Resigning and using leave to offset notice period

Doppel

Wah.... all the naval, oil & gas experts are out. Provide docking plan some more.  [laugh]

Oil price low, company bonus low, 

lay offs coming, why work so hard?

Better to come to MCF and chit chat.  [thumbsup]

Wah.... all the naval, oil & gas experts are out. Provide docking plan some more.  [laugh]

I hope people don't mix me up with the O&G experts here.  [thumbsup]

Although sometimes I do produce some gas.

oops!

this was exactly what I had done!

boss's boss retired, so replaced by hitler 2 yrs ago

2 yrs later, boss retired, but he put up a good recommendation on me b4 he dissappeared

hitler then insisted my relocation, sitting next to him in london or ny

but of coz, i drag and turn down the promo

so suffer in cold storage prior hara kiri . . . .

then hitler suddenly receives his new boss in 2016

so its obviously hitler gotta go

now that i'm comfortably happy to be with my family, the new boss called

I'd not think twice if its 2yrs ago, but . . . .

to be exact, i'm actually rejecting a promo twice

so, looks like my days are numbered . . . .

Request an expat package, whole family go? I know it's easier said than done, need family consensus.

For every vessel, there is a docking plan drawing. Just put the wooden blocks and support as per docking plan drawing, sure to stand upright. All these already pre-planned when the vessel is first built. [scholar]

thanks for making me learn something new today. 

they must pay a certain amount to you for the non-competition clause in the letter else the letter got no legal bounding. That's why you senior management hop to competitor immediately as they know the letter got no legal bounding at all.

Hahaha. U mai Ani Kwan la.. Make him too lan ...

Is rejecting a promotion with pay increment asking for trouble in long term with the coy?

Its very wise not to take the promotion.

Its very simple really. If it was a good promotion

people will be killing themselves to get it. If it was

selectively offered then it must be a pig of a promotion

then its best not to take it. Let a not so strategic person

get it, preferably someone you really don't like. 

For every vessel, there is a docking plan drawing. Just put the wooden blocks and support as per docking plan drawing, sure to stand upright. All these already pre-planned when the vessel is first built. [scholar]

i have a cousin who was a diver for these ship docking and building.  He dived to weld, put the blocks, etc.  not an easy job and pretty dangerous. 

Yup. Pretty dangerous job.

Neither :D

Firstly, i only like sgaporean, no others

Secondly, i dun like rich man for obvious reason, that elite can tell u y

Lastly, being witty, can hold a decent conversation and have a kind heart beats being rich, handsome and whats not

So by now, u wanna be my gay friend? :grin:

Hehe...that elite very ngeow de, got things dun share de, doggie dun wanna follow him skive, later die of hunger ððð

@angcheek strike while the iron is hot

you no need to lament 白活了 anymore

Request an expat package, whole family go? I know it's easier said than done, need family consensus.

kids edu below uni are all paid for

house (respectable size of local class) in central slough, uk or passipany, usa

cars subsidized in insurance with full mileage coverage.... (coz cars there are cheap)

tax at 35% shared with company to offset from the current

hardship allowances coverage, including spouse if she is house-keeper

all medical coverage for all (within duration period)

here's the worst . . . EP at cat 3 & 4 (used to hold the cat 2 equivalent) ......

I am no stranger in uk or us . . . .

from above, living cost is definitely lower in us but the seasonal weather can be very challenging (snow at knee level these days).

lifestyle in uk will be compromised...... (those who stayed there will understand)

minimal 2yrs default employment bond if agreeable, but what's next?

no guarrantee that there's a role back home or even if your boss and his boss will be there - thus, the uncertainty lies . . . .

you can only call it "expat package" if you move from high-cost living state to lower ones

but from a lower to higher, cost savings can be very minimal . . . .

for example: I will have no problem getting an "expat package" in johans, s. africa but gotta sleep with rifle every night!

totally agree....then again how u think he amass that kind $$$ liddat? sure stingy like hell lah....kekeke

Stingy in this case does not mean tight ass. @Porker loosened it big time oreddi. :D

meet them halfway - reject the promotion but accept the pay increment

lol

on a more serious note... usually yes, long term issues will arise, unless u can give a really good reason for rejecting the move. Different portfolio, different career direction is more palatable. Refusing added responsibilities in the same dept (asking to henta kaki) is a red flag, unless u r sure u r not easily replaced by someone better/cheaper in the future.

I thot of the red flag thing too. My situation abit wierd. I'm w vendor. But i work well with n respect the client. At my previous place, it was another vendor serving the same client. Client appreciated me far more than my coy. When client moved to another vendor, i followed along to current vendor/coy.

I have progressed 2x due to client. Now client wants me to take supervisory role at my coy(the new vendor).

speed is not my game. Supervisory role also needs to do reports/charts. Deeply concern i cant make it. Excel is my stumbling block, other than data entry. Workload gets heavier. Of course i want more $. But fear that i cant deliver n the promotion is also my end of days.

No straight answer.

If a promotion is into a job that does no real job with fat pay, grab it provided you have the political skills.

If it's transitioning into a middle manager role with real work and at the same time a big team to lead which can be quite exhausting, you may want to think of a strategy. Try to negotiate if you can take on a senior specialist role while at the same time having just a few (one ow two) with work closely related to yours report to you. Managing a team is a very administrative work which drowns out most people, causing them to lose focus on team lead role which is their main job.

Indeed i'm having a specialist role. The supervisor post is like snr supv, leading 3-4 spec n 3-4 of their assigned juniors. Total 6-8. And doing admin stuff related to them.