Nike will not be supplying to mom-and-pop stores

Jman888

Yes. Should be ok but beyond 1.5 yrs in our climate the rubber glue will give way

Once u start using, you season the rubber then it will be ok

this will always remain a mystery to me...

I hear it all the time.

no scientist ever research what is the explanation? :ph34r:

I hear it all the time.

Expansion /contraction and bedding in of the materials togr

I am looking at Nimbus, price is really high now.

Saw the Nimbus 18 got 40% discount at Vivo store, but according to the sale person, is old stock. So don't dare to buy as worry the glue will open.

So far I have used 3 or 4 pairs of Asics. All are post season at 50% discount. Buy and jog for 12 months. No issues.

Previous experience with Nike Air Pegasus not so favourable, glue gave way after around 6 - 9 months. Hence the switch to Asics.

Think Asics QC is better and worth paying a bit more than Nike for.

I hear it all the time.

Chinese call it lao hong..  Call it oxidisation, expose to environment or whatever..  Very easy to determine, If you ever glue shoes with contact cement, and you don't clean off those excess around it. Within a few month of fully exposed to environment, you can easily use your finger to scratch it out those excess glue.

That is why those out of season shoes, that was left on the shelf for more a year, you may get a couple that the glue gives way. But throwing is such a waste, coz it is just the lousy glue they used.The EVA material , and the harden black rubber beneath are still intact and will last for few years. Those harden black rubber are similar type to the tyres. And those tyre are under all kind of harsh weather and we changed them around two years. 

Edited by Ender

So far I have used 3 or 4 pairs of Asics. All are post season at 50% discount. Buy and jog for 12 months. No issues.

Previous experience with Nike Air Pegasus not so favourable, glue gave way after around 6 - 9 months. Hence the switch to Asics.

Think Asics QC is better and worth paying a bit more than Nike for.

My experience of glue gave way for post season shoe was Nike.

So base on your experience, I should give Asics a try for post season.

That's why for the best buying experience, people should go Nike boutique to buy :XD:

That's why for the best buying experience, people should go Nike boutique to TRY

My family have always been buying from Nike stores so I guess this move doesn't affect me much.

lol parts of the soles can be seen along the road and floor during my ICT.

lol, agree. One of my buddy came in with a fresh boot but gave way even before we book out of camp on the first day of ICT  :yeah-im-not-drunk:

A lot of people do not know that, like tyres, sport shoes also carry the month/year of production on its labels under the tongue of the shoes. I also just came to know it early this year when I browse for running shoes in a foreign land. Different brands will put this information slightly differently but it is quite common sense to spot it.

This would help you to weed out those shoes that have been on the shelves for very long.

post-101253-0-57324700-1482314871.jpg

Edited by Heartlander

A lot of people do not know that, like tyres, sport shoes also carry the month/year of production on its labels under the tongue of the shoes. I also just came to know it early this year when I browse for running shoes in a foreign land. Different brands will put this information slightly differently but it is quite common sense to spot it.

This would help you to weed out those shoes that have been on the shelves for very long.

like those in warehouse sale lor.

yeah shoes is one of the things, good to try in the shop.

That's why queensway is still around.

Especially if you have wider feet, or have a large bony/fleshymidfoot, can be hard to find shoes.

My wife has hallux valgus, so she only wears cloth shoes.

Luckily skechers has saved the day for her. Before skechers came along, she had difficulty getting fitting shoes.

But since she don't have to wear work shoes anymore, that helps a lot.

Depending on types of shoes, n especially sports shoe, I like to try and buy from shops because the fit is important, need to run with it de so must be comfortable

Ecco has very nice shoes too, bought a pair and love the comfort

do you wear the normal socks or the dri fit ones ?

if wear the normal ones, they are thicker and probably cushions better.

dri-fit ones are pretty thin and better to pair with shoes with better support and cushioning.

alternatively, post a picture of your feet here and we help you recommend. [scholar]

Usually dri fit ones or those thin kind

Kekeke...u specialise in footwear huh [:p]

Edited by Pinobii

I prefer the cotton type of socks cos the feel is more snug. But they are harder to come by.

So now using the thinner dri-fit type which lets you "feel" more of the shoe. 

Perhaps that is what you are experiencing too. 

someone have a foot fetish......

paging @Mustank :D

do you wear the normal socks or the dri fit ones ?

if wear the normal ones, they are thicker and probably cushions better.

dri-fit ones are pretty thin and better to pair with shoes with better support and cushioning.

alternatively, post a picture of your feet here and we help you recommend.  [scholar]

Please don't pichar lobang..... :ph34r:

Boots/running shoes chui = sit out exercise/training/outfield buah long long.... :grin:

more powerful than geng Attend C.... :D

HarleyBoots006.jpg

My family have always been buying from Nike stores so I guess this move doesn't affect me much.

lol, agree. One of my buddy came in with a fresh boot but gave way even before we book out of camp on the first day of ICT  :yeah-im-not-drunk:

Serious? These are the new combat boots? After 1 year like that?

Jialat la..... Enemy come over, we don't even have shoes to put on how to fight.

a tip, especially for "serious" sports shoes (and not fashion wear).....once you tried and bought locally for the best fitting model and sizing, just stick to the same brand/model and just buy them online using the same sizing information for that same model.

"Serious" shoemakers like Asics/Mizuno/new balance etc tends to have a few lines of shoes that cater for different sports and feet type. They usually just upgrade the same line via yearly releases. Just get one that is from the same line (even newer generation) and you will not go very far wrong.

Eg. for me, for running, I have settled down for Asics Kayano.... so far I have used Kayano 15...then 17...currently am using 19 and will be going for the 21 soon (latest 22)

p.s. I don't consider Nike as "serious" sports shoes maker.

Depending on types of shoes, n especially sports shoe, I like to try and buy from shops because the fit is important, need to run with it de so must be comfortable

Ecco has very nice shoes too, bought a pair and love the comfort

a tip, especially for "serious" sports shoes (and not fashion wear).....once you tried and bought locally for the best fitting model and sizing, just stick to the same brand/model and just buy them online using the same sizing information for that same model.

"Serious" shoemakers like Asics/Mizuno/new balance etc tends to have a few lines of shoes that cater for different sports and feet type. They usually just upgrade the same line via yearly releases. Just get one that is from the same line (even newer generation) and you will not go very far wrong.

Eg. for me, for running, I have settled down for Asics Kayano.... so far I have used Kayano 15...then 17...currently am using 19 and will be going for the 21 soon (latest 22)qual

p.s. I don't consider Nike as "serious" sports shoes maker.

Kayano 23 is out at the boutiques already. I am using a 21. My first pair of Kayano. 

I used Nike Air Pegasus for a long time, from like 11 or 12 until 29. Gave up on Nike after that cos for Pegasus 28 and 29, quality not good (glue giving way) and support lacking (like one layer of foam or rubber taken out to cut cost).

Am also trying out a pair of New Balance 1040.

Amazon shoe size has a normal and sometimes a wide.

I suppose that's to fit some people feet that is a little wider.

depends on brand, not all are wide. Even same brand different model has different cutting.