Maid in Haven

Achtung

3 weeks ago, I decided to let my maid go for her first 'off' day after 8 months working with me. Before this off day, it was mutually agreed that we compensate her for not taking off. This time round, I encouraged her to go 'see' the world by allowing off days.

Was supposed to be back at 6 pm. It was 9 pm and no sign of her. I kind of thought she may have lost her way, so I troed calling her mobile but it was off. Then it struck me that she might have ran away. But.... all her belongings were not taken.

Was told to wait 24 hours before lodging a Police report. Informed the agency and no advice given at all. Was speaking to some of my BFFs and they suggested me calling H.O.M.E. Didnt really know what it was so I gave it a try and called. Lo and behold, my maid had conveniently 'checked-in' herself! With that check-in, our friend had also drawn up a list of incredulous accusations! The lady at HOME sarcasticly said that SHE IS SAFE HERE. SHE HAVE THE RIGHT TO STAY HERE INDEFINTELY! I farked her up and asked them why did they not contact me as the employer upon check in as we were worried she got raped or killed somewhere etc. She gave some nonchalant reply as if she cant be bothered.

I did some research and realised this is the same outfit run by some folk called Jolovan Wham that prevents injured foreign workers to be repatriated. I didn't know that they do maids too! What statutory right do they have to keep maids? Why was I not informed as the employer? Who funds them? What if, these maids, are 'chao geng'? Does that mean, they get a free holiday in a chalet doing nothing for an indefinite period of time? Is there a limit in the time they can stay there?

MOM has contacted me regarding the accusations and I will be there on Friday to counter them. Anyone else has any of such experience? Can we repatriate the darn bitch after closure with MOM or MOM has the right to decide?

Any input will be helpful.

p.s. I do not need any flame wars. So keep the sarcasm and accusations to yourself. Thanks.

3 weeks ago, I decided to let my maid go for her first 'off' day after 8 months working with me. Before this off day, it was mutually agreed that we compensate her for not taking off. This time round, I encouraged her to go 'see' the world by allowing off days.

Was supposed to be back at 6 pm. It was 9 pm and no sign of her. I kind of thought she may have lost her way, so I troed calling her mobile but it was off. Then it struck me that she might have ran away. But.... all her belongings were not taken.

Was told to wait 24 hours before lodging a Police report. Informed the agency and no advice given at all. Was speaking to some of my BFFs and they suggested me calling H.O.M.E. Didnt really know what it was so I gave it a try and called. Lo and behold, my maid had conveniently 'checked-in' herself! With that check-in, our friend had also drawn up a list of incredulous accusations! The lady at HOME sarcasticly said that SHE IS SAFE HERE. SHE HAVE THE RIGHT TO STAY HERE INDEFINTELY! I farked her up and asked them why did they not contact me as the employer upon check in as we were worried she got raped or killed somewhere etc. She gave some nonchalant reply as if she cant be bothered.

I did some research and realised this is the same outfit run by some folk called Jolovan Wham that prevents injured foreign workers to be repatriated. I didn't know that they do maids too! What statutory right do they have to keep maids? Why was I not informed as the employer? Who funds them? What if, these maids, are 'chao geng'? Does that mean, they get a free holiday in a chalet doing nothing for an indefinite period of time? Is there a limit in the time they can stay there?

MOM has contacted me regarding the accusations and I will be there on Friday to counter them. Anyone else has any of such experience? Can we repatriate the darn bitch after closure with MOM or MOM has the right to decide?

p.s. I do not need any flame wars. So keep the sarcasm and accusations to yourself. Thanks.

Bro Ahtung,

It's sad to read your maid has not return after her day-off, my advise is to seek legal assistant to protect your family interest.

There must be something wrong somewhere ? I would rather not to get into any further inquiries but she must have been taught or instigated by her friends to use this recourse or maybe something up in her sleeve for unknown motives.

Bro Ahtung,

It's sad to read your maid has not return after her day-off, my advise is to seek legal assistant to protect your family interest.

There must be something wrong somewhere ? I would rather not to get into any further inquiries but she must have been taught or instigated by her friends to use this recourse or maybe something up in her sleeve for unknown motives.

Exactly. First day off and she knows what to do n where to go? I suspect foul play n the agent is involved.

Errr.. 8 months 1 day off.... What are the accusations? You have proof of the compensation such as the day off extra money banked in?

