Andy Lau suffered spine injury after falling from horse

Lala81

I hope he gets well soon. 

My childhood idol  :mellow:

https://sg.style.yahoo.com/major-road-closures-as-injured-andy-lau-arrives-at-hong-kong-hospital-043408651.html

Veteran Hong Kong actor Andy Lau arrived at the Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital in an ambulance on Thursday morning (19 Jan), a day after he suffered a pelvic spine injury after falling from a horse in Thailand.

According to China’s Sing Tao Daily, Lau, 55, arrived at the hospital at 1am and was spotted having scars on his forehead. He also appeared dazed while lying stiff on the stretcher and had a face mask and a black cap on, while his body was covered with a blue blanket.

The heavenly king was in Thailand to film a commercial for a drink brand when he fell off a horse and had his lower spine trampled on.

Lau was flown back to Hong Kong via a medical plane to receive further diagnosis and treatment. The plane landed on a private tarmac at Chek Lap Kok International Airport at midnight.

Road closures were set up between the airport and the hospital from as early as 8.30pm, in anticipation of Lao’s arrival, the report said. 

More than a hundred journalists were at the hospital when the ambulance arrived. The hospital staff had to ask journalists to give space for the ambulance to move before they could pull the stretcher with Andy Lau on it out of the vehicle and push him into the hospital.

According to media reports, Lau was in a rural part of Thailand to film an advertisment for a drink brand when the horse he was riding went out of control and he was thrown to the ground.

Apple Daily reported that the horse then stepped on the actor’s waist, fracturing his spine. Filming has also been suspended.

Lau, one of Hong Kong’s most successful actors, was most recently seen in Zhang Yimou’s “The Great Wall”, together with Asian stars like Eddie Peng and Hollywood veterans William Defoe and Matt Damon.

Wow. 

What's the prognosis for a fractured spine?  [shakehead]

Very hard to say. it depends on what cracked.

If bad, then u lose function of your lower legs and your bladder and bowel lor.

But I'm not sure what was fractured. Cos pelvic spine is not a correct medical term. You either fracture your pelvic bones, sacrum or your lumbar spine.

the arrival of his plane and traffic control by police, sounds like more VVIP than the Chief Executive of HK   [laugh]  [laugh]

He is popular and well liked. The chief executive of HK isn't.  [laugh]

Created a new topic as Andy Lau eyeing to buy Singapore property years ago has nothing to do with his current spine injury.

Cheers.

Created a new topic as Andy Lau eyeing to buy Singapore property years ago has nothing to do with his current spine injury.

Cheers.

thanks..the split function is great as that was there before for us to split the topics when needed

good stuff so that now if we deem  a topic that needs to be fragmented, we can do it

Cheers.

Got leh. It's still Andy Lau mah. Actually if you look at how other mods consolidates the topics, you will know why it was posted in the Andy lau buying property thread.

There was even one topic about thai made cars that became a a topic about the new thai king. Just need to change the thread topic  [laugh]

Once pelvic fracture there's no full recovery. Older ppl it's even tougher or should I say more pain. These gungho actors should realised they are no longer like what they are used to be.

Got leh. It's still Andy Lau mah. Actually if you look at how other mods consolidates the topics, you will know why it was posted in the Andy lau buying property thread.

There was even one topic about thai made cars that became a a topic about the new thai king. Just need to change the thread topic  [laugh]

eh u dun kacau lah...this is what we wanted so that if ppl anyhow post, we can still split open and start new ones bah.....

This all sounds very serious, spinal injuries are really no joke, even the 'common' slipped disc also can be pain like f~©*. My impression is that falling from horse can lead to quite serious consequences.

I watch how he recovered after the racing accident in Full Throttle ....lets hope he can do same in real life.

This all sounds very serious, spinal injuries are really no joke, even the 'common' slipped disc also can be pain like f~©*. My impression is that falling from horse can lead to quite serious consequences.

quite sometime back a Singaporean died after falling from a horse in johore......my friend jio me for horse riding earlier in the yr and after the incident i told my friend...no thanks.

He works too hard. Sometimes at that age, he has to learn to slow down and not take such risks.

Still, wish him speedy recovery.

People who don't click into the property thread won't know about his spine injury.  [smash]

I watch how he recovered after the racing accident in Full Throttle ....lets hope he can do same in real life.

quite sometime back a Singaporean died after falling from a horse in johore......my friend jio me for horse riding earlier in the yr and after the incident i told my friend...no thanks.

when you fall from a bike, the bike won't stampede you to death   [sweatdrop]    [laugh]  [laugh]