Is it worth it purchase a 2013 car with High COE?

Rayoflight

Keep the high COE car until pay off 5 yr loan at 5th yr. Paper value itself probably can get back 100% of the original d/p amt.

If itchy backside now, get a 2nd hand car to play wif in the meantime.

In buying a used car, I think the COE value is not as critical as compared to buying a new car. The dealers/sellers would set the prices based on current COE values or market sentiments. I will look at depreciation instead. 

dealer will boast about the high paper value from the COE but ignore them. all cars values are mark to market. you will probably sell your bmw cheaper and get your audi cheaper too.

if both cars are transacted such that your annual depreciation is same or slightly below your current bmw, then you are probably good to do it.

patience is needed to find good deal.

$96k COE with 24k milleage nia (if it is true)

this one sure good buy ... lol

Assuming the previous owner bought it at $250k back then. He lost over $120K over 3 yrs.

Is this called good resale value? [lipsrsealed]

it's only true if he bought it as a new car - no trade in whatsoever

here is another case

Mr X got a car with $10K+ coe ... he traded in to upgrade to BMW 520i

when coe was $96K ... his old car was traded in as almost the price that he bought

he brag ... he drove the car for 3 years *free* ... in normal circumstances he lose $15k+ at least per year ($45K in total)

so now he lose $120K for 3 years ... actually $45K was rolled over from previous car

so ... what do you think of Mr X?

when COE was above $90k ... many change car bragging their old car was traded in as close to the price they bought

spore car market is sibei unique because of COE and also 10 years lifespan

so ... you must look at the total depreciation ... length of ownership

Assuming the previous owner bought it at $250k back then. He lost over $120K over 3 yrs.

Is this called good resale value? [lipsrsealed]

The first owner would have also taken hit the first few yrs depre already so if i sell lets say 2yrs later, there should be a base price too and probably wont lose that much i hope.

Cant believe a brand new 2013 250kish car sells for 130kish in 2013. Probably traded in much less. Lose until shag also haha

How about Volvo XC60 T5? [laugh]

I like to see nice interiors with alot of buttons leh.. AUDI got alot of buttons to play.

Beemer interior i abit sick liao..

I switched to a pre-owned XC60 recently from Select by PPSL.

They currently have a 2014 T5 unit on sale, I think. Do take a look. Select has very good service and also does a comprehensive review of the car, replacing any parts that needs to be changed and offers a 6 mths or 1 yr warranty depending on the age of the car. This is on top of any AD warranty still remaining on the car.

The XC60 is a wonderful ride for me, but coming from a low-slung sports sedan, there is some adjustment period involved as the steering is no longer as sharp and precise, and the CG is significantly higher.

it's only true if he bought it as a new car - no trade in whatsoever

here is another case

Mr X got a car with $10K+ coe ... he traded in to upgrade to BMW 520i

when coe was $96K ... his old car was traded in as almost the price that he bought

he brag ... he drove the car for 3 years *free* ... in normal circumstances he lose $15k+ at least per year ($45K in total)

so now he lose $120K for 3 years ... actually $45K was rolled over from previous car

so ... what do you think of Mr X?

when COE was above $90k ... many change car bragging their old car was traded in as close to the price they bought

spore car market is sibei unique because of COE and also 10 years lifespan

so ... you must look at the total depreciation ... length of ownership

My fren drove his used Altis for 3 yrs for free when he sold it in 2013.

Since then, he had moved to Jakarta.

when COE crashed to below $10k he will return? lol

My fren drove his used Altis for 3 yrs for free when he sold it in 2013.

Since then, he had moved to Jakarta.

When the car was bought with the coe over $90k, would it be better to de-registered than selling it in used car market?! My neighbour who bought his car with coe over $90k, he de-registered the car after driving for 3 years plus! 

$96k COE with 24k milleage nia (if it is true)

this one sure good buy ... lol

Haha... "Premium Preowned 110 Points Inspection"? Zun boh?  [grin]

Did they get the same inspection by Premium Automobile?

post-34385-0-65858200-1473227598_thumb.jpg

how come the horsepower so low in this model?

thought should be 210 hp?

The A6 2.0 HP (181hp) is different from the A5 2.0(208hp).. more like a detuned version i guess.

A6 2.0 TFSI (180PS)

2011– 1,984 cc (121.1 cu in) I4 turbo 180 PS (132 kW; 178 hp)@4000-6000, 320 N·m (236 lbf·ft)@1500-3900 A6 2.0 TFSI (211PS) 2011– 1,984 cc (121.1 cu in) I4 turbo 211 PS (155 kW; 208 hp)@6500, 350 N·m (258 lbf·ft)@3250

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Audi_A6

Nothing a chip up can't do to tune to higher figures.

The A6 2.0 HP (181hp) is different from the A5 2.0(208hp).. more like a detuned version i guess.

A6 2.0 TFSI (180PS)

2011– 1,984 cc (121.1 cu in) I4 turbo 180 PS (132 kW; 178 hp)@4000-6000, 320 N·m (236 lbf·ft)@1500-3900 A6 2.0 TFSI (211PS) 2011– 1,984 cc (121.1 cu in) I4 turbo 211 PS (155 kW; 208 hp)@6500, 350 N·m (258 lbf·ft)@3250

Different gearbox...the A5 is a dual clutch (s-tronic), the A6 is a CVT (i.e. multi-tronic).

Take away the torque converter and you get more power as in the case of the A5.

A6 2.0 TFSI (180PS)

yes detuned from the factory

[dizzy]

Different gearbox...the A5 is a dual clutch (s-tronic), the A6 is a CVT (i.e. multi-tronic).

Take away the torque converter and you get more power as in the case of the A5.

please lah...factory specs are power and torque at the crank

transmission only affects power at the wheels

the power and torque profiles look like two distinct tuning maps for the same engine

[dizzy]