Bulge on tyre sidewall, conflicting advise

Whiteice78

At the very least, swap the tyre to the rear not the front while you decide what to do.

When it blows out at least you dont lose steering as well...

correct me if I am wrong

It Is more dangerous to place the Injured (bulge) tire to the rear than front 

Because front is connector to your steering wheel so should your front got problems you can still control

Unlike the rear have any happen which most of wont be able to control .

I'm not blaming anyone... look I didn't even name the shop at all. I am even prepared to throw the $300 for 1 week of use and treat it as a lesson learnt. I did a visual inspection when they installed the tyres and there was no bulge.

I drove and know for a fact that I did not curb not hit any potholes. In fact the car was just sitting in the cp of my camp when I went in for ICT shortly after. The bulge only appeared yesterday. Reasonable assumption was the previous owner hit something and proceeded to change tyres even though they were more than 70% thread left.

Unreasonable was that the tyre shop for profit reasons told me it was safe to drive on and described the damage as "nothing lah". "wun burst one". I went to my regular mechanic just now for servicing and even he picked it up and told me to change. If you cant trust a tyre shop on tyre matters, who can you trust?  

It's all about ethics. We all want to make money but if it is at the expense of others' safety and well being, I believe we are better off not doing the biz. Anyway, I have already blacklisted this tyre shop. My first and last time patronizing them.

Just curious, did you check the date code on the tyres ? Usually, there is a XX/XX markings on the tyres ... Weeks/Year.

Anyway, you have learnt ... just move on lor and never to go back to that shop again.

Whatever it is, never compromise on safety. 

What i am trying to say is if it is about profit, the easiest way is to blame you for the bulge then ask you change tyres... afterall there was no bulge when you collected the car.

Why they tell you is safe... i do not know why... maybe you can ask them in here [sly]

They did bro, first thing they said is "u hit something". I said no, if hit then why is my rim swee swee at that part where the tyre was bulging? Then they proceeded to say aiyah nothing one, not dangerous....

Actually, dun underestimate the profit they make frm used tyres. For all u know, they could actually make more than the profit they make frm new tyres. How many of us actually managed to get anything out of tyre shops when we trade in used tyres. All will tell u they help u throw...

Just curious, did you check the date code on the tyres ? Usually, there is a XX/XX markings on the tyres ... Weeks/Year.

Anyway, you have learnt ... just move on lor and never to go back to that shop again.

Whatever it is, never compromise on safety.

Nope did not check, anyway not impt as swapping them off asap.

Yes, lesson learnt

correct me if I am wrong

It Is more dangerous to place the Injured (bulge) tire to the rear than front

Because front is connector to your steering wheel so should your front got problems you can still control

Unlike the rear have any happen which most of wont be able to control .

Rear is trailing and does not move or hv any axis so the injured tyre shd be behind if anything as a front blowout at speed would certainly mean a loss of control. Am i right? Edited by Whiteice78

I don't believe in buying used tyres, as I don't know their history.

Someone told me about an accident that happened to him earlier this year. He bought used rims and tyres which had lots of thread life from a scrap yard. One day while driving on the expressway, the front tyres burst and he lost control of the car. It was a total loss. All this happened within a month.. Thankfully, noone was hurt. 

They did bro, first thing they said is "u hit something". I said no, if hit then why is my rim swee swee at that part where the tyre was bulging? Then they proceeded to say aiyah nothing one, not dangerous....

so there was no test done as claimed? Are the 2nd hand tyres very old? you will be able to see the DOM on the tyre

sometimes rim swee swee but tyre kena due to rim protector.... not sure if your tyres have rim protector

you siao bo........ what has it got to do with the tyre shop........ they should be more than happy to ask TS to change so can earn more money....

It's obvious they don't want to do anything about it because it usually means replacing a tire for free. 

i dun think there is proof to show that the shop is cheating or dishonest to file a claim.

Not so much cheating but selling a defective product and not wanting to do anything about it. You can go down to file a claim.

It's obvious they don't want to do anything about it because it usually means replacing a tire for free. 

Not so much cheating but selling a defective product and not wanting to do anything about it. You can go down to file a claim.

