How to deal with medium to long term pain?

Windwaver

compared to diclo, it is much better according to phamacists and docs

Shouldn't use arcoxia long term, or any nsaid for that matter according to my doc.

If you really need help in pain management, get a referral to pain center. SGH got one, not sure about other hospitals.

Your symptoms seem to suggest a nerve root distribution pattern to it. A pinched nerve root might be the cause of all your suffering. The reason why waking up in the morning, the symptoms are worse, is due to the fact that while sleeping your spinal column are held in a particular position for a long time with all your erectus muscles all relaxed. Put it simply your pinched nerve might have been pinched more through the night without you realizing it until you wake up.

The diagnosis might be easy with just a cervical/thoracic spine mri (no need to waste money on a full spine mri unless you got money to burn), but treatment options might not be as easy.

Usually non surgical options of physio therapy combined with antiinflammatory might help alleviate early disease. Part of the aim of physio is also to train and strengthen plus correct your posture so that the nerve pressure is relieved.

Hi folks,

Cleared my CT scan, specialist told me no need to do MRI, just refer me to pain clinic  [confused] .

I am rather confuse on the fact that he told me all I need is to see a specialist on pain management.

In total, I have cleared full blood count, chest xray, CT scan.

From the above, how did he conclude I don't need an MRI and all I need is a pain specialist? Not even ENT for reflux?

I am a private patient but that doesn't mean money is free leh  [shakehead]

Go for good massage without extras lah...

Go home, do 拉筋。Google if you don't know.

Got a friend recommend me those infrared light for joint aches, I wonder if that will work.

i tried the light and ultrasound physiotherapy, dun find it much use.

Hmm.....what is effective for you?

i had shoulder injury caused by a hard knock by the car door, the pain didn't go away for weeks until i couldn't lift up my arm or hold car steering. They refer me to SGH physiotherapy for various treatment include the infra light and ultrasound, none help at all.

it was later i went to an Orthopedic and the old white hair doctor knows how to treat it. i was on the highest dosage of the medication for 8 days (max for that drug) and it slowly heal.

i had shoulder injury caused by a hard knock by the car door, the pain didn't go away for weeks until i couldn't lift up my arm or hold car steering. They refer me to SGH physiotherapy for various treatment include the infra light and ultrasound, none help at all.

it was later i went to an Orthopedic and the old white hair doctor knows how to treat it. i was on the highest dosage of the medication for 8 days (max for that drug) and it slowly heal.

You still remember the name of the drug? Any side effects you having?

Hi folks,

Cleared my CT scan, specialist told me no need to do MRI, just refer me to pain clinic  [confused] .

I am rather confuse on the fact that he told me all I need is to see a specialist on pain management.

In total, I have cleared full blood count, chest xray, CT scan.

From the above, how did he conclude I don't need an MRI and all I need is a pain specialist? Not even ENT for reflux?

I am a private patient but that doesn't mean money is free leh  [shakehead]

reflux may be caused by nsaids, did you try taking stuff like omeprazole to see if it alleviate the reflux symptoms?

Pain clinic is more than juz pumping you with pain meds, but probably a midway point when you don't have something that requires surgery/drastic measures but something that requires times to recover and help to manage it to improve quality of life in the meantime.

reflux may be caused by nsaids, did you try taking stuff like omeprazole to see if it alleviate the reflux symptoms?

Pain clinic is more than juz pumping you with pain meds, but probably a midway point when you don't have something that requires surgery/drastic measures but something that requires times to recover and help to manage it to improve quality of life in the meantime.

On a month of omeprazole and have stopped all anti inflammatory medication when I started on omeprazole. Hard to tell if it's working because I still wake up with more pain on right chest and back (maybe less on the right chest).

I suspect my right chest pain may be due to reflux or costochondritis. The right back pain due to muscles or misalignment of the vertebrate in turn causing costochondritis.

Think it might be better if I visit a chiropractor rather than the pain clinic right? 

Go for good massage without extras lah...

Go home, do 拉筋。Google if you don't know.

Hi bro, I asked my wife to massage (haha, SO watch very closely) my back (spot with pain) these 2 days along the same level of pain that is coming from my right chest. Ironically, that seem to alleviate quite a bit of pain.

Is our back linked to the chest (front) in some way? It totally make no sense if she massage my back and the pain in front goes away right?

Hahaha... good lah... at least you feel better.

