Singapore Problem Gambling

Watwheels

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/problem-gambling-60-more/1982730.html

The increase is due partly to greater public education efforts, which have raised awareness on problem gambling and encouraged help-seeking behaviour, says Minister for Social and Family Development Tan Chuan-Jin.

Yeah right. IMO this is just a tip of the iceberg. I will point out why later.

SINGAPORE: The Thye Hua Kwan Problem Gambling Recovery Centre and the National Addictions Management Service (NAMS) at the Institute of Mental Health saw 1,000 more cases of problem gambling in the last three years compared to the three-year period prior, Minister for Social and Family Development Tan Chuan-Jin said in Parliament on Tuesday (Jul 14).

Mr Tan said the two key service points for treatment saw a combined total of 2,700 cases between 2012 and 2014 - almost 60 per cent more than the number seen between 2009 and 2011.

“The increase is due partly to greater public education efforts, which have raised awareness on problem gambling and encouraged help-seeking behaviour,” he said.

Responding to questions by MP for Holland-Bukit Timah GRC Christopher de Souza, Mr Tan said that the two institutions are available to help problem gamblers and their families, adding that Thye Hua Kwan treats less serious cases, while NAMS also sees to the more severe pathological gamblers. There are also other private and non-funded community and religious organisations offering similar services, he added.

On the types of counselling used to help gamblers “break out of the vicious cycle”, Mr Tan said the treatment plan for each problem gambler varies depending on the severity of his addiction: “It usually involves a combination of counselling and different types of therapy, conducted on an individual or group basis.

"Psychiatric services may be extended for the more severe pathological gamblers. Financial and legal counselling services, where necessary, are also extended to help the problem gambler and his family cope. Recovering patients are encouraged to join support groups for longer term support.”

While tackling the "complex" issue of problem gambling requires the combined efforts of personal responsibility, family involvement, community involvement and government support, the Minister highlighted that the family is “often in the best position” to detect signs of problem gambling in their loved ones and assist them in seeking treatment.

“Studies have shown that treatment works best if the problem gambler is accompanied by family members,” he said.

Mr Tan also spoke of community support, saying that more Family Service Centres have stepped up efforts to train their counsellors and social workers to provide the first line of counselling and assistance when meeting families faced with problem gambling issues.

Now we look deeper to see more of the iceberg I mentioned earlier.

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/some-cabbies-seeking-bets-not-fares

It's Friday evening and it has just started to drizzle. You try to book a taxi, but find there are none available.

It is frustrating but not really surprising - it is a known fact that demand for cabs skyrockets when it rains and on weekend nights, including Fridays.

However, besides demand spikes, there is a lesser known contributor to the dearth of cabs when you need one: gambling cabbies.

Industry observers estimate 5 to 10 per cent of taxi drivers are habitual gamblers.

Checks at carparks of the two integrated resorts reveal a sizeable number of parked cabs - often during peak demand hours for them. On horse-racing days - Fridays and weekends - carparks at satellite betting centres are also filled with taxis.

There are 10 such centres here, and the most popular one is in Bukit Merah. A recent check revealed more than 50 parked cabs there between 6pm and 7pm on a Friday.

I have been to the old HDB HQ in Bukit Merah on a Friday evening before and couldn't find a spot to park...now I know why.

Said Neo Nam Heng, chairman of the Prime group of companies, including Prime Taxi: "This is the worst problem of taxi drivers. And there's no rule to stop them."

Prime Taxi general manager Eric Ang said: "Gamblers do not only miss rental payments, (but) they are not meeting service requirements too.

"Their mentality is strange - instead of making money during the peak period, they'd rather gamble. Some of them will say: 'If I win, I will win more than the rental.' "

Premier Taxi managing director Lim Chong Boo said: "It is not a new problem, and it has worried us a lot all this while."

Trans-Cab general manager Jasmine Tan said gambling is one of the top causes of drivers missing rental payments, "but so are drinking and womanising".

"We try to help them by giving them a repayment scheme. But if they don't follow it, we terminate (their services)."

A ComfortDelGro spokesman said gambling is not a major problem, but that it is keeping a close watch on the situation.

The phenomenon is no comfort to commuters, who complain that it is often hard to find a cab even though Singapore has the highest taxi population per head among developed cities.

There are 5.2 cabs per 1,000 residents here, compared with 3.3 in London, 2.6 in Hong Kong and 1.5 in New York.

The situation is such that commuters are now choosing parallel taxi services on apps such as Uber and GrabTaxi - even when the cost of a ride is often much higher than that of a conventional cab.

Human resource consultant Alex Yew, 43, once saw close to 100 cabs in a carpark where a Singapore Turf Club betting centre is located. He said: "That was just one carpark - there are three carparks in the vicinity. If you multiply that by the number of betting centres around the island, it is a significant number of cabs.

"So I can understand why people feel that's it's difficult to get a taxi during peak hours."

The Straits Times talked to a couple of cabbies at the Resorts World Sentosa carpark earlier this month on the condition of anonymity.

