Which is better, Original rims or change new rims

kennytansk

Hello all,

Just to seek some opinions and advise from MCF members and experience professional.

I've just committed to an AD for a new car, and here comes my dilemma...

The car comes with a 18' matte/silver colored rims and I do not like the color. I've always been fan of shinny chrome rims as it is easy to clean and wash daily.

Is it advisable to purchase a new set of chrome rims (same size 18') and use back the tyres, or it is better to keep the OEM rims and have them chromed so that the performance is not wrongly compromised by the newly purchased chrome rims?

If the latter is true, then where in SG can get this service for chroming the rims?

TIA 

My humble advice:

Leave it as it is, purchase two bottles of Sonax acid-free wheel cleaner.

You purchase silver chrome wheels, hard to maintain; even if curbed, hard to respray to the exact same colour.

Not to mention if you purchase some inferior rims, it will compromise the safety and handling of your car.

Drive your new car for a while, wear down your new tires.

A year later, if still cannot tahan, then change.

• Praise 12

My humble advice:

Leave it as it is, purchase two bottles of Sonax acid-free wheel cleaner.

You purchase silver chrome wheels, hard to maintain; even if curbed, hard to respray to the exact same colour.

Not to mention if you purchase some inferior rims, it will compromise the safety and handling of your car.

Drive your new car for a while, wear down your new tires.

A year later, if still cannot tahan, then change.

Thank you for the advise.

Will take your advise and use the original tyres and rims and see how it goes.

Have a great day.

just for info only

Some AD car may not equipped with Original wheel from Car factory

Original wheel from Car factory are tested and approved by Car maker (they will hold 100% responsibility of the products they supplied)

open market wheels are NOT all Bad, they are some Good or Premium Quality one.

shining paint or surface does not meant easier to clean.

one thing for sure Premium quality wheels the finished is easier to clean

Try contacting Toyo Chromium and see if they can help.

Hello all,

Just to seek some opinions and advise from MCF members and experience professional.

The car comes with a 18' matte/silver colored rims and I do not like the color. I've always been fan of shinny chrome rims as it is easy to clean and wash daily.

Is it advisable to purchase a new set of chrome rims (same size 18') and use back the tyres, or it is better to keep the OEM rims and have them chromed so that the performance is not wrongly compromised by the newly purchased chrome rims?

If the latter is true, then where in SG can get this service for chroming the rims?

TIA 

One BIG advice.  Stay away from cheap Taiwan rims. 

As some already advised, factory fitted stock rims is best.  If u don't like the design, then swap with another factory rim.

just MHO

there is some Good Quality rim from Taiwan (some Japanese rim contracted the manufacturing to Taiwan)

Many AD rim from Car manufacturer also outsource the production Taiwan / Malaysia / Thailand / China etc

is not the place of production

IS the Branding / Quality control /

just MHO

there is some Good Quality rim from Taiwan (some Japanese rim contracted the manufacturing to Taiwan)

Many AD rim from Car manufacturer also outsource the production Taiwan / Malaysia / Thailand / China etc

Iyo, what would be a quality Taiwanese rim (brand)?  TIA.

Coz if I go KM, 15 = mobilio's 15 x 5.5.   17= Odys's 17 x 7.5.  Either a tad narrow or large/wide.

Iyo, what would be a quality Taiwanese rim (brand)?  TIA.

Coz if I go KM, 15 = mobilio's 15 x 5.5.   17= Odys's 17 x 7.5.  Either a tad narrow or large/wide.

for your small car 15" can try SSR / Avanti  not a problem

otherwise can ask for rim like OZ / BBS if you have extra dollars to spend

17" I think you can go check for rim around like as mentioned earlier BBS / OZ  

for your small car 15" can try SSR / Avanti  not a problem

otherwise can ask for rim like OZ / BBS if you have extra dollars to spend

17" I think you can go check for rim around like as mentioned earlier BBS / OZ  

Thanks.  Was thinking along the likes of 15 x 6.5 inch.  Maybe paired with 185/65  or  195/60.

One BIG advice.  Stay away from cheap Taiwan rims. 

As some already advised, factory fitted stock rims is best.  If u don't like the design, then swap with another factory rim.

this reminds me of just a month ago, i was at Leong Seng waiting for new tyres to be fitted, one young chap drove up in a nice shiny new CLK coupe, went straight into the showroom (where i was waiting) and straight-away asked to see "Taiwan rims". I went outside and saw his shiny Mercedes had factory wheels. 

The rims he bought also never upsize, same diameter, so used back old tyres, just swapped out his OEM rims to Taiwan made ones... SMH...

Thanks.  Was thinking along the likes of 15 x 6.5 inch.  Maybe paired with 185/65  or  195/60.

make sure you get original rims that are really original, and not those cheap imitations, I seen crack on those imitations before, and you wont like the sight of it.  besides, getting a good set of rims can compliment the car itself

just MHO

Exactly. Many ppl still think vehicles and their parts is only made in Japan and Germany and nowhere else. It's 2016 yo.  :a-no:

last time I have seen with my own eyes at a tyres shop,

the guys using a sledge hammer trying to hammer back a Volvo orginal rim , 17' I believe.

its really using 2 hand full force wack, ( the tyres is on the rims to lower the sound )

but they still fail to hammer back the dent.

orginal rims esp conti ( bmw benz ) is that tough

where else those cheap rims, u just need to go over a few time pot hole, u dun see dent, they straight got hair line crack,

my own experience,

tyre shop check no nail, put in water, knn 1 small line crack, got bubble

but dun be mistaken, those so call repical rims cheap rims, they are perfectly legal and meet all the standard TUV  bababa.

but the material is simply different, and of course the price

Like that, back to square 1.  Stock is best.

Well for comfort, guess the only 'original' choice left will be Mobilio's 15 x 5.5  & I wonder how much KM charges for that.  $200/pc? 

Then go with 175/65 or 185/65.

Hello all,

TIA 

Please let us know what brand and model and sub-model. Then can advice if the rim is direct from factory or locally fitted.

If from factory, then best to continue using. If locally fitted, then changing is not much impact

Carbon fibre rims are the best! No, these are not stock rims...

I doubt these are cheap too.

post-100773-0-80160300-1456236024_thumb.jpg

Edited by Weez911