But, as with everything, do it with moderation. Over massage can hurt you as well, your nerves..... Do it often initially, but decrease the frequency to weekly or fortnightly eventually.

Am not an expert, but I think our back bone is linked to everything. That's why I am constantly nagging at my children for their poor postures and habits.

Hi bro, I asked my wife to massage (haha, SO watch very closely) my back (spot with pain) these 2 days along the same level of pain that is coming from my right chest. Ironically, that seem to alleviate quite a bit of pain.

Is our back linked to the chest (front) in some way? It totally make no sense if she massage my back and the pain in front goes away right?

Hahaha... good lah... at least you feel better.

But, as with everything, do it with moderation. Over massage can hurt you as well, your nerves..... Do it often initially, but decrease the frequency to weekly or fortnightly eventually.

Am not an expert, but I think our back bone is linked to everything. That's why I am constantly nagging at my children for their poor postures and habits.

I always thought the ribs were just in front, how did it end up in the back?  :omg:

The thing about growing old is that it seems that people over 40 seem to have some persistent pain here and there right? Worse thing is doctors don't understand the problem, they think you are nuts once all the tests or scans show nothing (then they throw you to pain management).

Government encourage us to exercise to keep fit. How to exercise if the joints, cartilage, muscles is constantly painful and doctors just ask you take pain killers. We are not even talking about strenuous workouts (cycling, jogging, swimming).

Then what? Take pain killers forever? Got to be kidding me.

Once you get old, a lot of "sickness" starts to surface due to old injuries not properly "cured". Not I say one... My old man said one, my old man also heard from his old man said one, our old men also heard from some other old men said one.....

Now I start to understand what my old man said and nagged and I nagged my children in return.  :XD:

Last time when young, I also don't believe my parents theory that cannot let the rain drench your head and body... Young mah... don't feel the ill effects. Now, I must carry umbrella even if little rain drops. Else, feel headache and..... Also, after bath must wiped until dry dry else will get hong sip....

You ask doctors, they will tell you "no conclusive scientific evidence... and body will heal by itself one.... blah blah blah"

I always thought the ribs were just in front, how did it end up in the back?  :omg:

The thing about growing old is that it seems that people over 40 seem to have some persistent pain here and there right? Worse thing is doctors don't understand the problem, they think you are nuts once all the tests or scans show nothing (then they throw you to pain management).

Government encourage us to exercise to keep fit. How to exercise if the joints, cartilage, muscles is constantly painful and doctors just ask you take pain killers. We are not even talking about strenuous workouts (cycling, jogging, swimming).

Then what? Take pain killers forever? Got to be kidding me.

Edited by Kangadrool

I have similar issue as you. Maybe not so serious as yours though

Doc explain that it's the nerve that runs from the backbone to the chest, through the arms. So if that nerve is pinched or injured, u will feel the pain at yr chest and along yr arm.

When I first felt the pain, I thought I was abt to get heart attack, coz the symptoms are similar. My heart hurts and feel like it's tightening. And my left arm felt numb with tinkling feeling. My breaths became abit painful.

Heng, cardiologist say no problem with heart and i won't die.

Anyway, there is no medication for this problem. Just pain mgt. It's a sign of ageing.

Any long term medication is bad for kidney and other things.

U just got to manage the pain yourself.

Maybe take supplements like collagen

Check your mattress and pillow. Too old, time to change.

Strangely, my pain never really come back anymore, after the cardiologist's appt. LOL

And I don't understand why u run marathons weekly. U got some addiction problem, I think

I have similar issue as you. Maybe not so serious as yours though

Doc explain that it's the nerve that runs from the backbone to the chest, through the arms. So if that nerve is pinched or injured, u will feel the pain at yr chest and along yr arm.

Anyway, there is no medication for this problem. Just pain mgt. It's a sign of ageing.

Maybe take supplements like collagen

And I don't understand why u run marathons weekly. U got some addiction problem, I think

My pain is on the right side, is yours on the left?

Take collagen in what sense? Capsules?

Got so used to the level of fitness from Army that it became a habit. I used to do full marathons but have halved it already.

I am now trying massage from my wife to see how that turns out in the long term. Although I have an active lifestyle all my life (mainly running), I do not go for any form of massages at all. Maybe aging is the reason like what you pointed out.

BTW, did your doctor advice you on how to rectify a pinched nerve? Did you do a MRI to prove his point?