Exactly. First day off and she knows what to do n where to go? I suspect foul play n the agent is involved.

Their most common strategy to change employer is to complaint against the current one and you may have to check with your whole family whether are there any "wrong treatment" that she might claim allegations against ?

Having legal advise is to prepare in defensive stand come by those NGO !

Their most common strategy to change employer is to complaint against the current one and you may have to check with your whole family whether are there any "wrong treatment" that she might claim allegations against ?

Having legal advise is to prepare in defensive stand come by those NGO !

MOM handling case n I m told of the accusations. Thank god I got cctv at home!!

So long she can't prove any ill-treatment, your family are safe.

You shall prepare yourself to defence MOM interrogations and justify she's been well treated since day one.

she wants to go home.......and this is the best route to take........without breaking the contract or paying for own ticket.....

any loan balance? ...........if 8 months already likely no more loan liao.............you can just go to MOM website and cancel her work permit............buy a one way air ticket and send her back after the issue closed.

very common bro..............very common...........

but go read through the employment contract again................and also MOM official requirement...........there are many "rules" that many of us actually didnt bother to follow............

Things like they are suppose to be given a bed and proper sleeping area..............at least 8 hours of sleep............and given a day off every week................all these can work against you..............but as long as not very serious issues................usually MOM also not too bother............

just send her back lor..............but check with agency on how is the replacement............if no replacement means new agency fee for a new maid hor..........start from zero ...........

• Praise 18

Bro I feel for you - she can make any sorts of accusations that she likes, and, unfortunately she is able to stay here until the case is resolved. 

As to advice - having never faced any similar situation before, there is little that I can offer other then general common sense. 

First and foremost - listen carefully to what H.O.M.E says - if at all possible, try to see if you can record it.  A quick visit to SIM LIM or Challenger will get you a land line phone recorder - I think also some handphones have this function.  Worst to worst - use 1 phone on speaker, and a second to record it. It might be a bit late for the first round, but for future discussions it might be helpful. 

Secondly - you are NOT angry, nor are you a WRONGED party.  You are a concerned employer who is worried about the health (both mental and physical) of a valued employee.  You want to make sure that she is properly taken care of, that she has not been pressured or otherwise influenced against her will.  

At the same time you are also bewildered by these accusations - and you genuinely want to understand them.  If there is something that you have done, even unintentionally, you want to understand the issue so that you can improve it. 

Any signs of "anger" or "scolding" or similar accusations of dishonesty will portray you as a bully, overbearing and strengthen whatever case she thinks she has against you.  

Use your time to compile whatever you can to improve the hand you have been dealt - if she eats with you when you go out (and you can prove this) put together the evidence - if you have any photos of her with your family - print them out to show the police.  

Call either HOME or the Police - and ask for their advice on what should happen to her belongings - and then follow this advice to the letter.  Until they say so, don't touch any of her things, don't search them and don't do anything that is prejudicial to saying she is a "bad person".  Remember, you think she is confused, that she has misunderstood, that you want to be a kind and caring employer.  It might be hard to swallow, when she appears to you to be conniving and calculating - but do bear in mind the final point...

H.O.M.E (and the Police) do see many many genuine cases of abuse and bullying.  They don't know you.  H.O.M.E will certainly side her - the police, not so much - they want to get to the bottom of the case.  The more reasonable you appear to the police, the easier things will go for you.  The whole idea is that you want to partner both organisations to understand the cause of the problem - you are not looking to refute her or tear her down.

And finally - think and reflect very very carefully.  It's possible that what is a "small matter" to you, what is "right and fair" (both objectively and subjectively) in the way you have treated her may not be seen that way be her.  She may not be acting out of spite, and  she may not be "cheating" - she may genuinely feel bullied or harassed, where you may have been keeping salary for her or saving her money or where she may have had loan to repay, it is possible she doesn't fully understand this.  So do listen carefully to what is being said.  Use facts, but don't get upset.  

• Praise 31

Errr.. 8 months 1 day off.... What are the accusations? You have proof of the compensation such as the day off extra money banked in?

She signs off her pay. Accusations such as I force her eat expire food! Knn eat Tao Huay, eat Chee Cheong fun, laksa etc. What we eat, she eats! Make my blood boil.

