MTE Garage (Bartley Biz) - Personal Experience

RaceLover

Dear All,

My name is Marcus. I would like to share my experience with MTE Garage(Bartley Biz Centre) and my journey in tuning my ride. I hope that my experience can allow any potential Volvo owners’ to evaluate the risk and adjust your expectation accordingly. There are lots of workshop and tuner that are respectable but there are those who are irresponsible as well. Likewise my experience do not necessary mean the same will happen to you. In a nutshell, my car was unsuitable for tuning and it cost a lot of problem to the extent of rendering it unusable before wearnes automotive (agent) solve it for me. There was huge gap between promise expectation and reality. I have attached all receipts and proof.

1. 01 July 2014 -Bought new 2013 Volvo S60 T5, 240hp, 320nm (no Drive E version)

2. 21 July 2014- Recommended by friend to MTE garage. Meet with owner Alex and discuss my expectations for my car. – To increase the drive response via tuning, upon recommendations, I was promised a custom tune with the following hardware upgrade which is necessary to complement the custom tune. I was promised an increase of 60+hp and 100+NM minimum. The verbal guarantee was that the hp will be over 300hp. My stock is 240hp.

The upgrade bought was

a. Ferrita DP/Catback exhaust- $3800

b. AEM methanol Kit- $1350

c. MTE custom Tune- $1350

d. Injen Short Ram (Full kit)- $1350

e. UR front strut bar- $190

f. Customised throttle hose- $160

Total: $8789 with gst

3. Turns out the Injen Air intake is incompatible with the car. The overflow of air cause the ECU to shut down the engine. Ended up with a DIY air filter which means I paid for something I cannot use and no refund was given.

4. Mid November- After waiting for 4 months after full payment, MTE arrange for shark performance from Uk to do a tuning trip in Singapore. Let me be upfront here, the tuning fail in the first round with sluggish performance because MTE accuses us for installing an aftermarket downpipe which affected the tuning. We replace back the original Ferrita DP and the tuning seems to work and we thought the tuning was completed. While the price was inclusive of a Dyno run verbally, none was arranged after a month. I was interested to know if the car exceeded 300hp as promised. Just to add, the tuning was done using the clipboard which open up the ECU and not a flash as per promised

5. 09 Jan 2015- despite repeated request for dyno with MTE, I was ignored. Paid for our own dyno run at monster tune and realised that the HP was a mere 248hp( only +8hp). To be fair the car did become more responsive with higher torque at lower RPM but the problems that ensued was not worth the improvement at all. I did not argue because such over promise by certain workshop is common in the business.

6. Problems: jan15 to may 15- Numerous check engine light, error codes but all resolved by a simple reset of error codes at agent

7. Problems: 3rd July error codes (unable to reset successfully)

a. Reduced engine performance

b. DSTC service

c. Check Engine

d. Multi Indicators light up

e. Engine choking

8. Problems: 4 July- Car cannot start. Volvo replace fuel pressure. Collected car

9. Problems: 6th July – Car cannot start. All indicators light up again and return to agent, replace fuel injection pump

10. Problems: 11th August – Car cannot start. All indicators out again, choking engine, went back to Volvo, Volvo manage to reset code and diagnostic read “software incompatible with car”

11. Problems 15th August- Car cannot start. All indicators out again. Reloaded original ECU program

12. Problems 17th August Car stalled on road twice. Volvo mechanic while testing stalled again on the road. Volvo installed original air intake and did reset for the car.

13. 25th August- collected car, total spent $1592 over a few visit to Volvo. Whole fiasco including amount paid to MTE is around $10,701.00 and I bought only headaches

To summarize, I was unlucky enough to be convinced that my car was tune ready and I spent $10k to bring myself a host of problems. I would like to share this experience with anybody who are thinking of tuning their Volvo. I will now be evaluating my recourse for this matter.

