How to know battery going to be flat?

Winning

Just a couple of points.

My car is nearly 10 years old and I am on only my second battery.

One way I know if my battery is getting low and needs a longish run to get it back up to full charge is when I turn on the ignition the digital clock will not show the time as the digits lights don't come on fully.

Just a couple of points.

One way I know if my battery is getting low and needs a longish run to get it back up to full charge is when I turn on the ignition the digital clock will not show the time as the digits lights don't come on fully.

Wow, i am already on my 4th set of batteries, the 2nd one give up after just 9 mths (faulty battery, some korean brand AGM gel type).

What battery are you using?

Wow, i am already on my 4th set of batteries, the 2nd one give up after just 9 mths (faulty battery, some korean brand AGM gel type).

What battery are you using?

Bought my second one from AAS.

Can't remember battery make.

Just a couple of points.

2 batteries for 10 years is amazing. What car do you drive? Any special maintenance you do, or just drive as usual?

if car battery flat, which company should I call?

Too many options. Not sure which is the best.

Also, worry car cannot start was not due to battery. May need tow truck to tow to workshop.

https://www.dialacarbattery.com.sg/

https://www.fastfix.com.sg/

http://bhauto.com.sg/car-battery-replacement-singapore/

https://www.batteryempire.sg/car-battery-pricings/

https://swiftbatteryspecialist.sg/

https://advanceautoparts.com.sg/

A CTEK Battery Sense will monitor your vehicle battery status thru a Handphone APPS. The CTEK Battery sense prompt your your battery status is 60% & Buzz you when your battery status is below 40%.

Read more here - www.ctek.com

Hi all ,
How do you know that battery going to be flat ?
When the car starts , it prompt you "switch to economy mode " . Can this be 1 of the symptoms that battery is weak too ?

Cranking sound . Usually it took me 1 crank to start the engine . But yesterday the cranking sound is long before engine start , can this also telling you that battery going to be flat soon ?
Pls advise

A CTEK Battery Analyzer will give you a reading on your battery CCA ( COLD CRANKING AMPERE ).

From here your can tell how much life is left in your battery -  for a free test please visit our showroom at Lim Battery.

For further reading - www.ctek.com

I have 2 CTEK battery chargers and i use them for all my cars and motorcycles.

Simple to use, easy to read.

I am not sponsored by CTEK nor have been paid in anyway.

Just a happy customer who is sharing.

I have used CTEK battery chargers effectively for more than 15yrs

No more battery replacements needed.

Just charge up full, once every few months works for me.

The following brands of vehicles are what i have used CTeK chargers for

Mazda

Harley Davidson

Ford

Ducati

Honda

Porsche

BMW

Mercedes

Kawasaki

Triumph

Volvo

Two Thumbs up.

Next time i go @Limbat, i must use this and ask him for sponsorship , muayhahahhahahahah

Edited by Throttle2

No, as long as your engine is running, you are not relying on battery anymore. So your car engine will not suddenly stop due to no electricity. If that happen, good luck. Alternator need replacement. Haha

No bros. They have better starter and bigger capacity battery. Of course some logic to reduce start / stop unnecessary. But in Singapore context, I would advise to disable it. This is only my opinion.

Wrong, @Victor68

If your battery is truly dead, your car is dead.

Engine will cut off as sparks wont continue firing

All the computer systems will not work.

In other words for modern cars, if you remove the battery in your car, you car becomes a storage cabinet

The battery is like the heart.

So technically, you need a battery to be there, no matter what.

Yeah startstop function is stupid in Singapore.

I disable all startstop function.

Edited by Throttle2

Wrong, @Victor68

If your battery is truly dead, your car is dead.

Engine will cut off as sparks wont continue firing

All the computer systems will not work.

In other words for modern cars, if you remove the battery in your car, you car becomes a storage cabinet

The battery is like the heart.

So technically, you need a battery to be there, no matter what.

Yeah startstop function is stupid in Singapore.

I disable all startstop function.

Have you tried or been to a battery workshop where after they jump start your car, they removed both of your battery terminals and yet the car is still running haha

Try Disconnecting the jumpstart cable

And removing your battery

And drive off (if you can)

You see whether your car will still run or not.

Muayhahahahahaha

Bottomline, dead battery dead car. I mean Dead, not Weak.

Jumpstarting transfers power to a dead battery so that it has sufficient energy to fire the car.

And if the engine is kept running at a certain rpm, it will charge the battery which in turn fires the engine.

You think battery is only for starting car and playing music?

No lah Bro.

Its a lot more , as i mentioned.

In modern cars, you try disconnecting your batteries beyond a certain period, your whole system haywire.

Ps.. one thing you are right, i have never had the good fortune to go to battery shop to jumpstart anything.

Becos i have a CTEK charger which i use to full charge my batteries once every few months.

Edited by Throttle2

I will change battery diligently every 2 years.

I know my car battery will die after that.

With the CTEK charger i have not replaced any of my batteries.

Even my Porsche Battery was 5 yrs old and hold full charge

But when i rebuild, i kahchng itchy, replace battery since get for "free"

My Honda Bike battery is 3 yrs old, still perfect.

My two harleys battery were easily 4-5 yrs old, perfect

And the list goes on.

The only thing is that you need a power source and to keep your bonnet open as the charging cable is routed to battery for quite many hours.

Luckily my yishun HDb front porch has.

Edited by Throttle2

With the CTEK charger i have not replaced any of my batteries.

Even my Porsche Battery was 5 yrs old and hold full charge

But when i rebuild, i kahchng itchy, replace battery since get for "free"

My Honda Bike battery is 3 yrs old, still perfect.

My two harleys battery were easily 4-5 yrs old, perfect

And the list goes on.

The only thing is that you need a power source and to keep your bonnet open as the charging cable is routed to battery for quite many hours.

Luckily my yishun HDb front porch has.

Heat within Mini engine bay will kill battery within 2+ year. The last time i change it was under warranty.

To use CTEK charger, i might have to lim kopi at your place.

Yes standard dry cell battey usually last about 2 yrs regular use from new.

Recommended to change once every two years.

But with my CTEK charger, i save all the money on battery replacement for my bikes and cars.

Depending on how big and weak your battery is, it may take up to 12 -16 hours to fully charge.

I may be unlucky, but my ctek charger didn't last 2 years.

Another X pulse charge also died on me.

Maybe bcuz I used it too much.

I charge batteries every other day, bcuz I sell them.

Now, I have one "commerical" samlex charger.

And the cheapo adjustable DC power supplies from PRC is surprisingly lasting.

Yes standard dry cell battey usually last about 2 yrs regular use from new.

Recommended to change once every two years.

But with my CTEK charger, i save all the money on battery replacement for my bikes and cars.

Depending on how big and weak your battery is, it may take up to 12 -16 hours to fully charge.

Mini engine bay very hot.  I don't think CTEK charger will be helpful to go beyond 2 yrs.

I may be unlucky, but my ctek charger didn't last 2 years.

Another X pulse charge also died on me.

Maybe bcuz I used it too much.

I charge batteries every other day, bcuz I sell them.

Now, I have one "commerical" samlex charger.

And the cheapo adjustable DC power supplies from PRC is surprisingly lasting.

No wonder.

I dont think the CTEK chargers can take so much load so regularly.

I basically charge my vehicles full once every 3 mths?

More then enough for me.

Mini engine bay very hot. I don't think CTEK charger will be helpful to go beyond 2 yrs.

So you mean the battery doesnt die, it just gets fried?

Wah lau, Mini design fault .