Car Accident Advice Needed : What if 3rd party claim fails?

pool4ever

Hello Everyone,

I would like to seek your advice on my accident case. 

It was a rainy day and I am on the right lane (two lane road). The taxi driver on the left hit me on my left side and causes my car to ski. Unfortunately my car camera isn't working on that day. Photo evidences were submitted in the report. 

I have made a 3rd party claim (AXA). Question is what option do I have if 3rd party claim fails? I have called up my insurer (NTUC) and was informed that they will not be helping me on this unless I claim my damages from my policy.

Thank you.

Sorry to hear about your accident.

Any other party/ property involved?

Normally your regular WS should be able to help with the paper and legwork.

And now you know who not to renew insurance with.

Hello Everyone,

It was a rainy day and I am on the right lane (two lane road). The taxi driver on the left hit me on my left side and causes my car to ski. Unfortunately my car camera isn't working on that day. Photo evidences were submitted in the report.

I have made a 3rd party claim (AXA). Question is what option do I have if 3rd party claim fails? I have called up my insurer (NTUC) and was informed that they will not be helping me on this unless I claim my damages from my policy.

Thank you.

What happen to the camera? Last time I thought my sd card corrupted but Heng still can recover

Is it a very big damage? Will the cost be more than your excess + NCD till you recover? If the damage if bigger then just claim your insurance and let the insurance fight it out. If not just self repair and move on. Winning against taxi is not easy plus hit from side is hard to win without real good evidence.

Sorry to hear about your accident.

Any other party/ property involved?

Normally your regular WS should be able to help with the paper and legwork.

And now you know who not to renew insurance with.

WS is claiming 3rd party for me.. but i m just thinking what if AXA reject the claim? haha yes yes :)

Taxi got beedio? Who not claim own damage and let insurance fight?

If not your fault will AXA ping your NCD?

taxi not beedio. was advised to claim 3rd party first.. side to side should be hard

What happen to the camera? Last time I thought my sd card corrupted but Heng still can recover

went to a professional recovery service. they cant recover the sd card :(

Is it a very big damage? Will the cost be more than your excess + NCD till you recover? If the damage if bigger then just claim your insurance and let the insurance fight it out. If not just self repair and move on. Winning against taxi is not easy plus hit from side is hard to win without real good evidence.

damage is big - air bag came out because i was lost control of the vehicle once he hit me.. 

cost is definitely more than my policy excess. yes i agree side to side is hard

Sorry to hear that, can the computer register the SD card? When you insert it in the computer what does it say?

Dun mind me asking I'm familiar with data recovery seeing what else can help.

WS is claiming 3rd party for me.. but i m just thinking what if AXA reject the claim? haha yes yes :)

taxi not beedio. was advised to claim 3rd party first.. side to side should be hard

went to a professional recovery service. they cant recover the sd card :(

Hello Everyone,

Thank you.

I suggest you to quickly look at your policy (with NTUC) to find out / confirm what is the last date / deadline for submitting OD claim i.e. claim against your own policy. Some insurers impose a 14-day condition to submit own claim.

No videographic evidence => chances are 50:50 unless the taxi driver admit his fault (which we all know is quite impossible)

Photographic evidence do not prove anything.

No independent witness => 50:50

Just to share, I understand quite a number of people mentioned that photographic evidence is inconclusive. However, you say that you car spun? If that is the case, I hope you had:

1. photographed where you were hit;

2. direction of travel (shows that you had spun out);

3. any skids marks to indicate spin;

4.note specific time and date of the incident (hopefully someone else's camera was on) 

If you spun, please check your drive shaft and ensure no damage.

all the best man.

Just to share, I understand quite a number of people mentioned that photographic evidence is inconclusive. However, you say that you car spun? If that is the case, I hope you had:

1. photographed where you were hit;

2. direction of travel (shows that you had spun out);

3. any skids marks to indicate spin;

4.note specific time and date of the incident (hopefully someone else's camera was on) 

If you spun, please check your drive shaft and ensure no damage.

all the best man.

Agree.

Maybe TS can share the details i.e. date/time/location/licence plate, make & colour of car (& taxi) so that anyone with car cam footages at that point in time may be able to post the evidence in any forum to help your case.

Without any evidence nor video footage it will be one's word vs another quite difficult to fight.

if fail, ownself claim ownself lor

Bro, why you change your avatar from one pick up to another? Except this time this pick up looks angry. :grin:

I'm also seriously considering changing my avatar, cos black is like not very auspicious

Edited by Weez911

Bro, why you change your avatar from one pick up to another? Except this time this pick up looks angry. :grin:

I'm also seriously considering changing my avatar, cos black is like not very auspicious

Nonsense. Who say black is inauspicious? -_-

I cant find the old picture liao :mellow:

in accounts, black is very auspicious [bounce1]  and red is taboo :ph34r: