What would you do if your car model is used as a taxi in SG?

Domh

mmm like chrysler 300C(omv) cheaper than merc but starting fare $5...

i sat 300c infront, nothing special....

behind also nothing special...

pay 30% more than the average cab but cab driver skills no good defeats the purpose of a limo....

Nothing special then how come the starting fare so much more than others, also the meter jump so fast? [:/]

the same like how come people pay so much for VW...

wonder if they use alfa as taxis in Italy? [:)]

if like that,

the infamous photoshopped comfort taxi lambo will become reality

I agree. Wow.. Like that.. I think taxi unker will be like... ECP is their road liao.. Now already 130-140... If lambo then 240 no problem.... [laugh][:p]

Another new model added to the fleet. I wonder if the French model able to tahan as good. [:p]

Renault Latitude

Singapore commuters will be cheered to know that Trans Cab Services Pte Ltd, Singapore's second largest taxi company, will start to roll out more than 500 2.0-litre Renault Latitude taxis from 18th July 2013. The Renault flagship luxury sedan, which is the tallest, widest and most spacious continental taxi in its class, will join the ranks of premium taxis in Singapore. Renault had on 11th April 2013 secured the contract to supply premium taxis to Trans Cab, following a similar contract the French marque had recently secured with a taxi company in Macau.

Probably the 2.0 dCi engine.

Figures:

150PS@4000rpm

340Nm@2000rpm

0-100km/h: 10.3 sec

OR

175PS@3750rpm

360Nm@2000rpm

0-100km/h: 9.9 sec

Edited by Renesis84

Taxi companies are using i45 as taxi? Thought when they changed the name Sonata to i45, they "promise" that they would not use i45 as taxi? [:/]

they are using the i40..already on the road..

Another new model added to the fleet. I wonder if the French model able to tahan as good. [:p]

Renault Latitude

Singapore commuters will be cheered to know that Trans Cab Services Pte Ltd, Singapore's second largest taxi company, will start to roll out more than 500 2.0-litre Renault Latitude taxis from 18th July 2013. The Renault flagship luxury sedan, which is the tallest, widest and most spacious continental taxi in its class, will join the ranks of premium taxis in Singapore. Renault had on 11th April 2013 secured the contract to supply premium taxis to Trans Cab, following a similar contract the French marque had recently secured with a taxi company in Macau.

Probably the 2.0 dCi engine.

Figures:

150PS@4000rpm

340Nm@2000rpm

0-100km/h: 10.3 sec

OR

175PS@3750rpm

360Nm@2000rpm

0-100km/h: 9.9 sec

Well, the Latitude is actually a Korean manufactured renault. Nothing french about it except the badge. To be honest, i still think it looks awfully similar to the equally uninspiring Chevy Epica.

I can only say from a taxi driver view, currently, no taxis can beat the old toyota crown in term of spacious, wear and tear, and also durability.

But of course with the new era of taxis coming from korean, most are more powerful but not long lasting.

Fares are higher due to rental is high for taxi driver, pax pay Taxi driver, taxi driver pay Taxi company and its shareholders. In between, a taxi driver still earn the same other than an increase in population and tourists.

Given a 46% increase of taxis since 2003, taxi passenger only increased 16%

I can only say from a taxi driver view, currently, no taxis can beat the old toyota crown in term of spacious, wear and tear, and also durability.

But of course with the new era of taxis coming from korean, most are more powerful but not long lasting.

Fares are higher due to rental is high for taxi driver, pax pay Taxi driver, taxi driver pay Taxi company and its shareholders. In between, a taxi driver still earn the same other than an increase in population and tourists.

I will always avoid taking any Crown Taxi because it was so noisy and uncomfortable. Even at the airport Q. I will let the next passanger go if the next taxi is a Crown.

maybe that explains why can see so many teksi parked at RWS. go casino huat better than picking up a fare. <_<

True, but during it primetime when korea car auto gear is still an infant, crown was the best, the crown is still around after so many years, for a mere epica and sonata, max 7 years only, scrap liao

I will always avoid taking any Crown Taxi because it was so noisy and uncomfortable. Even at the airport Q. I will let the next passanger go if the next taxi is a Crown.

but when u hv a 2 big 29" luggage, 3 cabin bags and some other stuff, that's the teksi i hope to get at the airport.

dunno why some of these goondu sonata teksi like to leave pails, boxes in their boot and go to changi airport.....