Read my text... No off was mutually agreed

Edited by Achtung

Bro I feel for you - she can make any sorts of accusations that she likes, and, unfortunately she is able to stay here until the case is resolved. 

As to advice - having never faced any similar situation before, there is little that I can offer other then general common sense. 

First and foremost - listen carefully to what H.O.M.E says - if at all possible, try to see if you can record it.  A quick visit to SIM LIM or Challenger will get you a land line phone recorder - I think also some handphones have this function.  Worst to worst - use 1 phone on speaker, and a second to record it. It might be a bit late for the first round, but for future discussions it might be helpful. 

Secondly - you are NOT angry, nor are you a WRONGED party.  You are a concerned employer who is worried about the health (both mental and physical) of a valued employee.  You want to make sure that she is properly taken care of, that she has not been pressured or otherwise influenced against her will.  

At the same time you are also bewildered by these accusations - and you genuinely want to understand them.  If there is something that you have done, even unintentionally, you want to understand the issue so that you can improve it. 

Any signs of "anger" or "scolding" or similar accusations of dishonesty will portray you as a bully, overbearing and strengthen whatever case she thinks she has against you.  

Use your time to compile whatever you can to improve the hand you have been dealt - if she eats with you when you go out (and you can prove this) put together the evidence - if you have any photos of her with your family - print them out to show the police.  

Call either HOME or the Police - and ask for their advice on what should happen to her belongings - and then follow this advice to the letter.  Until they say so, don't touch any of her things, don't search them and don't do anything that is prejudicial to saying she is a "bad person".  Remember, you think she is confused, that she has misunderstood, that you want to be a kind and caring employer.  It might be hard to swallow, when she appears to you to be conniving and calculating - but do bear in mind the final point...

H.O.M.E (and the Police) do see many many genuine cases of abuse and bullying.  They don't know you.  H.O.M.E will certainly side her - the police, not so much - they want to get to the bottom of the case.  The more reasonable you appear to the police, the easier things will go for you.  The whole idea is that you want to partner both organisations to understand the cause of the problem - you are not looking to refute her or tear her down.

And finally - think and reflect very very carefully.  It's possible that what is a "small matter" to you, what is "right and fair" (both objectively and subjectively) in the way you have treated her may not be seen that way be her.  She may not be acting out of spite, and  she may not be "cheating" - she may genuinely feel bullied or harassed, where you may have been keeping salary for her or saving her money or where she may have had loan to repay, it is possible she doesn't fully understand this.  So do listen carefully to what is being said.  Use facts, but don't get upset.  

well said from a white   [angel]

She signs off her pay. Accusations such as I force her eat expire food! Knn eat Tao Huay, eat Chee Cheong fun, laksa etc. What we eat, she eats! Make my blood boil.

eat expire food is words against words lah..................all maids are given helpline to run for help one...............many of them use the same pattern to go home one lah..............so that they dont have to pay balance loan or buy air tickets............

Maybe she dont like those food.............or not use to those food .........or against their religion ........whatever the reason..........unless you got ill treat her................otherwise end up is send her back only lor..............

Btw.........mutual agree no count one bro..........MOM  is always go black and white one........

Bro,

Take Darryn affirmative advices, don't be too up-set and must get prepare to answering NGO and MOM.

Please remember there is another good maid waiting for your employment.

Bro,

Take Darryn affirmative advices, don't be too up-set and must get prepare to answering NGO and MOM.

Please remember there is another good maid waiting for your employment.

Frankly speaking bro, I had had enough of maids. Worse than managing my staff. All talk about human rights. Edited by Achtung

So you have proof that you paid for her off days? Or a document to say you mutually agreed on no off days?

I m not accusing you here, just that so far based on limited info you giving the worst thing is the no off part which you need to defend.

Eating expired food is your word against hers, but things such as no off is quite clear cut.

So you have proof that you paid for her off days? Or a document to say you mutually agreed on no off days?

I m not accusing you here, just that so far based on limited info you giving the worst thing is the no off part which you need to defend.

Eating expired food is your word against hers, but things such as no off is quite clear cut.

Her off days compensation n her signing off that she agrees to no off days.

Frankly speaking bro, I had had enough of maids. Worse than managing my staff. All talk about human rights.

Well, human beings are make of complexity in values of beliefs, we need to be firm to fundamental conscientious.