Tough Love Gone Wrong?

Vratenza

Japan dad apologises for abandoning son, thanks rescuers
japandad1200_reuters.jpg

Photo: Reuters

Tokyo - The father of a seven-year-old Japanese boy who went missing for nearly a week after his parents abandoned him in a mountain forest as punishment apologised on Friday hours after his son was found safe.

"My excessive act forced my son to have a painful time," Yamato Tanooka's father told reporters outside the hospital where his son was being treated

Yamato was discovered in a building on a Japanese military base around 4 km (2.5 miles) from where he disappeared last Saturday after his parents left him by the side of a road, reportedly as discipline for throwing stones at cars.

MissingJapBoy05_reutersetc.jpg

"One of our soldiers was preparing for drills this morning and opened the door of a building on the base, and there he was," a member of Japan's Self-Defence Forces told NHK national television.

"When he asked 'are you Yamato?' the boy said yes. Then he said he was hungry, so the soldier gave him some water, bread and riceballs."

Yamato was taken to hospital for checks but was healthy except for low body temperature and would be kept overnight as a precaution, a doctor told a news conference.

A tearful Takayuki Tanooka, the boy's father, thanked rescuers for their efforts and apologised for causing trouble.

"We've reflected on what we did and it was really excessive," Tanooka said, his voice shaking.

"We - well, we loved him before, but I hope to give him even more attention now," he said.

"I deeply apologise to people at his school, people in the rescue operation, and everybody for causing them trouble," he added.

Yamato's parents first said he disappeared while they foraged for edible plants, but later told police they had left him by the road to discipline him after he threw stones at people and cars.

They said when they drove back a few minutes later the boy had disappeared.

The area is so remote that residents of the region say they rarely go through it.

The boy somehow managed to survive for nearly a week in the densely forested area, where night temperatures fell as low as 7 degrees Celsius (45 Fahrenheit) and heavy rain had fallen, despite wearing only a t-shirt and jeans.

Yamato said he had "walked through the mountains" until he found the building, which was unlocked. He drank water from a nearby faucet and slept on mattresses spread on the floor.

The search for Yamato gripped Japan. At its peak, it involved several hundred shouting rescuers beating through heavy bush, as well as soldiers on motorbikes and police on horseback.

News programmes gave regular updates throughout the week, and NHK sent a news flash when he was found.

The incident set off a flood of social media comment, with most of those posting comments lambasting the parents for their carelessness. On Friday, most expressed relief.

"To be honest, I was certain of a sad result. As the parent of a 7-year-old myself, all I can say is that I am really, really happy," one wrote.

http://news.asiaone.com/news/asia/japan-dad-apologises-abandoning-son-thanks-rescuers

The boy somehow managed to survive for nearly a week in the densely forested area, where night temperatures fell as low as 7 degrees Celsius (45 Fahrenheit) and heavy rain had fallen, despite wearing only a t-shirt and jeans.

Potential elite soldier.

he didn't stay in the woods overnight, lucky he found the accommodation camp on the first night, but only survive with water for 6 days, still very tough for a boy.

Father seems to be a disciplinarian type of parent.

Wanted to teach his son a lesson the tough way but all went wrong and I guess a line has to be drawn on what is allowed and what is not. That said easy for any parent to get carried away esp if the boy is willful. Normally good to have a mum (other parent) to balance off the strict other half but I think Jap culture is such that the mum dare not challenge the authoritative dad and there you have it.....a near disaster. Thankfully a good ending but equally important a lesson learnt for all parents!! 

In mcf limpeh is tough but not love hor

Wait @angcheek and @staff69 Hv ideas.. Knn

But yea, this boy is tough. Damn lucky he is alive

You tough ... i hard .

Ie die hard

• Praise 13

How a dad can leave his Son alone out for six days is beyond me. I cannot even bare to leave my youngest Daughter who is 8 yo stranded outside alone for a minute. What if he/ she gets gone forever ? Really wtf.

Edited by Ingenius

Wah six days don't eat. Think I will be lying on the ground.

Don't bluff.

You problem make bak kwa out of the wild boar. Have fresh milk from the passing cow. Stir fry mixed fresh forest vegetables.

sure if I had such a meal for 6 days straight I too would be lying on the ground.

ya ya ....i know you macho

post-131345-0-61027500-1464954178.jpg

How a dad can leave his Son alone out for six days is beyond me. I cannot even bare to leave my youngest Daughter who is 8 yo stranded outside alone for a minute. What if he/ she gets gone forever ? Really wtf.

Err.... You read wrongly.. He leave the boy for 5-10 min and the boy go missing. The search last 6 days then the boy is found.

This boy probably bo huey the situatiob.

When dad abandon him, hee probably say hosay liao.... finally free.

ha ha ha

To be fair he didn't leave his Son alone for 6 days, he only planned to leave him for a few minute, but forgot the boy got legs and can walk away. The boy probably panicked or angry and ran off. I got a feeling it's not the first time the dad choot this stunt.

"To be honest, I was certain of a sad result. As the parent of a 7-year-old myself, all I can say is that I am really, really happy," one wrote.

http://news.asiaone.com/news/asia/japan-dad-apologises-abandoning-son-thanks-rescuers

As a parent, I was following the news closely too.

To be honest, by Wednesday, I told my wife this kid is probably gone.

No one can survive in the woods without anything and expect to be found alive in 5 days. Let alone a kid will no supplies and freezing night temperatures.

like the netizen, I was also certain of a sad result.

All I can say....the boy's damn lucky to find the army bunk within the critical period of survival.

And yes, I was relieved too.

The parents are lucky to have given a second chance. Someone up there is indeed watching over them (and punishing the dad too)

Edited by Pocus

And yes, I was relieved too.

The parents are lucky to have given a second chance.

yes, so glad all ended well.