Lifespan of Shock Absorbers and Mounting

Questions are:

Is there any noise when moving or going over undulations?

Does the car feel "floaty" when traveling at higher speed?

Does your steering feel "loose"?

If the answers are all "No", save your money and do nothing.

nope, no noise.

floaty, nope. I don't travel fast. only 110km at most, I am a safe driver.

steering, nope. small and nice grip. haha

I just wanna add more comfort, thought since I renew for another 10 years.

and I travel daily on road for 100km, safety and comfort comes first.

nope, no noise.

floaty, nope. I don't travel fast. only 110km at most, I am a safe driver.

steering, nope. small and nice grip. haha

I just wanna add more comfort, thought since I renew for another 10 years.

and I travel daily on road for 100km, safety and comfort comes first.

For rear shocks, does it sink when you took over the car?

For shocks, i will change it every 5 yrs leak or no leak.

Spring has no lifespan.  Maybe after 20 yrs need to change from metal fatigue.

sorry, wanna ask about absorbers etc..

as I renew my car for another 10years.

150k  mileage..

it served me well and I thought I should reward it.

my lower arms and bush are fine. Had a check and replaced

engine mounting - changed.

bearing just changed..

as for shock absorber - front, used for 10 years.

rear, for 5 years.

absorber mount, need to change?

does spring has a lifespan?

funny is my absorber no leak.. still ok, just the rear tyre will hit when I ferry 2 adult at rear..

using wider tyre.

don't ask me to bring to workshop.. been to a few and they don't even look..

just tell me to change everything as an answer

hmm... this one is really subjective to the comfort level of the driver.

how i check whether need to change or not is to go to the front, use my hands and weigh down on the bonnet as low as i can go and let go.

if the car bounces like a baby rocker, it is time to change.

if it comes up, and stops, within one or two bounces, the suspension and springs are still good.

Same goes for the rear.

then using your gut feel, if your bare hands can weigh down on the car until it is very low, then your coils/spring could be gone liow.

if the resistance is high when you try to weigh down, then the coil/spring is still good.

but again, that is my two cents.

hope it helps.

Just to add. please change your shock mounts if you decided to change your shock whether the look OK or not.

Shock mounts are wear and tear items which might not have visual indication to change.

Learnt the hard way.

Just to add. please change your shock mounts if you decided to change your shock whether the look OK or not.

Shock mounts are wear and tear items which might not have visual indication to change.

Learnt the hard way.

agree bro, no need pay additional labor. that mount a fraction of shocks. ive changed mount, bump stop n shock as a set.

to add to those who say if shock bounces once or twice after depress n release, it could b misleading, as mine was lidat but actually oredi depressed due to leak, so do observe carefully. initially didnt think much about car abit slanted one side at rear cos thot carpark surface not as levelled. then came a wet patch in wheel well but also happened to be wet weather, then finally changed after drove pass those paving blocks at hdb hub n made lotsa clocking noise.

hmm... this one is really subjective to the comfort level of the driver.

how i check whether need to change or not is to go to the front, use my hands and weigh down on the bonnet as low as i can go and let go.

if the car bounces like a baby rocker, it is time to change.

if it comes up, and stops, within one or two bounces, the suspension and springs are still good.

Same goes for the rear.

then using your gut feel, if your bare hands can weigh down on the car until it is very low, then your coils/spring could be gone liow.

if the resistance is high when you try to weigh down, then the coil/spring is still good.

but again, that is my two cents.

hope it helps.

I think my rear is gone again..

I did a simple test and the rear bounce easily..

Does spring need to change? Do they had a lifespan?

Learnt the hard way.

Mount is front and rear or only the front?

I never change in my 10 years..

Learnt the hard way.

You bounced too much in the car la  [sly]  :D

what you been doing  :secret-laugh:

My car feels wobbly at low speed(That is engage drive & releasing the brake without stepping the accelerator). But going thru bumps & high speed, it feels fine. 

I even pressed on the car & it does not rock like a boat which typically means that the shocks are gone.

Confused if the shocks are gone or not.

Edited by Keei

Springs are generally not considered a wear and tear part.  Never hear of people changing springs,  especially at your mileage. 

Depending on your car design, just consider the shock mount to be part of shock absorber assembly and change them as a set and you ahould be fine. 

Rear will have additional shock stopper which comes in play when ur rear suspension bottoms out at times. Which is advisible to change too. 

Your 10yrs not changing any of the suspension part,  by itself, is alreasy a good enough reason to change them. Some people will say that u have been lucky...but i say  dun push it.... Suspension is integral part of road holding and safety too. 

I think my rear is gone again..

I did a simple test and the rear bounce easily..

Does spring need to change? Do they had a lifespan?
Mount is front and rear or only the front?

I never change in my 10 years..

I lent my car to @Porker and @Radx for 1 night only...... :secret-laugh:

Already told them to be gentle..... :TT_TT:

:a-happy:

You bounced too much in the car la  [sly]  :D

what you been doing  :secret-laugh:

maybe is your engine mount.

My car feels wobbly at low speed(That is engage drive & releasing the brake without stepping the accelerator). But going thru bumps & high speed, it feels fine. 

I even pressed on the car & it does not rock like a boat which typically means that the shocks are gone.

yeah, like the other bro had said, it probably your engine mount.

time to change, after changing, you will realise your car is much quieter.

Springs are generally not considered a wear and tear part.  Never hear of people changing springs,  especially at your mileage. 

Depending on your car design, just consider the shock mount to be part of shock absorber assembly and change them as a set and you ahould be fine. 

Rear will have additional shock stopper which comes in play when ur rear suspension bottoms out at times. Which is advisible to change too. 

Your 10yrs not changing any of the suspension part,  by itself, is alreasy a good enough reason to change them. Some people will say that u have been lucky...but i say  dun push it.... Suspension is integral part of road holding and safety too. 

shock stopper? any picture?

I did change during my ownership, the rear.

mind me asking, why always the rear is gone?

I thought engine is heavy, hence it should be the first to go off.

4837229791_77f7a2cecc.jpg

the one on the right is worn.

Not too sure why but my experience with all my cars is that the rear seem to wear out faster.

My theory is that the rear takes more abuse and it usually has more length of travel compared to the front.

The front is just the engine weight, the rear has to handle full load passengers with boot load as well.

shock stopper? any picture?

I did change during my ownership, the rear.

mind me asking, why always the rear is gone?

I thought engine is heavy, hence it should be the first to go off.

4837229791_77f7a2cecc.jpg

the one on the right is worn.

Not too sure why but my experience with all my cars is that the rear seem to wear out faster.

My theory is that the rear takes more abuse and it usually has more length of travel compared to the front.

The front is just the engine weight, the rear has to handle full load passengers with boot load as well.

u carry a lot of passengers is it?

that could also be why it wears out faster. higher load being hauled around lah!

maybe is your engine mount.

Went to workshop & had the engine mount checked. But they say engine mount is ok.

that could also be why it wears out faster. higher load being hauled around lah!

not true.. always me and my wife most of the time..

I'm on wider tyre, 195..

the stock tyre should be 175 only..

anyway look at this, saw some Malaysia mechanic are doing this for wider tyre.

basically they insert a PU stopper while removing certain portion of the shock stopper.

post-47635-0-95904000-1471574731_thumb.png

my hybrid battery at the back, so kind of explains it.