Thank You

post-163178-0-51919200-1441906863_thumb.jpg

MTE Receipt.pdf

Volvo Receipt.pdf

• Dislike 1

Would a Ford engine specialist have been able to help you?

Hope your situation get resolved smoothly.

Edited by 7hm

After having done tuning with one of the shops named by TS, I always tell my friends that ignorance is a bliss and stock is best.

My parent's V50 2.4i drove for 10 years without a single engine issue.

I tuned my ex BMW E90 and it made NO difference whatsoever.

Stock is the best if you know nothing about tuning. If you insist of tuning up, then go to tuning specialist which specialise in one or 2 car brand. Those that claim can do any car brand is most likely to give you headache. Just my personal opinion.

Thanks for sharing. Actually I believe there are a lot more car owners like yourself who have similar experience, but too proud to admit. Modding cars will always have it's downsides. It's just that these owners don't bother to share the negative side of it.

Ups for TS. At least he doesn't say "My friend..."

been there done that ...

no point to mod cars except for changing wheel and body kit - which is like putting on new clothes for better styling nia

a modded cars behave erratically and give you all kind of perculiar problem ... from intermitten problem to some day got problem some day no ... and worst chui ...

i have learned my lesson too and either up the budget to buy a more powerful car or live with it ... just tell myself ... so fast for what speed limit 90kmph and every 200 meters got traffic light liao ... LOL (ah Q thinking for satisfaction) ... who don't want to drive porky/felali/lambo

Thanks for sharing. I can imagine the frustrations and inconvenience that you encountered. I used to enjoy doing modifications to my ride as well ( not the hardcore kind), in the hope of improving performance or fuel efficency. However, I realised that most of these modifications are less ideal than expected (minimial improvements if any). Even if it improves, you will sooner or later get used to it, and will desire for more..There is no end to it..

In the end, I feel that stock is still the way to go..

Would a Ford engine specialist have been able to help you?

Hope your situation get resolved smoothly.

7hm, you have anybody to recommend?

I have since gone back to stock. Everything fine so far.

Stock is the best if you know nothing about tuning. If you insist of tuning up, then go to tuning specialist which specialise in one or 2 car brand. Those that claim can do any car brand is most likely to give you headache. Just my personal opinion.

MTE Garage is supposedly the one out of about two or three who claims to specialised in Volvo in Singapore. I am fine if everything is honestly done. The key thing here is "Over-promise and overcharge, under-deliver and full of issues".

Sorry to say this, but don't try to be smarter than the manufacturer's engineers.

Cars are very complex system nowadays.

You push on one thing, the others may fall off.

It requires a skilled tuner to achieve a balanced modification from diff aspect of the engine. Not an easy task and definitely doesn't come cheap.

Since u r back to stock now, u may try to ask Volvo if there is Polestar optimisation program for your batch?

It requires a skilled tuner to achieve a balanced modification from diff aspect of the engine. Not an easy task and definitely doesn't come cheap.

Since u r back to stock now, u may try to ask Volvo if there is Polestar optimisation program for your batch?

I did asked about Polestar when I bought my car. But apparently the salesperson said that the T5 is already optimized even as stock and there is no polestar option.

i have zero faith in whatever local tuning house would call themselves.

There is simply no professionalism and only know how to chop carrots.

AD appointed is different though. Hirsch, AMG etc....

That amount is too much for a mere 60hp gain, not to mention that you got only 8hp.

if the shop not able to confirm such a gain should not commit to customer or should try their means to get it .....

Dear All,

My name is Marcus. I would like to share my experience with MTE Garage(Bartley Biz Centre) and my journey in tuning my ride. I hope that my experience can allow any potential Volvo owners’ to evaluate the risk and adjust your expectation accordingly. There are lots of workshop and tuner that are respectable but there are those who are irresponsible as well. Likewise my experience do not necessary mean the same will happen to you. In a nutshell, my car was unsuitable for tuning and it cost a lot of problem to the extent of rendering it unusable before wearnes automotive (agent) solve it for me. There was huge gap between promise expectation and reality. I have attached all receipts and proof.