Said one of them, a 40-something SilverCab driver: "It's my first time here. I've been to Las Vegas, Macau and Perth, but I've not been here."

Asked why he was visiting a casino when it was peak period for fares, he replied confidently: "I'm only driving part-time. I work in a logistics firm, I work 15 days, I get 15 days off.

"So I thought I'd drive a cab when I'm off. When I'm not driving, I'm with my family. We've a three-year-old, so I can't come here when I'm with them."

Another cabby, with leading operator Comfort, denied that he was there to gamble.

"I am here to meet friends for dinner," the 50-something said as he was getting back into his taxi in the VIP section of the carpark just before 6pm.

"I was in the area, so I thought I'd call them to meet up for dinner."

This fellow lie also can't lie w/o picharing his own lobang.

I am sure other people have also heard of hawkers closing due to gambling problem also, not just taxi drivers.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/problem-gambling-60-more/1982730.html

The increase is due partly to greater public education efforts, which have raised awareness on problem gambling and encouraged help-seeking behaviour, says Minister for Social and Family Development Tan Chuan-Jin.

Yeah right. IMO this is just a tip of the iceberg. I will point out why later.

SINGAPORE: The Thye Hua Kwan Problem Gambling Recovery Centre and the National Addictions Management Service (NAMS) at the Institute of Mental Health saw 1,000 more cases of problem gambling in the last three years compared to the three-year period prior, Minister for Social and Family Development Tan Chuan-Jin said in Parliament on Tuesday (Jul 14).

Mr Tan said the two key service points for treatment saw a combined total of 2,700 cases between 2012 and 2014 - almost 60 per cent more than the number seen between 2009 and 2011.

“The increase is due partly to greater public education efforts, which have raised awareness on problem gambling and encouraged help-seeking behaviour,” he said.

Responding to questions by MP for Holland-Bukit Timah GRC Christopher de Souza, Mr Tan said that the two institutions are available to help problem gamblers and their families, adding that Thye Hua Kwan treats less serious cases, while NAMS also sees to the more severe pathological gamblers. There are also other private and non-funded community and religious organisations offering similar services, he added.

On the types of counselling used to help gamblers “break out of the vicious cycle”, Mr Tan said the treatment plan for each problem gambler varies depending on the severity of his addiction: “It usually involves a combination of counselling and different types of therapy, conducted on an individual or group basis.

"Psychiatric services may be extended for the more severe pathological gamblers. Financial and legal counselling services, where necessary, are also extended to help the problem gambler and his family cope. Recovering patients are encouraged to join support groups for longer term support.”

While tackling the "complex" issue of problem gambling requires the combined efforts of personal responsibility, family involvement, community involvement and government support, the Minister highlighted that the family is “often in the best position” to detect signs of problem gambling in their loved ones and assist them in seeking treatment.

“Studies have shown that treatment works best if the problem gambler is accompanied by family members,” he said.

Mr Tan also spoke of community support, saying that more Family Service Centres have stepped up efforts to train their counsellors and social workers to provide the first line of counselling and assistance when meeting families faced with problem gambling issues.

Now we look deeper to see more of the iceberg I mentioned earlier.

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/some-cabbies-seeking-bets-not-fares

It's Friday evening and it has just started to drizzle. You try to book a taxi, but find there are none available.

It is frustrating but not really surprising - it is a known fact that demand for cabs skyrockets when it rains and on weekend nights, including Fridays.

However, besides demand spikes, there is a lesser known contributor to the dearth of cabs when you need one: gambling cabbies.

Industry observers estimate 5 to 10 per cent of taxi drivers are habitual gamblers.

Checks at carparks of the two integrated resorts reveal a sizeable number of parked cabs - often during peak demand hours for them. On horse-racing days - Fridays and weekends - carparks at satellite betting centres are also filled with taxis.

There are 10 such centres here, and the most popular one is in Bukit Merah. A recent check revealed more than 50 parked cabs there between 6pm and 7pm on a Friday.

Said Neo Nam Heng, chairman of the Prime group of companies, including Prime Taxi: "This is the worst problem of taxi drivers. And there's no rule to stop them."

Prime Taxi general manager Eric Ang said: "Gamblers do not only miss rental payments, (but) they are not meeting service requirements too.

"Their mentality is strange - instead of making money during the peak period, they'd rather gamble. Some of them will say: 'If I win, I will win more than the rental.' "

Premier Taxi managing director Lim Chong Boo said: "It is not a new problem, and it has worried us a lot all this while."

Trans-Cab general manager Jasmine Tan said gambling is one of the top causes of drivers missing rental payments, "but so are drinking and womanising".

"We try to help them by giving them a repayment scheme. But if they don't follow it, we terminate (their services)."

A ComfortDelGro spokesman said gambling is not a major problem, but that it is keeping a close watch on the situation.

The phenomenon is no comfort to commuters, who complain that it is often hard to find a cab even though Singapore has the highest taxi population per head among developed cities.

There are 5.2 cabs per 1,000 residents here, compared with 3.3 in London, 2.6 in Hong Kong and 1.5 in New York.

