Better router or wifi extender

Stratovarius

Currently using the router provided by SH. Coverage is not very good and unable to receive any signal in MBR. Planning to get an android TV in MBR so gonna do something about the router. Router is in the living rm so any recommendation for router that is able to cover MBR? Saw quite a few Asus in Challenger. I'm not really keen on wifi extender though.

Solid concrete wall attenuate the signal by a huge amount. That being said, my Asus AC68 router is able to give 2 to 3 bar signal on my tablet from the living room to the kitchen toilet, with one concrete wall in between.

Edited by Ender

Better buy a LAN cable from router to bedroom. Confirm good signal.

wah....best suggestion......no drop in signal strength somemore....😂😂😂😂

Buying a better router can sometimes be a futile exercise. If the walls are thick enough, the signal drop will be significant, which even the best routers cannot overcome.

For wireless repeaters, buy a dualband one, so that you can use one band to link to the master router, and the other band for your clients to connect. This way, there will not be the bandwidth halved problem when using single band repeaters.

I'm using this model at home, you can find at it Challenger, very good value for money.

http://www.dlink.com.sg/product/ac1200-wireless-access-point/

wah....best suggestion......no drop in signal strength somemore....

aside from wires running along the floor, ceiling hahaha [laugh]

Better buy a LAN cable from router to bedroom. Confirm good signal.

Inexpensive and a good solution. [laugh]

Edited by Holdenutessv

You live in one of the newer HDBs?

Your house might already have LAN cables installed in the wall socket... Just need to do some modification.

Actually, most of the newer condos also should have it.

Inexpensive and a good solution. [laugh]

It is the best solution. If TS wants to stream movies on his Android TV, he needs a good connection. Wifi just cannot make it.

aside from wires running along the floor, ceiling hahaha [laugh]

can hack floor.....hide the ugly wires......hahaha.😂😂😂😂! I thought there was already another thread about using repeaters?

You live in one of the newer HDBs?

Your house might already have LAN cables installed in the wall socket... Just need to do some modification.

Actually, most of the newer condos also should have it.

inside I think is cat6 wire

woohoo!!!! eternet power!!!!

TS: to check, open up the telephone port in the room,

2 screws only

then see the wire connecting to the telephone port

if you see 8 small different colour wires inside one thicker wire

looks like this

you can shout huat ah!!!! [laugh]

you just strike cat 6 wire jackpot

you can cable up the whole house and enjoy your farm liao [sly]

step4.jpg

if really got 8 wires like this one

you just need to buy the female keystone from amazon (US$2)

and a punchdown tool (US$12)

I strongly recommend:

1) Best alternative: run eternet cables (now is cat 6 most cost effective)

but you need to check whether your telephone ports in the rooms are actually eternet wires (I am using cat 6 and eternet wire interchanagebly. cat 6 is the current cost effective standard for eternet wire)

2) 2nd choice: run eternet wires from router to room direct

but dammn ugly

3) powerplug solutions

4) range extenders (worse solution)

Edited by Mustank

Buying a better router can sometimes be a futile exercise. If the walls are thick enough, the signal drop will be significant, which even the best routers cannot overcome.

For wireless repeaters, buy a dualband one, so that you can use one band to link to the master router, and the other band for your clients to connect. This way, there will not be the bandwidth halved problem when using single band repeaters.

I'm using this model at home, you can find at it Challenger, very good value for money.

http://www.dlink.com.sg/product/ac1200-wireless-access-point/

I bought a new ac router even though I have bgn router

knn, only increase range by a mere 20%, waste my money

I am using this for one of my rooms because no way can lay wire to that room

but good enough to support 3 units of 1080p IP cctv

Bro, recommend homeplugs with caution. Sometimes they don't give good throughput if the wire quality is bad. I had one pair which worked in my old place, but give crap performance at my current place.

Then I tried buying another pair to add on. Worse, it interfered with the existing pair, and both gave very crap throughput. Luckily I managed to exchange the new pair for another wireless product.

I bought a new ac router even though I have bgn router

knn, only increase range by a mere 20%, waste my money

That's why I said lay LAN cables. Not enough ports on router can just buy a cheap switch. Don't waste time on those technology.

Bro, recommend homeplugs with caution. Sometimes they don't give good throughput if the wire quality is bad. I had one pair which worked in my old place, but give crap performance at my current place.

Then I tried buying another pair to add on. Worse, it interfered with the existing pair, and both gave very crap throughput. Luckily I managed to exchange the new pair for another wireless product.

heh heh I using tplink mini 500 or something like that

the lan lan alternative to lan cable

but heng, can use

That's why I said lay LAN cables. Not enough ports on router can just buy a cheap switch. Don't waste time on those technology.

the most run lan cable outside the house window [laugh]

Ask you guys, where to get phone-Ethernet adapter like this...

I know Amazon is selling but locally does anyone sell? Like Element14?

41x3cJ89ZcL.jpg