Dyson, the New Kid on the Block

Carbon82

Dyson developing an electric car, according to government documents

The company last year refused to confirm they were working on a green vehicle, but a government plan on infrastructure suggests they are

Dyson is developing an electric car at its headquarters in Wiltshire with help from public money, according to government documents.

The company, which makes a range of products that utilise the sort of highly efficient motors needed for an electric car such as vacuum cleaners, hand dryers and bladeless fans, last year refused to rule out rumours it was building one.

But on Wednesday, the government appeared to have accidentally disclosed Dyson is working on one, along with other big companies outside of the automotive industry, such as Apple.

“The government is funding Dyson to develop a new battery electric vehicle at their headquarters in Malmesbury, Wiltshire. This will secure £174m of investment in the area, creating over 500 jobs, mostly in engineering,” said the National Infrastructure Delivery Plan, published on Wednesday.

When Dyson CEO, Max Conze, was asked last year if the company was working on an electric car, he said: “We are ruling nothing out. Like our friends in Cupertino [Apple] we are also unhealthily obsessive when it comes to taking apart our products to make them better.”

Dyson recently reported profits up 20% in 2015, driven by strong growth in China, and said it plans to invest £1bn in battery technology over the next five years. Last October, Dyson bought solid-state battery company, Sakti3, for $90m, which founder Sir James Dyson said had “developed a breakthrough in battery technology.”

Asked if the company was, as the government suggested, developing an electric car, a Dyson spokesman said: “We never comment on products that are in development.”

The Guardian has also contacted the Office for Low Emissions Vehicles, which encourages the roll-out of electric vehicles as a way to cut air pollution and lower carbon emissions, and is awaiting details on the exact level of funding.

Dyson, 68, has a long history of inventions. He designed the Rotork Sea Truck, a fast cargo boat in 1970, which has been used by the military and is still sold today. In 1974, he designed the Ballbarrow, a barrow with a ball replacing the wheel, having been frustrated by wheelbarrows getting stuck in mud on a building site.

His breakthrough was the bagless vaucum cleaner, which was inspired by air cyclones used in sawmills to suck up sawdust. Since then, he has created bladeless fans and the Airblade hand dryer.

Many of Dyson’s devices use small, light and efficient electric motors developed over 10 years by his company, which may find application in developing a new electric car. Dyson is a now worth several billion pounds and in 2014 pledged his company would spend £1.5bn on research and development to create future products, aiming to launch 100 new electrical products by 2018.

Dyson Reportedly Developing An Electric Car Of Its Own

There are so many potential jokes, quips, and overall smartass remarks to be mined from the prospect of a vacuum cleaner company designing a car which, contrary to the firm’s essential business, doesn’t suck, that we’ll cut straight to the otherwise buried lead…

Originally tipped by The Guardian, U.K. company Dyson is developing an electric car of its own at its headquarters in Wiltshire, England, and according to government documents, the Brits are publically funding the enterprise. Both the company and the government have yet to officially comment on the situation.

The Guardian says a just-published National Infrastructure Delivery Plan revealed, likely by accident, “The government is funding Dyson to develop a new battery electric vehicle at their headquarters in Malmesbury, Wiltshire. This will secure £174m of investment in the area, creating over 500 jobs, mostly in engineering.” The newspaper further reports that Dyson bought solid-state battery company, Sakti3, for $90m last October, which founder Sir James Dyson said had “developed a breakthrough in battery technology.”

In 2014 Dyson reportedly pledged his company would spend £1.5bn on research and development to create future products, with the lofty goal of bringing 100 new items to market by 2018.

A big boost in the company’s favor in this regard is that its famed lineup of vacuum cleaners, bladeless fans and hand dryers not only incorporate cutting-edge electric motors, but come wrapped in revolutionary designs that essentially transform everyday household products into display-worthy items and enable Dyson to command premium prices for their wares.

Substitute “home computer” for “vacuum cleaner” and “operating system” for “electric motors,” and that sounds a lot like Apple if you ask us.

Edited by Carbon82

Sis bought a $700 dyson stand fan, broke down within a year. The fan is also not as strong as conventional ones. Cannot imagine how they will price their cars...

my dyson beri heavy too use....

maciam going through some punishing workout regime while vacuuming the dam house....

hope their entry leber cars don't weigh 2 tonnes [grin]

Edited by Toothiewabbit

No, it will blow, blow a hole in your pocket (given their pricing strategy)... -_- Coincidentallythey have just launched the most expensive hair dryer in history, today!!

Dyson's Supersonic hairdryer promises your most deluxe blow-dry ever -- for a price

"...  it's drastically more expensive than even high-end rival dryers -- a hairdryer from respected brand Parlux can be yours for less than a third of that online."

maciam going through some punishing workout regime while vacuuming the dam house....

Wabbit don't blame the vacuum cleaner. Who ask you to buy such a big house. [laugh]

Use their handheld model lor (read that the newer V8 model have battery life of 40 min), enough for a 5 room HDB flat or 3 bedder condo. If you are staying in landed property, Get your MAID to do the vacuuming lah. [laugh]  [laugh]  [lipsrsealed]

His maid is the one complaining to him.

She wants a salary increase cuz the vacuuming is too siong.

Wabbit don't blame the vacuum cleaner. Who ask you to buy such a big house. [laugh]

lemme re-phrase - wabbits stay in burrows or popularly know as rabbit holes [laugh]

sorlie I peasant class.....I DIY one [bigcry]

No, it will blow, blow a hole in your pocket (given their pricing strategy)... -_- Coincidentallythey have just launched the most expensive hair dryer in history, today!!

Dyson's Supersonic hairdryer promises your most deluxe blow-dry ever -- for a price

"...  it's drastically more expensive than even high-end rival dryers -- a hairdryer from respected brand Parlux can be yours for less than a third of that online."

I thought I saw "deluxe blow job ever -- for a price"

Checked the url to see I am still in the car forum and not accidentally go to bike forum  :yeah-im-not-drunk:

I thought I saw "deluxe blow job ever -- for a price"

Checked the url to see I am still in the car forum and not accidentally go to bike forum :yeah-im-not-drunk:

Hello, better go for a eye sight check, or have a good eye wash. The article title say "blow-dry" OK? Edited by Carbon82

This is what I Imagine how it will looked like. :grin:

Public_Cleansing_Header.jpg?itok=LAgRPpA

I can foresee domestic helper need to have a Class 4 driving licence in the future.

has anybody bought the new Dyson v10 (absolute)?

Any personal review?

Here is about car leh. 

You ask about vaccum cleaners?  :omg:

:XD:

Here is about car leh. 

You ask about vaccum cleaners?  :omg:

:XD:

You use your mouth to suck out dirt from the car mat is it

In addition there is a car powered by dyson vacuum cleaner in the previous post