ALL Escalator/Elevator/Excavator related accidents!

Little_prince

Don't think need that much strength lah, coz I've been playing it since I was a kid. First time I found out was when I was rushing for lift, and a stupid neighbour heard me, but closed the lift when I ran towards it. I crashed into the door (young time), and the lift jam, stop and came back to the first floor.

Blame the lift for what? Does a car kill people? Or does the driver kill people? Do guns kill people? Or does the shooter kill people?

She wasn't paying attention to her dog (for whatever reason, I'm not speculating), why blame the lift? There are safety features, but it's not meant to detect such slim things as leashes. If you observe the lift doors at HDB flats, there are two sensors that are built in for safety purposes (two that I ownself see, not manufacturer write or whatever).

One is a laser at about shin level, if the door closing, and you just wave your feet in between the doors, they will open. The other is in between the two doors (the lift cabin door and each level's door). It's a spring activated sensor, which means, when you push against it, or if it bumps into something along its path, it will reopen the door. It's what people press against when holding the door open for others (other than activating the light sensor too).

Can put in other sensors, but at the end of the day, if the owner still doesn't pay attention to her dog, don't blame the lift.

You ever came across you haven't totally enter the lift the door were closing and if the safety feature not able to detect the slighted object.

If it a kid hand or feet so blame the parent or the guardian you mean? What safety you talking abt if it dun serve the purpose of this prevention.

Talking about this reminds me if one incident of not too long ago. Remember the Bukit Batok stray dogs that were in the news a while back? One night a young girl walking her puppy down the carpark was stalked by at least 5 of the strays and they were all heading towards the puppy. Girl picked up her pet doggie and screamed her head off. I happened to witness this and quickly grabbed my green laser pointer which I had left on my sofa. Started shining it on the stray dogs, they yelped and ran for their lives. Girl was still trembling after a while and a couple of boys who passed by offered to escort her to safety, just in case the dogs came back for her. What a narrow escape for her and the puppy. Yoda would have been proud.

Don't think need that much strength lah, coz I've been playing it since I was a kid. First time I found out was when I was rushing for lift, and a stupid neighbour heard me, but closed the lift when I ran towards it. I crashed into the door (young time), and the lift jam, stop and came back to the first floor.

Blame the lift for what? Does a car kill people? Or does the driver kill people? Do guns kill people? Or does the shooter kill people?

She wasn't paying attention to her dog (for whatever reason, I'm not speculating), why blame the lift? There are safety features, but it's not meant to detect such slim things as leashes. If you observe the lift doors at HDB flats, there are two sensors that are built in for safety purposes (two that I ownself see, not manufacturer write or whatever).

One is a laser at about shin level, if the door closing, and you just wave your feet in between the doors, they will open. The other is in between the two doors (the lift cabin door and each level's door). It's a spring activated sensor, which means, when you push against it, or if it bumps into something along its path, it will reopen the door. It's what people press against when holding the door open for others (other than activating the light sensor too).

Can put in other sensors, but at the end of the day, if the owner still doesn't pay attention to her dog, don't blame the lift.

Reminds me if the movie from the '80s "The Lift". Scary man!

in this case something fishy abt the lift as a good lift shouldn't close with a line across the door.

Looks like those rubbish cheapo problematic prc lifts

Cut this lady some slack ba.. she showed alot of dedication to wake up so early to walk her dog liao.. She must darn heart broken as it is..

How come if she release the leash.. the dog does not drop down ah? If she was using those thick ones to leash her GR.. how did the door close in the first place?

When I first read the news which mentioned Bukit Batok, I thought it was my block which has a few owners with golden retriever. The lift at my block closes pretty fast. There were a few occasion that I was clamped by the closing door because the first few who entered the lift did not press and hold the door open button. RIP to the dog!

You ever came across you haven't totally enter the lift the door were closing and if the safety feature not able to detect the slighted object.

If it a kid hand or feet so blame the parent or the guardian you mean? What safety you talking abt if it dun serve the purpose of this prevention.

I know what you mean, and I've came across those lifts before. Walking in half way, kena bang by doors, and doors open again. Got some, doors will push back a little.

However, still not right to blame the lift.