The situation is such that commuters are now choosing parallel taxi services on apps such as Uber and GrabTaxi - even when the cost of a ride is often much higher than that of a conventional cab.

Human resource consultant Alex Yew, 43, once saw close to 100 cabs in a carpark where a Singapore Turf Club betting centre is located. He said: "That was just one carpark - there are three carparks in the vicinity. If you multiply that by the number of betting centres around the island, it is a significant number of cabs.

"So I can understand why people feel that's it's difficult to get a taxi during peak hours."

The Straits Times talked to a couple of cabbies at the Resorts World Sentosa carpark earlier this month on the condition of anonymity.

Said one of them, a 40-something SilverCab driver: "It's my first time here. I've been to Las Vegas, Macau and Perth, but I've not been here."

Asked why he was visiting a casino when it was peak period for fares, he replied confidently: "I'm only driving part-time. I work in a logistics firm, I work 15 days, I get 15 days off.

"So I thought I'd drive a cab when I'm off. When I'm not driving, I'm with my family. We've a three-year-old, so I can't come here when I'm with them."

Another cabby, with leading operator Comfort, denied that he was there to gamble.

"I am here to meet friends for dinner," the 50-something said as he was getting back into his taxi in the VIP section of the carpark just before 6pm.

"I was in the area, so I thought I'd call them to meet up for dinner."

- See more at: http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/some-cabbies-seeking-bets-not-fares#sthash.4l3x6LJm.dpuf

10516711_984127474935574_389916064037417

NCPG-National-Council-On-Problem-Gamblin

big_thumb_8308.jpg

10516711_984127474935574_389916064037417

NCPG-National-Council-On-Problem-Gamblin

big_thumb_8308.jpg

Don't remind me lah......now I have to wait till next World Cup to check out the tips for my bet.

I think it's ok for the old folk to go and have some fun. The biggest issue is with the casino giving out loan. Just found out a relative was sued by the casino because they gave him a 200k credit and he lost everything. Strange for them to give a 200k credit to a retiree.

Turn the old HDB HQ into a satellite horse betting center. I wonder who's the genius behind it. The integrated resorts cannot supply free bus shuttle service to the heartlands but Singapore Pools can build a horse betting center in the central of a heartland. What a genius.

How can Singapore not have some kinda gambling issue?

What kind of job is this?

So shiok?

Beats me. Logistics got so relac position?

if its those warehouse 12hr shift 12am to 12pm type then yes u can get 3 days off a wk... many biz start work at 12am on long shifts..

I think it's ok for the old folk to go and have some fun. The biggest issue is with the casino giving out loan. Just found out a relative was sued by the casino because they gave him a 200k credit and he lost everything. Strange for them to give a 200k credit to a retiree.

I feel otherwise,.... and that one should just try to stay away from public gambling, especially the illegal ones.

my friend once also said it should be okay afterall it's the hope of the poor and his relative of income $2K agreed.....

well since then, this relative lost all savings, HDB and got into all kinds of problems with 'legal" and ah longs to a tune of some $300K+........no more casual or social friends due to consistent borrowing, and even my friend refused to loan out money to this relative although he said it was the poor's hope to begin with.

I also know one cabby friend who has been continuously in more or less the same kind of shit because of gambling....only diff, HDB not sold as yet although at one point was at the receiving end of a bitter divorce.

the way I see it,.........when ones' finances are really tight, the more one should stay away from public and illegal gambling of any sorts.

I feel otherwise,.... and that one should just try to stay away from public gambling, especially the illegal ones.

my friend once also said it should be okay afterall it's the hope of the poor and his relative of income $2K agreed.....

well since then, this relative lost all savings, HDB and got into all kinds of problems with 'legal" and ah longs to a tune of some $300K+........no more casual or social friends due to consistent borrowing, and even my friend refused to loan out money to this relative although he said it was the poor's hope to begin with.

I also know one cabby friend who has been continuously in more or less the same kind of shit because of gambling....only diff, HDB not sold as yet although at one point was at the receiving end of a bitter divorce.

the way I see it,.........when ones' finances are really tight, the more one should stay away from public and illegal gambling of any sorts.

self discipline, taxi drivers are flexible in their own time, chances of slacking into other activities are high. With or without casino they can still find other mean if they want to gamble.

Maybe all taxi companies should submit their drivers name list to casino to block them.

Once you start winning or harbour thoughts of easy money and greed set in your inner demon will start to takeover.

I'm also facing this issue, I frequent IR at least twice per wk and this lasted for 1 month plus. I know i'm losing the battle to control myself.

I did a self Ban eventually

If any Bros or people you know have this problem please encourage them to do it at http://www.ncpg.org.sg/en/Pages/home.aspx

Just require your singpass acct and password and a few click and its done.

If strait time invest section interview me what is the best investment I have made, its gona be this self Ban.

Instead of saying the casinos caused more gambling problems, the article put it nicely that due to education and raised awareness, more problem gamblers are going for counselling. pui !