I don't think it is possible to file a claim.. Unless you discover the problem at time of purchase, they can easily say you damaged it etc once you step out of the shop with the tyres..

Recently, was toying with the idea of upsizing wheels to 18s. Saw an advert for some 17" used tyres with reasonable amount of meat left so decided to purchase from a tyre shop that lists heavily in this forum while I take my time to shop for used premium 18s. 

Less than 300km of usage later, one of the tyres developed a bulge on the sidewall. The hump is no more than 3-5mm tall but after doing some research online, everything points to the tyre having being curbed and damaged. Most online advise was to switch out to prevent a blowout.

Went back to this tyre shop to seek assistance but was extremely surprised and puzzled that the boss and worker said it was not an issue and that the tyre is safe for continued use. I asked like 5 times but each time they reassured me it's not a problem. These guys run a tyre shop so they should be experts in this field, yet I keep reading otherwise online.

Anyone can clarify? Or have personal experiences?

TIA

My 2 cents, you went back to the same tyre shop, if they say it is an issue, means they saying they sold you defective tyres? So no way they will say it is a problem... if you go a different tyre shop I think they will tell you immediately change it....

It may be counter intuitive but never ask a tyre shop if you need to change tyres! The answer is almost always YES  [laugh]

Recently, was toying with the idea of upsizing wheels to 18s. Saw an advert for some 17" used tyres with reasonable amount of meat left so decided to purchase from a tyre shop that lists heavily in this forum while I take my time to shop for used premium 18s. 

Less than 300km of usage later, one of the tyres developed a bulge on the sidewall. The hump is no more than 3-5mm tall but after doing some research online, everything points to the tyre having being curbed and damaged. Most online advise was to switch out to prevent a blowout.

Went back to this tyre shop to seek assistance but was extremely surprised and puzzled that the boss and worker said it was not an issue and that the tyre is safe for continued use. I asked like 5 times but each time they reassured me it's not a problem. These guys run a tyre shop so they should be experts in this field, yet I keep reading otherwise online.

TIA

it means the tyre is internally "injured". sidewall is the weakest part of te tyre, its not even recomended for patching. Dont take the risk. replace it ASAP. The tyreshop say no problem? Ask them for a black and white to assure you!

Edited by Tigershark1976
  • Praise 14

I don't believe in buying used tyres, as I don't know their history.

Someone told me about an accident that happened to him earlier this year. He bought used rims and tyres which had lots of thread life from a scrap yard. One day while driving on the expressway, the front tyres burst and he lost control of the car. It was a total loss. All this happened within a month.. Thankfully, noone was hurt.

If I had to buy 2nd hand tyres it would be from a reputable tyre shop and after checking manufacturing date, I've been to scrapyards to source for tyres and I'm guessing the reason why your friends tyres burst like that is because they probably dumped the tyres in the yard exposed to the elements. Also no guessing how old the tyres are, if it's a scrap car they took it from could have been fairly old

Also if they took the spare tyres from all the scrap cars and put together a set that could have been 10 year old tires.

Edited by Mercury1

TIA

Pls ban kao this tyre shop.

And like many others here said, even if you pay your own, change it.

every time I read I learned 

always go to trusted reliable Expert / specialist. 

some go for just dollar and cents , to me they have a reasonable profit to run the business in order to serve you well

otherwise some monkey or hanky panky thing might happen

just my person POV

is nothing to buy a used / secondly parts like wheels or tires if you can trust him, and can ask to see the condition before installation

for wheels can ask to put on the machine and spin it/ tires just some visual look at least (any prospered repaired done should consider acceptable after all you are buying used parts).

Still no name of shop

Bro this shop is KxxHxx Tyre and Battery, apparently, they got 3 outlets I think.

Hold on while I try to upload a pic of the bulge...

Here is the pic of the bulge

post-28345-0-09270000-1467263249_thumb.jpg

I went to my regular Kim Hoe & Co tyre shop (Not to be confused with the other KxxHxx, initially I too thought they were the same) today and they said tyre cannot be used. Will be switching them off real soon.  

Edited by Whiteice78