Checking mileage of last servicing frm AD ( CnC )

Geniuspear

i just purchased a c180 from a direct owner. I called CnC today and ask for servicing record and mileage etc however they inform that its confidential to protect ex owner. They can only inform me the last servicing which is last year and even if i want to find out whether mounting or gearbox oil is changed, they cant reveal...

it seems that mercedes is the car for dishonest dealer to tweak mileage....

wth...

They told me the same thing when i called in to check, however you can tweak the way you ask the question and they more or less will help you out there.

i just said that I understand that they cannot let go of confidential information, but can you confirm that XXXXkm is roughly near what was recorded in your systems? if it is, most likely they will go yup or something.

I mean if they just let go of the number, then every dealer can just call in and get the information and use that number to tweak right?

i just purchased a c180 from a direct owner. I called CnC today and ask for servicing record and mileage etc however they inform that its confidential to protect ex owner. They can only inform me the last servicing which is last year and even if i want to find out whether mounting or gearbox oil is changed, they cant reveal...

wth...

Which is which?

wth...

This is normal, and i believe widely - if not by all - practised by all ADs. I assumed this is in response to the PDPA that was implemented in mid 14 i think. Nowadays anything constituting personal data must be strictly protected, by law.

I tried calling BM to ask about a car that I was considering buying, but was not given the info too. They only told me the date of last servicing.

If i become new owner and ask for servicing record, maybe they will relent.

wth...

Shouldn't there be a service booklet?

Even in my PI car, I have the workshop stamp and record every service interval and any major changes they've done.

Surely, an AD car should have something similar...

i think generally all AD dont want to reveal much info with the pretext of PDPA

wtf ... we are not asking info about the owner

dealer should be obliged to reveal some basic info like last serviced date, last serviced milleage, any major repair, etc

last time i was eyeing a used conti. the dealer told me if i signed, they will send the car in for service. i can go with him to collect the car and see/witness the service record. if what documented on the service record does not tally to the milleage on the car i can void the purchase.

this is because the car was nearly 2.5 years old but the milleage is very low. again the dealer usual cock and bull story that this was owner 2nd 3rd 4th car. lol

Shouldn't there be a service booklet?

Even in my PI car, I have the workshop stamp and record every service interval and any major changes they've done.

Surely, an AD car should have something similar...

PI cars more easier to alter odometer! most owner sure service their car outside after warranty expired.

Reflash to the last known mileage recorded & throw away the service booklet, no trace left. Dealer can claimed that previous owner nv give them. 

Since TS already bought the car, go AD and they will now spill out all the records to you...

Yeah but why wait until buy car before asking relevant questions.

If I am not wrong. For CnC cars. If it is serviced in year 2016. That vehicle should have this sticker

'serviced by CnC year 2016'

Yeah but why wait until buy car before asking relevant questions.

Different topic for discussion ma...

If still not the owner, then AD don't want to tell you, also suck thumb. If you buying from a direct owner maybe you can still get him to retrieve the service records, if it's a dealer then bo pian liao.

They will ask for log card :)

Anyway, send it for the point check or whatever. I did that!

Go to CnC & update the owner detail.

After that, ask them for service record lor.

When my fren buying a used Citroen, C&C advised on last date of service and approx mileage it was serviced.

Same with Auto France for Peugeot.

Both were informed prior to buying so as to make an informed decision.

That's why many dealers just do one service with c&c and then stick the sticker implying it has been serviced with c&c

They will ask for log card :)

Anyway, send it for the point check or whatever. I did that!

I always have a copy with me in my glovebox.

That's why many dealers just do one service with c&c and then stick the sticker implying it has been serviced with c&c

Yeah kind of. So best send car for inspection and check by ur trusted workshop. Identify any prob. If all no prob then its ok to buy but even if fully service by c&c but alot problems i will skip buy

wth...

Its common. Moreover normally service booklet AD sometimes nvr update so u really know

Woah....I learned something new today....thanks. [:p]