North Korea sentences U.S. student Otto Warmbier to 15 years

Mercury1

Was thinking of visiting NK previously with the wife, guess this is another example of how touchy the regime is. Guess this guy is screwed big time  [dizzy]

http://edition.cnn.com/2016/03/16/asia/north-korea-warmbier-sentenced/index.html

(CNN)North Korea has sentenced American student Otto Frederick Warmbier to 15 years hard labor for crimes against the state, a North Korean official confirmed to CNN Wednesday.

Warmbier had traveled to Pyongyang on a trip organized by Young Pioneer Tours, a China-based travel company. He was arrested on January 2, 2016, as he was about to board a plane to leave the country.

160316153749-otto-warmbier-sentenced-med

Warmbier is escorted at the North Korean Supreme Court on Wednesday, March 16, 2016.

In an emotional press conference last month, the 21-year-old student at the University of Virginia admitted to attempting to steal a banner with a political slogan from his hotel in the North Korean capital. It is not known whether Warmbier made the admission under duress.

Appearing to read from a statement, he said: "I committed the crime of taking down a political slogan from the staff holding area of the Yanggakdo International Hotel."

"I never, never should have allowed myself to be lured by the United States administration to commit a crime in this country," he said tearfully, as he begged for forgiveness.

"I wish that the United States administration never manipulate people like myself in the future to commit crimes against foreign countries. I entirely beg you, the people and government of the DPRK, for your forgiveness. Please! I made the worst mistake of my life!"

160229182648-exp-tsr-todd-detained-ameri

Warmbier tearfully confessed to "hostile acts" against the DPRK

The North Korean government alleges Warmbier was encouraged to commit the "hostile act" by a purported member of an Ohio church, a secretive university organization and even the CIA.

The tour company he traveled with said on its website it is aware of his sentencing and that it should "be viewed in similar context of previous cases of Americans being sentenced in the DPRK."

Kenneth Bae and Matthew Miller are the most recentAmerican detainees who have been released by North Korea.

Both were accused of perpetrating "hostile acts" against North Korea; Miller spent less than a year in custody after being sentenced to six years hard labor, and Bae, facing a 15-year sentence, was held for nearly two years.

The pair secured their freedom in late 2014.

Former New Mexico Gov. Bill Richardson told The New York Times he met with two North Korean diplomats on Tuesday to lobby for Warmbier's release.

Richardson is a veteran diplomat and a former U.S. ambassador to the United Nations.

Don't worry. SG and NK are good buddies.

Their officials always come here when they wanna meet SK for talks.

Wah Lan eh, our courts already harsh on our sinkies, I think one sinkie kanna caught there they will say orbi good, double that sentence while you're at it :D

Don't worry. SG and NK are good buddies.

Their officials always come here when they wanna meet SK for talks.

Still want to visit NK ?

You should have your head examine first.

Those crazy people can charge you with anything.

Edited by Kb27

To me anyone who want to travel to this country is looking for trouble.

There are many country that can spend your money.

Lol, when we were planning the visit it was when the lao peh was in charge. Weird as it sounds the reviews we read and situation were stable. Then the lao peh dies and we changed our minds haha

Still want to visit NK ?

You should have your head examine first.

Those crazy people can charge you with anything.

Singaporean are brave! Just look at how many Singaporean travelling north to pump petrol everyday. :XD::secret-laugh::yuush:

The north from here is much friendlier than the north there [laugh]

Forbidden fruit mah. The more ppl say no, the more those itchy backsides want to taste it. Now that the ang moh had tasted it....face the 

consequences.

NK just want ang mohs to kowtow to them to make themselves feel good.

I've had a few dealings with North Koreans (don't worry cleared compliance and sanction checks), but I meet with them in Dalian.

Sekali go Pyongyang they not happy with negotiations then I cannot come back [laugh]

I've had a few dealings with North Koreans (don't worry cleared compliance and sanction checks), but I meet with them in Dalian.

Sekali go Pyongyang they not happy with negotiations then I cannot come back [laugh]

bloody hell... you are some arms dealer ah... :ninja:

Now the Americans know the cost of Vandalising  ; remember Micheal Fay?? They created a Hoo-Haa here and belittle us but our Govt did not give in , much. Suka Suka take signage as memorabilia now kenna; 

Of course the NK will free him in matter of time; its all political 

bloody hell... you are some arms dealer ah... :ninja:

No no just doing some marine stuff.

This guy YOLO lah, so let him face the consequences lor.

Wah..... So James bond...

But I thought most of them do dealings in Dandong (sp?)

I was in Dandong for a business trip.

Didn't realize then, the friendship bridge to NK is just around the corner.

Sino-Korea_Friendship_Bridge_01.jpg

Many Korean shops there, I think maybe NK refugees, I bet they won't want to cross back to NK

US ask NK to release the student.

Then went on to slap more sanctions on NK.

I wonder will they run out of things to sanction ?