1. 01 July 2014 -Bought new 2013 Volvo S60 T5, 240hp, 320nm (no Drive E version)

2. 21 July 2014- Recommended by friend to MTE garage. Meet with owner Alex and discuss my expectations for my car. – To increase the drive response via tuning, upon recommendations, I was promised a custom tune with the following hardware upgrade which is necessary to complement the custom tune. I was promised an increase of 60+hp and 100+NM minimum. The verbal guarantee was that the hp will be over 300hp. My stock is 240hp.

The upgrade bought was

a. Ferrita DP/Catback exhaust- $3800

b. AEM methanol Kit- $1350

c. MTE custom Tune- $1350

d. Injen Short Ram (Full kit)- $1350

e. UR front strut bar- $190

f. Customised throttle hose- $160

Total: $8789 with gst

3. Turns out the Injen Air intake is incompatible with the car. The overflow of air cause the ECU to shut down the engine. Ended up with a DIY air filter which means I paid for something I cannot use and no refund was given.

4. Mid November- After waiting for 4 months after full payment, MTE arrange for shark performance from Uk to do a tuning trip in Singapore. Let me be upfront here, the tuning fail in the first round with sluggish performance because MTE accuses us for installing an aftermarket downpipe which affected the tuning. We replace back the original Ferrita DP and the tuning seems to work and we thought the tuning was completed. While the price was inclusive of a Dyno run verbally, none was arranged after a month. I was interested to know if the car exceeded 300hp as promised. Just to add, the tuning was done using the clipboard which open up the ECU and not a flash as per promised

5. 09 Jan 2015- despite repeated request for dyno with MTE, I was ignored. Paid for our own dyno run at monster tune and realised that the HP was a mere 248hp( only +8hp). To be fair the car did become more responsive with higher torque at lower RPM but the problems that ensued was not worth the improvement at all. I did not argue because such over promise by certain workshop is common in the business.

6. Problems: jan15 to may 15- Numerous check engine light, error codes but all resolved by a simple reset of error codes at agent

7. Problems: 3rd July error codes (unable to reset successfully)

a. Reduced engine performance

b. DSTC service

c. Check Engine

d. Multi Indicators light up

e. Engine choking

8. Problems: 4 July- Car cannot start. Volvo replace fuel pressure. Collected car

9. Problems: 6th July – Car cannot start. All indicators light up again and return to agent, replace fuel injection pump

10. Problems: 11th August – Car cannot start. All indicators out again, choking engine, went back to Volvo, Volvo manage to reset code and diagnostic read “software incompatible with car”

11. Problems 15th August- Car cannot start. All indicators out again. Reloaded original ECU program

12. Problems 17th August Car stalled on road twice. Volvo mechanic while testing stalled again on the road. Volvo installed original air intake and did reset for the car.

13. 25th August- collected car, total spent $1592 over a few visit to Volvo. Whole fiasco including amount paid to MTE is around $10,701.00 and I bought only headaches

To summarize, I was unlucky enough to be convinced that my car was tune ready and I spent $10k to bring myself a host of problems. I would like to share this experience with anybody who are thinking of tuning their Volvo. I will now be evaluating my recourse for this matter.

Thank You

You are the orange S60 that hit and run back in May?

this thread getting interesting.

technikman, are you the workshop owner or related party? registered your nick today just to post on this thread?

suggest that both parties sit down and solve the problem amicably. no point slinging mud in the internet realm. it can turn ugly to no one's benefit.

You are the orange S60 that hit and run back in May?

Customer spend so much n let you earn profits. At least rectify the problem lah...remember.... All things have cause n effect. There is also something called retribution

this thread getting interesting.

technikman, are you the workshop owner or related party? registered your nick today just to post on this thread?

suggest that both parties sit down and solve the problem amicably. no point slinging mud in the internet realm. it can turn ugly to no one's benefit.

They seems to dun have the courage to admit fault