How to persuade someone to seek help for possible depression

Buadongdong

Dear all, how do one persuade someone close to you to seek medical help for signs of depression? I've noticed some changes in this person's behaviour and think its good to seek help early but don't wish to hurt or agitate that person by telling him/her to seek psychiatric help. Some of the things mentioned by this person includes;

1) Talking about suicides

2) Referring to suicide articles and saying he/she will do the same

3) Out of the blue saying things like: "Don't push me or I will jump and let you see"

4) Become very emo all of the sudden

5) Look very lost and helpless when alone

6) Starting to depend on everyone for his/her needs as if we should spoonfeed him/her.

With those said, its very surprising as this person do not mention all these things at all previously but seems to talk about it every now and then, even when no one agitates him/her.

An example is when we went out for dinner. Halfway through the dinner, he/she will say something like: "You all better don't push me to my limits or I will jump". Its really out of the blue when everyone is just eating and not saying anything that will trigger this kind of reaction.

Hope to get some advice from all of you on how to persuade or bring this person to seek medical help.

IMHO, you have to really ascertain if you are the right person to start this process.

It is not like seek medicate help and end of story.

You may end up needing to put in a lot of time and effort once the process has started.

Are you the right person ?

Edited by Kklee

yah better ask for special pick up service, the person already say 'dun push me' liao, still want to push him to see doctor <_<<_<

Agree

The pickup service is just an ambulance and these people are trained to persuade the person to board their ambulance

Like normal hospital ambulance, don't need to worry, won't frighten the person

Take care. Don't get affected yourself.

Not an easy thing to experience. I had a friend who also jumped due to depression...very sudden and unexpected.

I am no expert but perhaps showing care and concern is insufficient. Would really be good to bring to see professional counsellor. If not, dial the SOS hotline and explain the situation, they may have some valuable advice.

Hope your friend recovers in due course.

Be-careful of the medicine that the doctor give.

Eat already, Bo Siao also became siao

Avoid Changi CGx....my mistake to go there....with all the new birdie Doc

Edited by Mcf777

Dear all, how do one persuade someone close to you to seek medical help for signs of depression? I've noticed some changes in this person's behaviour and think its good to seek help early but don't wish to hurt or agitate that person by telling him/her to seek psychiatric help. Some of the things mentioned by this person includes;

1) Talking about suicides

2) Referring to suicide articles and saying he/she will do the same

3) Out of the blue saying things like: "Don't push me or I will jump and let you see"

4) Become very emo all of the sudden

5) Look very lost and helpless when alone

6) Starting to depend on everyone for his/her needs as if we should spoonfeed him/her.

With those said, its very surprising as this person do not mention all these things at all previously but seems to talk about it every now and then, even when no one agitates him/her.

An example is when we went out for dinner. Halfway through the dinner, he/she will say something like: "You all better don't push me to my limits or I will jump". Its really out of the blue when everyone is just eating and not saying anything that will trigger this kind of reaction.

Hope to get some advice from all of you on how to persuade or bring this person to seek medical help.

Good you are watching out for him/her. A shoulder to lean on is best counselling you can do for him/her until you can persuade them to seek professional help.

Are you close to that someone? Are you the caregiver?

Does he/she have the symptoms?

1.Changes in sleep patterns

2.Changes in appetite

3.Poor concentration

4.Loss of energy

5.Lack of interest

6.Low self-esteem

7.Hopelessness or guilt

If he/she has 4 to 5 same symptoms, best is to tell him/her to see a mental health psychiatrist. IMH is one of them. Just go to A&E or call their hotline 6389 2000.

:( I got all of those symptoms... though I reckon it's 'cos of the shitty commodity market :a-bang:

Maybe I won't call that number after all...

Be-careful of the medicine that the doctor give.

Eat already, Bo Siao also became siao

Avoid Changi CGx....my mistake to go there....with all the new birdie Doc

Then which hospital is better?

Since this person is close to TS, maybe should find out the root cause of the sudden change in behavior......has this person recently lost a job or someone dear, given birth as in post natal etc. without triggering & can have suicidal thoughts is scary......instead of going to the IMH......maybe should go to the medium...it is THE month after all

If the person dun wan to go to imh cuz fear hv stigma or record... can try the wellness clinic at geylang east polyclinic. Its a specialised clinic wif appointments n no need stay. See doc... den give medication den go home. All in same day. Wif our hectic, pressure cooker lifestyle... depression is common tis days. Jus a simple tablet a day example... faverin, will help the person lead a normal life. God bless.

In my opinion, it's not difficult to get the patient to have insight about depression. Most of them can say they are depressed.

Usually the patients with other psychiatric conditions are much harder to recognise their own symptoms.

Whether you can get them to go see a PSY, that's more difficult.

In my opinion, it's not difficult to get the patient to have insight about depression. Most of them can say they are depressed.

Usually the patients with other psychiatric conditions are much harder to recognise their own symptoms.

Whether you can get them to go see a PSY, that's more difficult.

Hope TS can see all our replies and think through and discuss with family members and then act accordingly...

Only TS knows the conditions clearly and will act to his/her best knowledge :)

Hope everything turn out well and fine :))

And probably best to bring to see a PSY directly, unless there is a trusted family doctor who can help u persuade the patient.

Any patient with suicidal ideation or intent, should be assessed by a PSY. The medications available at the GP is limited, not to mention the lack of supporting services like the counsellor etc. And the need for enforced hospital stay needs to be assessed if the suicide risk is high enough.

Go to Community Wellness Centre on top of Queenstown Polyclinic at Stirling Road. No IMH stigma and is staffed by qualified IMH staff.

The psychiatrists are from IMH and they have a full pharmacy for anti-depressant drugs. They also have psychiatric step down care by counsellors there.

Patients still have hung ups about going to IMH and wil claim that they are not crazy so why need go to IMH. Go Queenstown is like go to a polyclinic. Actually is in polyclinic building but a seperate registration is required.

Community Wellness Centre? What a nice alternative name than Institute of Mental Health!

i believe these are the satellite clinics by IMH so that people can visit without much fear of been called siao lang.