushed through all the procedures... That's the guy you got to pity.

I think the fellow who got to wait one should give the guy who was rushed through a big hug man [:/][crazy]

Haha, I went through A&E a few times, fracture only. I also thought the same, why my wait is so long? My fractured hand hurts!

Until this sharing session, then I realised, the next time I need to go through medical stuff, I'll rather wait. =D

Can wait 2 months, means 2 months I should still be alive, but a little in pain (maybe).

i searched for "medical appointment" and this is what I found ...does not really cover my question but here it goes;

how do you guys go for your medical appts when you are working ? for my coy, we basically use our annual leave to go for the appts as coy does not give time-off.

what about you guys ?