Does having turbo really mean better fuel effiency?

Ahgong

Was chatting with a fellow brother and we were arguing about how having turbo will contribute to FC.

I was on the camp that having turbo, FC friendliness will only be achieved if the required gear-ratio vs RPM is achieved.

He was on the camp that turbo is FC friendly regardless, only the max BHP is the difference at the correct gear-ratio vs RPM.

so, just to generate some chit chat. i am bored.

share your views. 

turbo engine ... high power ... yes yes yes [thumbsup]

good FC ... questionable ... probably not as good as a well design fuel efficiency NA engine

that's why the japanese car maker was so "obsess" to make NA & Hybrid car with super awesome fuel efficiency

but no power lor ... LOL

for me ... turbo engine anytime !!!

a 2L turbo engine that pump out 250bhp & 350Nm !!!

My view is yes, but not the way sellers make it out to be.   Becoz no matter what, cannot escape.  If you force more air into an engine, e.g., force the amount of air that normally goes into a 2.0 NA into a 1.4 w TC, ....air to fuel ratio will still apply.  

good FC ... questionable ... probably not as good as a well design fuel efficiency NA engine

that's why the japanese car maker was so "obsess" to make NA & Hybrid car with super awesome fuel efficiency

but no power lor ... LOL

go for Japanese 2L 306bhp/400Nm/manual :D

but no power lor ... LOL

pardon my ignorance. 

what is NA engine?

but no power lor ... LOL

Then why u no get 528? Haha

The big car manufacturers have been dropping cylinders and replacing them with TC to make up the horses. For example, to achieve the same horsepower, think a TC 4-pot is more fuel efficient than a NA 6-pot? 

Not sure if I get your question correctly, but if you compare a 4-pot NA vs TC, and with the same rev red-line, shouldn't the TC engine be more thirsty since more fuel and air are used? 

For what I thot is, end of the day it'll consume as much fuel to produce the same amt of bhp.

for instance a 6.2L producing 560bhp is downsized to a 4.0L TC producing similar power. In order to achieve the same power the same amount of fuel needs to be feed in with the right amt of air? afterall u can't cheat energy conversion but only how efficient u harness the power.

but no power lor ... LOL

Used to drive the older 2 liter Subbie GT, 245 bhp turbo and unmodded..

Only managed to do 8km/l on a near 90% highway.

Start-stop traffic and picking up kids and groceries... Around 6-7km. Pump petrol until sian...

pardon my ignorance. 

what is NA engine?

I guess is Not Applicable engine...LOL

NA mean the engine breath naturally without assistance from turbo or such.

Edited by Cephas

Used to drive the older 2 liter Subbie GT, 245 bhp turbo and unmodded..

Only managed to do 8km/l on a near 90% highway.

Start-stop traffic and picking up kids and groceries... Around 6-7km. Pump petrol until sian...

Its the AWD thats affecting your fuel efficiency not turbo , the Type Rs and GTIs oso getting abt 10km/L,Subbies are known for their terrible fuel economy no tks to their AWD

Edited by Tanly

Then why u no get 528? Haha

when i buy that time ...

special discount for ex-stock and must close deal now

no 528 or the color i want not available

if i can choose again i will definitely get 528

ok la ... save some moolah to get a rolex ... lol

My belief is that if you drive low-pressure eco-turbo cars in a fashion that takes advantage of the low RPM torque... they can be more fuel efficient due to small displacement.

But when it comes to high revving and large capacity engines, a naturally aspirated engine will probably be more economical...

I guess is Not Applicable engine...LOL

NA mean the engine breath naturally without assistance from turbo or such.

It's naturally aspirated, whereas turbo or super charger is known as FI- force induction or induced.