This Is Why Some People Get Promoted At Work

Little_prince

Whatever theories there are, the person who has the power to promote must like you. Else there's nothing else to talk about. Ability, politics, relationships etc don't matter.

so afterward the company is going to go upwards or downwards  :mellow:

post-91387-0-95835000-1463238279.gif

I dreamt I rod

Everybody else was too busy to congratulate me

Then someone prank call me so early

Knn

I dreamt I rod

Everybody else was too busy to congratulate me

Then someone prank call me so early

Knn

wanna go bak?  [:p]

mallet.jpg

My company quite unique one.

The reliable are entrusted with more work.

The less reliable gets promoted.

I believe mcfers are all high flyers and occupying high positions in their respective jobs.....

And they can surf mcf during office hours too

Except me of course I kah kia for life

This brings up an interesting debate or discussion and not criticism but one to really reflect upon.

My personal observations:

1. We preached and convinced others that we practice meritocracy but in realty do we walk the talk. We have generals who had no experience in "real world" people management let along knowledge of the private industry but parachuted into Industry's captain positions. Just because of giving one general a chance for his career to excel what price we have to pay. eg NOL. Are there locals in Singapore that we become so desparate? Aren't our Universities coming out among the tops in the world? We should not be lacking in talents.

2. It is all well and good when there is no major events such as disaster (financially or socially). But when the system is stressed, in most of the time we cannot come up with a solution, let alone admit the root cause and solve the problem. Breaking down of trains - more breakdown but MRT more reliable, Little India - alcohol is at fault. I dare not imagine what knee jerk reaction we would take when one of our neighbours play punk.

3. I don't understand why we always think "ang moh" are better than locals among our industry leaders. I give you a real example. When we hired our consultant, we pitch a local and an angmoh. The local presented his textbook ideas but the angmoh goes around the industry and asked their opinion. The angmoh came back and tell us "his ideas" (he actually used industry player's opinion and use it as if it is his and make recommendations). This is something we can learn from the angmohs. 

4. We were pitching for business in China. We hired a French national to "act" as a consultant specialist at a fraction of the cost to hire a local. They don't need expatriate salary and all they need was a room. They are really cheap to hire because I guess European economy is really bad now with high unemployment. We flew him with us to China to our presentation to our client's office. During the meeting, the French guy knew almost nothing what we were talking about but he was there to front that an angmoh "expert" is behind this and on and off he goes "wee" "wee" meaning agreed during the meeting. Needless to say, we got the contract.

5. How this affects us? Many medium to small enterprise follow the precedent and hence here we are today. Many industries have this crutch mentality. As long as we follow the way the authorities do, when trouble comes, we can hand long long and seek help from the authorities as we had been good boys and girls following the "industry practice".

The point here is we are practicing and perpetuating a flawed system of promotion based on false sense of security, cronyism and etc. We are lucky in the past but in the near future we may not be so lucky because the world is very volatile with wild extremes of swing. We need to revamp our system in our industry, otherwise when the next "tsunami" comes we may not recover. The other side-effect we will suffer is brain drain too.

I believe mcfers are all high flyers and occupying high positions in their respective jobs.....

ð

high flyers can any time drop dead, better be table wiper.

i working in a big company.

my dept director doesn't like me becos i don't work directly under him and so i don't greet him every morning and we never talk or meet the eyes. i know he doesn't like me becos my immediate boss (assistance director) told me many times.  -_-

i working in a big company.

my dept director doesn't like me becos i don't work directly under him and so i don't greet him every morning and we never talk or meet the eyes. i know he doesn't like me becos my immediate boss (assistance director) told me many times. -_-

Your Asst. Director beri caring hor, constantly updating you and reminding you of dat.

i have been working under this AD since i first started with the company many years ago. so he knows my pattern. the director was

transfered to our dept 2 years ago after a major restructuring. the AD once commented that i am someone who has little ambition

and i don't 明争暗斗。i just do my duty and get paid for my work. so it seems that work and status are NOT my first priority in life.

i have been working under this AD since i first started with the company many years ago. so he knows my pattern. the director was

transfered to our dept 2 years ago after a major restructuring. the AD once commented that i am someone who has little ambition

and i don't 明争暗斗。i just do my duty and get paid for my work. so it seems that work and status are NOT my first priority in life.

Cos you don't like to do this like many people do,

Sadly, it's not what you know and do but whom you know and carry to get promoted.

post-736-0-40176200-1463294045.jpg

talking about how one should be vocal, presentable and be known in a positive way in a company to get recognition as a material of

a management staff is very real. when i first started this company 7+ years ago, this AD was just a senior project exec. he was

promoted to APM after we both completed a major project. he believes that one must carry yourself like a management staff in

order to be recognised as one. so he worn a jacket, sometime a suit walking around the office everyday. as a APM, he was already

be seen mixing around with the management staffs only.

During the company D&D, he will gel himself into the crowd only for the management staffs pretending he (APM) is also one.

he got promoted to PM one year later.

one lao jiao SPM resigned. and he got promoted to SPM another year later.

he has his own way of working style. becos he is very experience and confident with his work, he would tell the clients what to do.

but becos he is abit ah beng style (dealing with clients), so sometimes he offended the high calibre clients with the words he used

and got backfire and the complains would escalate to our CEO. but no one could touch him becos he bring loaf of bread and butter

to our dept.

this SPM was so strong that his present somehow threatened our dept ex-director. so the 2 got heart issues 心病. the ex-director

tried very hard to make the SPM leave but failed becos our CEO suka the SPM. one day, the ex-director and the SPM argued

over certain issues in the office. ex-director cannot tahan liao, ceased the chance to embarrass the SPM by slamming the table in

the director's room. to show him who is the boss. the SPM walked out of the room and went MIA for a few days. few months later,

the director started to collect empty boxes to tabao his stuffs and now he is our ex-director.  :XD:

than this SPM got promoted to AD this year. 

during the appraiser 2015, the AD says he is recommending a promotion for me. but it doesn't happened. i think my director put the promotion file under KIV folder. KNN,  :nosebleed: