Waxing car even though paint protection coating done

Spherex

Anyone here still wax their car to give additional shine even though paint protection coating has been done?

Will the wax damage the coating?

Any suggestions of any mobile car clean and waxing service if I don't have the energy and time to DIY?

Thanks!

Anyone here still wax their car to give additional shine even though paint protection coating has been done?

Any suggestions of any mobile car clean and waxing service if I don't have the energy and time to DIY?

Thanks!

If it is normal wax and not polishing compound, it should not wear off the coat.

I mean, all these coats claim simi 9H hardness like so tough resist sun birdshit rain etc etc. If cannot tahan some wax might as well not be there.

The few vendors I asked say no need to wax anymore as it will be easily washed off. I mean, you can wax if you want to, but it'll probably be all gone after 1 rain.

Yes waxing very quickly washed or wear off especially if rainy weather.

However, I treat waxing like facial.... it help to lift off some dirt and other contaminants that normal washing may not get rid. So usually quick spray wax every 2 weeks after wash.

As previous bro has mentioned, if the coating so fragile cannot put wax on top then it is probably a scam in the first place.

Yes waxing very quickly washed or wear off especially if rainy weather.

However, I treat waxing like facial.... it help to lift off some dirt and other contaminants that normal washing may not get rid. So usually quick spray wax every 2 weeks after wash.

As previous bro has mentioned, if the coating so fragile cannot put wax on top then it is probably a scam in the first place.

Agree. not so fragile.. waxing on top of PPS.. more like one got spare $$$ or original PPS not so good..

if one's not benefitting from that PPS coatings he had spent, thus the idea of waxing over it lohhh

sigh, [smallcry] . . .

Thanks!

IMO wax or sealant  will not damage the coating. Coating are supposed to be chemical resistance. It is just that having wax on top the coating, the wax may not bond on the coating and instead of having a month durability, it probably fail at the 2nd week after application.

I still recommend to use a spray wax or detailer once awhile just to keep the surface slick. This really minimise any marks on surface

If it is normal wax and not polishing compound, it should not wear off the coat.

I mean, all these coats claim simi 9H hardness like so tough resist sun birdshit rain etc etc. If cannot tahan some wax might as well not be there.

The 9H thingy refer to pencil film.

Edited by Maddriver

I change my car in average 2.5 to 3 years, so don't even border to do any paint coating or protection.

just a normal weekly self wash will be good enough. unless recently I found a cheaper paint coating so call 9h at jb cost ard rm1350

for 2 sections.

this is the first time I do up paint protection but cannot see what is the different before and after (maybe surface is smoother).

I still find that a weekly car wash is good enough, no need to spend too much time in waxing or something...

the car dealer will not border too much on how good you had done in protecting your paint work.

I change my car in average 2.5 to 3 years, so don't even border to do any paint coating or protection.

just a normal weekly self wash will be good enough. unless recently I found a cheaper paint coating so call 9h at jb cost ard rm1350

for 2 sections.

this is the first time I do up paint protection but cannot see what is the different before and after (maybe surface is smoother).

I still find that a weekly car wash is good enough, no need to spend too much time in waxing or something...

the car dealer will not border too much on how good you had done in protecting your paint work.

Bro.. think its cheaper to do 12 layers PPS than lose like seow changing cars. but then everybody got different budgets...

bro, where got 12 layers PPS?

recommendation?

my experience was dealer dun bother to wash with clay or polish off evenly prior layerings

thus concluded after 5-6 layers of shoddy job..... that shines can only last a month or 2 with that dull layer 'thinning' by the weather

sigh

bro, where got 12 layers PPS?

recommendation?

my experience was dealer dun bother to wash with clay or polish off evenly prior layerings

thus concluded after 5-6 layers of shoddy job..... that shines can only last a month or 2 with that dull layer 'thinning' by the weather

sigh

just a hypothesis la.. but heard from PPS guy (not right for me to say who here) some bros actually did 12 layers.. I asked sure boh..?

I learnt this the hard way . . .

its not the quality of coats but rather the detailers' applications, i.e. the prep works on the car surfaces that really counts!

they can do 100 layers, but if they dun clean thoroughly or polish-off surfaces evenly prior the next layers

the outcome is even worse than w/o any layers, i.e. become dull and patches everywhere thru' weather wears especially for white & black colors!

other colors or with tones may not be visible, but just a hand feel will be able to tell.....

sigh!

i.e. why ultra-ray lights, car clean clay and polishers are the necessary for a good detailers

it will be easy to judge the "kung ho" of a detailer w/o the above - just manual hand wash and apply  . . . .

but then again, is the detailer really using the above or just to show only .....

Just to share from my experience and knowledge,

PPS can go up to maybe 3 layers anything more than that the bond gets weaker and weaker this rendering it useless to have 10 or 12. As long as the surface is prep well, removing all previous coating, waxes and polishing oil and residues, and curing is done properly it will be good. I've applied my own car 2 layers only.

Despite coating, yes I still wax. Why? Wax actually act as a layer of oil, it intact reduces the chance of water spotting rather than coating no matter what many applicators say. I've tested it on my own, coating actually caused me to have couple of water marks. With wax they can be sort of washed away since they are sitting on the oil. The coating integrity will not be compromised with the use of wax. It just take note that the hydrophobic properties will be of the wax you used! The coating just acts a a buffer later for me. If in case there is anything etch in they are most probably on the coating only and have yet to etched into the paint! Coating still requires maintenance, hydropobic properties will fade and if you do not clay it will still feel rough. Things still get embedded and needs to be clayed out. If you don't have the time or lazy to wax I recommend using spray wax they are good too just less durable than wax. Oh and yes wax will still bond to the coating and it's not true that it gets washed away easily. It depends on the time of wax you use and how is it applied that results in the durability. Just sharing my experience.

Just to share from my experience and knowledge . . . .

If you don't have the time or lazy to wax I recommend using spray wax they are good too just less durable than wax. Oh and yes wax will still bond to the coating and it's not true that it gets washed away easily. It depends on the time of wax you use and how is it applied that results in the durability. Just sharing my experience.

yes, waxing will definitely keep the shine look.  its just that after spending thousand (or above) on PPS and yet I still need to wax !!!  very not "song" to do it loh.

so for those lazy ones like me, you should at least still apply clay to clean your PPS surface from dulling . . . .

btw, which spray wax would you recommend that considers to most longlasting?

yes, waxing will definitely keep the shine look.  its just that after spending thousand (or above) on PPS and yet I still need to wax !!!  very not "song" to do it loh.

so for those lazy ones like me, you should at least still apply clay to clean your PPS surface from dulling . . . .

btw, which spray wax would you recommend that considers to most longlasting?

Yes I got to agree after spending the money on that its a bit frustrating that you still need to maintain it. I agree it will be good to at least clay the car it will really help and it certainly will make you feel better as it will be smooth! I would advice bros to get Sonax brilliant shine which is a sort of a spray sealant superb performance and price is great! My personal go to product will be Fireball ultimate coating wax, another type of spray sealant , and contains SIO2, a chemical compound present in most coating. Similar to that will be Carpro reload great product as well! Just don't overuse them and they are great! Meaning dont apply too much to each panel! Hope this helps!

Just a note: This is no way an advert no price stated no benefit for me just sharing whats good. Saying this as my previous post was removed and given a warning and no way was it an advert.  

Just to share from my experience and knowledge,

PPS can go up to maybe 3 layers anything more than that the bond gets weaker and weaker this rendering it useless to have 10 or 12. As long as the surface is prep well, removing all previous coating, waxes and polishing oil and residues, and curing is done properly it will be good. I've applied my own car 2 layers only.

Despite coating, yes I still wax. Why? Wax actually act as a layer of oil, it intact reduces the chance of water spotting rather than coating no matter what many applicators say. I've tested it on my own, coating actually caused me to have couple of water marks. With wax they can be sort of washed away since they are sitting on the oil. The coating integrity will not be compromised with the use of wax. It just take note that the hydrophobic properties will be of the wax you used! The coating just acts a a buffer later for me. If in case there is anything etch in they are most probably on the coating only and have yet to etched into the paint! Coating still requires maintenance, hydropobic properties will fade and if you do not clay it will still feel rough. Things still get embedded and needs to be clayed out. If you don't have the time or lazy to wax I recommend using spray wax they are good too just less durable than wax. Oh and yes wax will still bond to the coating and it's not true that it gets washed away easily. It depends on the time of wax you use and how is it applied that results in the durability. Just sharing my experience.

Bro I totally share your opinion.

For me, I did not coat PPS, but I will do 15-20min thorough spray waxing after thorough wash. The surface feels really shiok, It is like car facial.... but washes off with rain really quickly.

I do simple spray waxing after wash once every month even aurface protected by opticoat. Can try optimum car wax or duragloss aquawax, both are lasting imo.