Google planning to remove app drawer on Android

Yamapi

The evidence supporting the lack of an app drawer in the Android N release is really starting to stack up. The just-announced LG G5 has no app drawer and while the Galaxy S7 does have an app drawer, there is a hidden setting to remove it. All of this is making it look increasingly likely that Google is indeed planning to ditch one of Android’s most recognizable features.

http://www.androidauthority.com/exclusive-android-n-may-not-have-an-app-drawer-674571/

http://www.androidauthority.com/android-n-no-app-drawer-evidence-lg-g5-samsung-galaxy-s7-675315/

Android becoming iPhone liao!

what's app drawer?

The evidence supporting the lack of an app drawer in the Android N release is really starting to stack up. The just-announced LG G5 has no app drawer and while the Galaxy S7 does have an app drawer, there is a hidden setting to remove it. All of this is making it look increasingly likely that Google is indeed planning to ditch one of Android’s most recognizable features.

http://www.androidauthority.com/exclusive-android-n-may-not-have-an-app-drawer-674571/

http://www.androidauthority.com/android-n-no-app-drawer-evidence-lg-g5-samsung-galaxy-s7-675315/

Android becoming iPhone liao!

Edited by Kangadrool

after google on the android app drawer, it is a folder that contain all the apps which is not on the front pages.

Anyway i think xiaomi already do away with this app drawer, whatever download will all be shown and not hidden in the drawer (can't find one in MIUI).

i also find app drawer quite redundant.

I install Gogole NOw Launcher for my Mi Pad. Feels more complete.

At least front page use for widgets, and Weather and News. Don't have to clutter them with Apps which I use only once a while.

Personally, I don't like it. Makes searching of app harder.

Most of us don't use most of our apps most of the time.

So just put your often used apps on your home screen(s) and arrange your app drawer in alphabetical order and it should be fine. Removing the app drawer and placing ALL your apps on the home screens - now THAT will make searching for your app harder.

For Android users, that shouldn't be as much of a problem, as we can always use custom launchers / etc.

I like hiding majority of my unused apps, only leaving one home page where my frequently used apps are. No need to let others see what I have... [sly]

Official name for Android O is announced. It's Oreo.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGleoPDCsGU

Looks good. Google made it simpler to navigate and at the same time, more customization. Background app management is going to be good for battery life.

Other than nexus or google phones, I think the rest probably needs to wait (like ever) for OTA updates. The upcoming note 8, V30 and pixel 2 probably going to release with 8.0 build in. Can't wait.

Official name for Android O is announced. It's Oreo.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGleoPDCsGU

Looks good. Google made it simpler to navigate and at the same time, more customization. Background app management is going to be good for battery life.

Other than nexus or google phones, I think the rest probably needs to wait (like ever) for OTA updates. The upcoming note 8, V30 and pixel 2 probably going to release with 8.0 build in. Can't wait.

i recently updated my android OS. Battery drain improved but there's a bug for me, my screen auto brightness cannot be set. It keeps defaulting to be switched off.

That's kind of the risk when we do the update. Say upgrading from 6.0 to 7.0, developer needs to works on every aspect of the current software on top of 7.0. Usually there will be bugs so I always wait for awhile or read up for any bugs before doing the upgrade. Sometimes it is safer to stay original. Those bugs will be sorted out as developers releases build updates.

LL. i can't stand the everyday ask me to install the update notification  [laugh]

i tahan one month, then buay tahan, install it liao. Cos im planning to switch phones anyway in 2 months time.

I find that updating always comes with the risk that the phone starts to run slower.

Maybe they do it on purpose so we will change phone.