There was a few cases where parents bring their kids out, the kids take escalator, the crocs they were wearing got caught in the escalator, between the side wall and the moving steps. So, blame the crocs, blame the escalator, blame everyone else? I mean, shouldn't it be common sense to take care of those who can't take care of themselves, for whatever reason?

If lift "kill" dog, blame lift, if "crocs get stuck in escalator", blame crocs and escalator, if drunk driver "kill" pedestrian, blame alcohol and car, then what the fark the humans there for?

Got to accept responsibility for own actions, or inaction what, tio bo?

Safety features can add, but if the human don't even give a sh*t about the safety, safety features can only add til a certain level what.

no animals deserve to die in this manner.

i've seen pple walkg their dog but their hand and eyes on the hp, busy msg etc.

How fast can a HDB lift be???

She is not paying attention to the dog in the first place.

Probably due to some distraction. Very sad case.

Fortunately, it's not a child on a leash.

Probably she panic and either froze or worst still press the close button instead.....lol.

One thing for sure we know she didnt press the open button lor.

i hope she did not realised the grave mistake only after hearing the dog awfull cry.

And strangely she only mentioned things happen very fast.......nothing on why and how it happen.

Some lifts the doors won't open even if you press the open button when the lift doors have been held open for too long. My block's lift does that. When you press the door open button to control the lift for too long, it will start buzzing and the doors will close even if you press the open button. Even the sensor also no use. Only way to stop it from closing is to use force to push the doors outwards again.

this is really a once-in-50-years-freaking-accident commited by a daft woman..... no wonder our leeders call us daft......

RIP Doggie....

according to the lift technician it's happened a few times already.

Talking about this reminds me if one incident of not too long ago. Remember the Bukit Batok stray dogs that were in the news a while back? One night a young girl walking her puppy down the carpark was stalked by at least 5 of the strays and they were all heading towards the puppy. Girl picked up her pet doggie and screamed her head off. I happened to witness this and quickly grabbed my green laser pointer which I had left on my sofa. Started shining showing it on the stray dogs, they yelped and ran for their lives. Girl was still trembling after a while and a couple of boys who passed by offered to escort her to safety, just in case the dogs came back for her. What a narrow escape for her and the puppy. Yoda would have been proud.

Reminds me if the movie from the '80s "The Lift". Scary man!

You sure its a laser pointer or something else which you had carried since birth, pointing at those dogs .... [sly]

Poor girl, still trembling ...

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Some lifts the doors won't open even if you press the open button when the lift doors have been held open for too long. My block's lift does that. When you press the door open button to control the lift for too long, it will start buzzing and the doors will close even if you press the open button. Even the sensor also no use. Only way to stop it from closing is to use force to push the doors outwards again.

Yes, most HDB lifts are like that. Once the loud buzzer sounds, it will close the door regardless you press "open" or not. So when hear this sound, keep away from the door, especially for small children !!!

But to stop it from closing, just push in the center metal piece (located in between the lift door). As long as that piece is push in, the door cannot shut, no matter what. This is the method movers and cleaners used to make the lift stop for a long time, while they load/unload their stuff.

could it be a design flaw?

Yes, most HDB lifts are like that. Once the loud buzzer sounds, it will close the door regardless you press "open" or not. So when hear this sound, keep away from the door, especially for small children !!!

But to stop it from closing, just push in the center metal piece (located in between the lift door). As long as that piece is push in, the door cannot shut, no matter what. This is the method movers and cleaners used to make the lift stop for a long time, while they load/unload their stuff.

You sure its a laser pointer or something else which you had carried since birth, pointing at those dogs .... [sly]

Poor girl, still trembling ...

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Unker Picnic, dun like dat lah. You think I point my middle finger and all the stray dogs ran away?

My "Yi Yang Zi" have not mastered yet. [lipsrsealed]

These dogs are very pitiful but dangerous. Hope SPCA can round them up and provide a safe shelter for them. It was rumoured the dog catcher engaged by the TC set traps and one mutt even had a leg snapped off. [sweatdrop]

I ever see the 3-legged dog running around the neighbourhood a couple of months ago but not recently. Hope it is alright.

ya lor.....after the car accident.

She will say things happened very fast......follow by too distraught to speak.

THE END......lol.

Can you imagine such a person owning and driving a car!?,!?!!?
Beware folks, there are.