Take car to New Zealand

Wuga98

I have a car that is coming to 10 years and my counsin in JB like to have it. It is possible for me to de-registered this car when it is close to 10 years and export this to JB for him to register it there?

I have kept the car very well and he knows it has been taken care off thus he would like to take over from me. As i have no idea if this is possible or not but i just told him that i would check.

Anyone can help or know companies that does these thing legally (export to malaysia)? [;)]

To import a car into Malaysia... legally.... you need something that called an AP. And this AP would easily cost around RM50K. So factor in all the taxes and levies that you need to pay, I think its better off your cousin get another car in Malaysia which would be cheaper by the time all documentation is done.

i know this is illegal lah, but ...

can drive there & report lost? [lipsrsealed]

If sway, his cousin gets caught, tio hoot. He confess, TS also kenna hoot. -_-

how about transfer the car to cousin in sg.

then when lta comes looking for the car on the 10th year, [sly] cousin's problem [sly] since it is he who wants the car anyway

Convert to OPC (save road tax and lower insurance), retain registry in Singapore, but keep car in Malaysia. Can??? Think there are Singaporeans with houses in MY who do so.

Since lao pok kah, just get 3rd party insurance enough liao. Can drive in and out SG without restrictions.

Edited by Kangadrool

Thanks for the explanation, never heard of this AP thing and it is so X meh. I have seen quite a few malaysia reg car with vicom sticker, how did it end up there? with AP. These AP fixed price for all cars?

AP is Approve Permit. Its not fix...but its rare...(aka hard for the authority to give it).

Last time only selected importer get the AP only....its sort of their way to control competition.

TIA.  Have a 2015 Jan registered BMW 116i ( F20 )   which I'm considering taking to NZ if plans work out.

1. Is it a financially sound decision ? have an emotional attachment for various reasons lol. 

2. Are there companies who can help me with it ? 

I can only find this in my limited search http://www.singaporeautos.net/country/new-zealand and I think that they just help

import old singapore cars to NZ or..is it related ? 

3. I will obviously start googling like crazy once things work out but I was wondering if anyone here has expertise  in the same ? 

EDITED BY RADX!  STICK to the facts of yur intention.  No need other details

it looks like you are soliciting for buyers more than anything...  [lipsrsealed]  [rolleyes]  [:p]

with such details... of ur current car... 

haha..no sir! It's because I'm quite attached to it ( although definitely NOT a car connoisseur's car ) and my head and heart are pulling me in different directions. I would most likely go with the path of least resistance if I decide to sell ( read ' dealer ' as I would be swamped with a tonne of other paperwork too ) . 

lol at the M4 comment - I prefer small cars.

haha..no sir! It's because I'm quite attached to it ( although definitely NOT a car connoisseur's car ) and my head and heart are pulling me in different directions. I would most likely go with the path of least resistance if I decide to sell ( read ' dealer ' as I would be swamped with a tonne of other paperwork too ) . 

lol at the M4 comment - I prefer small cars.

Maybe you should go to NZ and look out for local agent.  That's the easiest path to me.

It takes a long time to get indent car in both Aust and NZ.

I still miss the drive from Christchurch to Littleton Harbour using mountain road.

Maybe you should go to NZ and look out for local agent.  That's the easiest path to me.

It takes a long time to get indent car in both Aust and NZ.

I still miss the drive from Christchurch to Littleton Harbour using mountain road.

hmmm, BMW NZ didn't even respond to my emails about MT car indent ..etc.

Yes,selling the car seems the easier path.

but , do I lose a lot of money if I take the car ? 

hmmm, BMW NZ didn't even respond to my emails about MT car indent ..etc.

Yes,selling the car seems the easier path.

but , do I lose a lot of money if I take the car ? 

See how much you get back when you scrap lo + shipping fees 

but i'd say ya you will lost alot of $$$. 

Edited by Mockngbrd